We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just spent five nights in Rome at the Santa Maria. It was the fifth time we have stayed here. Its location is excellent, as is the staff. Overall, they have maintained an very high standard of service. Breakfast offers a wide range of options and the best coffee available.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff is very helpful and offers suggestions for dining and other activities.

Overall, one of the best places to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I spent a very relaxing and wonderfully enriching time in Trastevere, made even more memorable by having discovered this gem of a hotel. The service was a top 10, location close to 10, and cleanliness and attention to detail equally high in the ranking! We especially liked the bar/breakfast room, the layout of the courtyard and ease of getting to the monuments and sites of Rome. Thank you to the staff who went out of their way to be so accommodating.

Room Tip: If possible, you might ask for a room on a higher level, though we weren't sure they had any. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Right in the middle of the very lively neighbourhood of Trastavere - the place to be - the hotel Santa Maria offers all creatures comforts in an oasis of quiet. Set around a courtyard with shady orange trees, there is a limited number of small rooms, given the place the feel of an old cloister. Rooms may not be spartan, but they offer little in terms of space or furnishings: just a bed, a small table and a wardrobe with a safe and a minibar. The matrasses are excellent - nice and firm - but there's no choice of pillows so you'll have to take potluck. The bathroom - with toilet, bidet, sink and bath - was clean and well-maintained (as was the rest of the room, btw). Loved the rainshower!!

Breakfast was great - somewhat unusual for Italy where breakfast is a dobbia and a corno - with a wide range of juices, breads, fruits, croissants, yoghurts and, of course, excellent shots of coffee. Service is prompt and friendly.

The hotel is not easily accessed by car but it's only a 100 metre walk away from the piazza Santa Maria where a taxi will drop you off. The place is fenced in and has a 24 hr reception. The girls at reception speak English quite well and are very helpful and friendly. You're free to use the bicycles, but it may not be the best way to discover the main sights of the city as only the very brave or very foolish dare ride a bike in Rome's weekday traffic. Pick a sunday or stick to the backstreets of Trastevere, and you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have looked through the gates f this hotel many times while we have wandered around the cobbled maze of Trastevere and this month I actually got to stay there and it didn't disappoint at all! The garden area (where I beleive breakfast is served in warmer months) was beautiful. The rooms were clean and well presented and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in Rome, Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. There is a lounge area with games, internet access and travel books and we borrowed a couple of bikes to see Rome in a different way - we have visited any times before. This was GREAT fun and we covered so much ground that day.

The location is great - we love the atmosphere of Trastevere, particularly in the evening as there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The tram (no. 8) leaves Trastevere every few minutes and takes you to Piazza Venezia, from here you can walk to the main sights or there are plenty of buses. Equally, the no. 8 tram goes to the train station in Trastevere which has an excellent connection to Fiumicino airport. It was all so easy and stress free. We have done a coach transfer from here previously which was quite unpleasant!

The only downside was the soundproofing between rooms - it wasn't the best.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_TDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Beautiful, friendly, clean and charming hotel located in the enchanting Trastevere neighbourhood. Reception desk staff very helpful and friendly. Varied European breakfast, was so lovely eating under the orange trees in the peaceful courtyard. A lovely extra is that the bar opens early evening and there is a whole array of free nibbles on offer- olives, savoury pastries, pasta salad, etc. After a long day sight seeing in busy Rome, it was so nice to sit and enjoy in the serenity of the courtyard.

There are lots of lovely restaurants and shops nearby. My only qualm would be that it is a bit of a walk (approx 30min) to various main attractions as you need to head over the bridge. Overall a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalmatinka_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel was fantastic! We read tons of reviews before deciding on Hotel Santa Maria and we weren't disappointed. Malina, the receptionist, was superb. She helped us with just about everything we had a question on from what to visit and see to where to eat. The hotel has an amazing staff who were all very helpful. They also possibly have the best cappuccinos in Rome! Breakfast was always fresh and delicious, and happy hour was a pleasant respite from a day of touring. This hotel is also perfectly situated to where you can walk to all of the major tourists sites. Even though we didn't take advantage of it they will send a car to get you from the airport or train station, and had free bicycles to take around town. If we make it back to Rome this is where we will be staying again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TrvlgrlNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Service worthy of 5 star. Really great friendly and nice staff.

Located on a quiet pedestrian residential street but right off the Santa maria piazza. So it is peaceful but very close to restaurants, the river and bridges.

The hotel is in Trastevere which is a charming and quaint neighborhood of cobblestone pedestrian streets, churches, pubs, cafes and great restaurants.
It is a quick walk over the bridge to the tourist sites but much nicer place to stay !
(We "discovered" it on our last when we stayed in central rome and came to Trastevere for lunch)

You enter the hotel grounds through a gate and walk up a path of orange trees. The rooms surround two garden courtyards and a couple of rooms are off a terrace.

There are tables and chairs in the garden courtyards under the orange trees.

Nice breakfast room, bar with free appetizer happy hour.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,697 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
752 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing