We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Stay”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time in Rome staying at the Santa Maria Hotel! We came to spend my 30th birthday in Rome and the Hotel Santa Maria was a suggestion from a trusted friend. We were not disappointed at all! Such an amazing place tucked away in the heart of Trastevere. It is not a regular multistory touristy hotel. The rooms are all side by side and surround a beautiful courtyard where you can sit and have a coffee in the morning or enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. It is really like a secret garden in the middle of Trastevere. Despite the business of the area, once inside the walls of the hotel, it is so peaceful. Public transport was pretty easily accessible, but we chose to walk most places (which was perfectly fine).The room was comfortable and clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even sent on a complimentary bottle of Prosecco to celebrate my birthday! We will definitely be going back when we are in Rome again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniemoser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,309
    533
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
693
1,177
82
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have now stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria 10 times in the las 11 years. We did not stay there last year because we wanted to try somethig new. We learned the hard way that the Hotel Santa Maria cannot be beat for comfort, location, friendliness and hospitality. We can't wait to return for our annual trip to Rome in December. We will never again stay any place else but the Hotel Santa Maria!

Room Tip: This is one place where there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend whisked me away to Rome for my birthday an booked us in this amazingly beautiful hotel.
The room was very clean, and the bed so comfortable.
Staff were so helpful with anything we brought to their attention. They sat an talked us through the map of Rome, the best places and exactly how to get there.
The courtyard was the most prettiest sight, decorated in fairy lights. So beautiful walking round the hotel of an evening on your way out. The surrounding area is full of great bars and restaurants so no need at all to go to the overpriced city centre restaurants, a great night is literally around the corner.
We had the best weekend away we've ever had in Rome and my partner said we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Not 1 thing to complain about, We will definitely be returning in the future. Absolutely fantastic!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very cute hotel in the Trastevere section of Rome with easy access to public transportation. If you don't mind walking a little, you can get to most major sights by foot. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast every morning was very good. In the late afternoon, they offered free hors d'oeuvres at the bar. Overall, I had a very nice stay and recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiori17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I recently spent 10 days in Rome, and received friendly and excellent service from everyone at Hotel Santa Maria! We chose this hotel because we wanted a smaller, cozier setting. Also, I use a wheelchair, and most older locations do not work for me. I will say that I would not be able to stay here on my own (a few steps to the indoor eating area, and heavy gravel in the outdoor eating area), but with my husband, it worked out very well. The room had a walk-in shower with a solid shower bench. It was easy to roll on the tile floors. They had an optional raised toilet seat, which we did not use, but might work for others.

In addition to these details, the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful! When we arrived, it was before check-in, and they promptly brought us coffee, tea, and croissants. I had one day when my hip was bothering me, and the kitchen staff brought breakfast to my room, no additional charge. We enjoyed the food at breakfast, as well as what was provided during "happy hour." The staff was also very helpful in terms of advice on finding things in the city.

The outdoor patio was a great gathering space, and we even chatted with a few other tourists. It was very friendly. Even though the hotel is located in a bustling older neighborhood, it was very secure, with a locked gate at the entrance.

This was a once-in--a-lifetime trip for us, yet IF we ever made it make to Rome, we would stay here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent only one night in ths lovely hotel, the taff was appolite and really helpfull and the location perfect to explore the town. It was the last part of our mediterranean cruise, the best way to get a rest and enjoy th beauties of the eternal city.
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It's true what they say - an oasis in the midst of life in a busy city. Friendly staff, comfortable bed - we wish we could have stayed longer than one night. Concierge on our arrival was a little patronising but all other staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,264 in Rome
6,753 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,264 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,264 in Rome
607 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,264 in Rome
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing