We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had admired this hotel before we were able to book there. We have just returned home from our trip in Rome, and it is a lovely place, friendly, comfortable and we would highly recommend it to anybody traveling to Rome. The location in Trastevere is unbeatable, and although it is not a luxury hotel (last time we stayed at the Eden, in Ludovisi) the charming location and friendly, wonderful staff makes it perfect.

Room Tip: Discuss the room offers with the friendly booking staff. They were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here in January. Great location. Short walk over the bridge to the Pantheon, Piazza Navone, Coloseum, Trevi Fountain. Really can't beat the location and the accomodations were quite adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.

2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just arrived home after a 5 night stay at the Hotel Santa Maria as the final part of our honeymoon trip and I will start off by saying after the first (awful) night here we were both ready to leave and look for alternative accommodation in the city it was that bad.

Upon arrival the welcome was ok, we were immediately informed that 'happy hour' had been cancelled for the evening (no explanation given), I could be wrong but they seemed a little short staffed that day? No offer of help with the luggage either, fair enough we thought as this was only a 3 star hotel, we pressed on.

We were shown to our room (number 6) which had a bottle of prosecco waiting for us (which was a nice gesture) but it must have been there some time as it was just sitting in a bucket of water and was not cold (the lady saw this and even commented on it herself but didn't offer any more ice). The room was small with basic amenities, two single beds zipped together (the right hand side mattress was extremely worn out and had a dip in the middle of it), sheets and blankets not duvets, very small television if I had to guess I would say 15-17inch, bath with shower over complete with shower curtain, decent size wardrobe with safe. It didn't impress us but it was spotlessly clean and functional which was fine.

The problems came when we tried to sleep that first night. All the rooms are around a small courtyard and you can hear all the comings and goings of the guests going to and from their rooms and any chatter, bathroom noises etc can be heard very clearly between rooms. There is also a sun terrace above some of the rooms (including our room) which people use as a smoking area with a view so you can hear footsteps above you as well in the room.
We were adjacent a family that first night who had two rooms between them, they came back at 1am and carried on talking and laughing until 2 am making no effort to be quiet at all at which point my wife had to get up at 2am walk across to them and ask them to be quiet, they were smoking out of the windows of their rooms and chatting to each other from room to room. This combined with church bells (every 15 minutes all night), seagulls (yes seagulls!), stray cats, and worryingly the strange local guy who spends his entire evenings (every night!) smoking out of his window watching the rooms below (the courtyard is surrounded by local houses overlooking it) more than a bit creepy.

Needless to say the nest morning I complained to the same spanish lady on the front desk, she laughed it off saying not to worry the family making the noise had just checked out and I'm sure it will be quieter tomorrow. Wasn't happy with that but due to the financial implications of changing hotels at such sort notice we decided reluctantly to stay.

Things improved. We had no more noise from other guests late at night from that point on. Breakfast food was ok with absolutely fantastic coffee (the best we had in Italy) and great service from all the staff in there. All the rest of the staff we encountered from that point on were very friendly, helpful and professional and kept asking us if we were feeling better after our sleepless night and if there was anything they could do.

The happy hour food (free if you buy a drink) was excellent much better than the breakfast well worth checking out 5:30-7:30,we got a free drink on the one night we went.

Check out was good, they stored our bags for us and gave us a souvenir (a very nice book) and a 50% discount off the first night which was a nice gesture. However having had a similar experience at the Hotel du Vin in York where the night manager let a party go on until 4am they gave us the whole stay for free and a discount (50% off) our next stay with them so they could of done more.

I asked my wife today if she would go back and she said no, I have to say I would if they could improve the sound proofing because you really are at the mercy of the other guests not just late at night but early mornings as well (you will not get a lay in).

Oh and the last day we were there we had no hot water at all we saw maintenance guys running around with large wrenches so I assume there must have been a problem.

Room Tip: Not underneath the sun terrace to avoid the footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neil2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel was perfect for me. Being a smoker all I had to do was to walk one step out of the door and I would find myself in the orange tree garden. The room was not the largest I have ever seen but quite adequate and the location of the hotel is superb - right inithe heart of Trastevere, with bars and restaurants less than 30 seconds away and still you can may your way on foot to sights like Colosseum and the Vatican.

Every now and then the hotel has a happy hour - which means that for the price of a drink you can eat as much as you like of pastasalad and bruchettas - before you head out for dinner.

Every hotel with any sense of dignity should have it's own cat - or dog. Santa Maria got both. I never got to learn the name of the cat but the dog is called Chanel. She is the sweetest Golden Retriever you've ever seen.

Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carinarydberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a wonderfully unique and perfect location! Quiet and peaceful but within walking (or if you prefer a short busride) to many attractions. The staff are wonderful! Breakfast is heavenly and the 5:30 nightly appetizers are an added bonus. Definitely a 10!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

tank you so much for amazing stay at your hotel.
the hotel staff is amazing. helpful nice and kind, always with a smile.
room was very clean and have all the necessary equipment.
the breakfast was very good and we also used the public saloon - which was amazing and comfy for after checkout.
defiantly, hotel Santa Maria Rome is the most recommended hotel we have ever staid in.
Edan and Yael Alon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent a week at the hotel and have only the highest regard for place and the staff. The hotel looks beautiful with a lovely sun drenched garden which we enjoyed having lunch in (even in January !) The rooms were of an adequate size, clean and well appointed. The staff (both at reception and the breakfast staff) were fantastic - They have good English skills and Antonio and Melina were very knowledgeable about Rome and their advice proved helpful on every occasion.
The Trastevere is a great site for a hotel, close to lively night life in the square surrounded by great eating spots. We we able to walk to all Rome's major attractions, including the colosseum and the Vatican.

We would recommend a stay here unreservedly

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzzieWingedVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,273 in Rome
3,704 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,273 in Rome
756 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,273 in Rome
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing