We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little place and excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Rome and stayed at the Santa Maria Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Adviser. The location was great and the hotel itself was just lovely. It was quiet, pretty and unlike any hotel I've stayed at before. What made it special though was the service which was as good as anywhere either of us have received at any other hotel anywhere! The day we arrived it was my wife's birthday and after spotting this on her passport the staff went to great lengths it seemed to ensure all of the staff were aware of this. Everybody seemed to be wishing her Happy Birthday and we were given a free bottle of Prosecco along with the free buffet that this hotel offers to it's guests on a daily basis if you order a drink at the bar. It's little touches like this which make it special and will ensure we return here the next time we go to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheatleybytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,194
    517
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
650
1,115
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My family of 4 has stayed at Hotel Santa Maria before. We loved it so much, we came back again.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front desk is amazingly helpful. The breakfast is wonderful. The Hotel grounds are beautiful. Best of all is the quiet. We have stayed in other Rome hotels are were up all night with the city noise. But I've saved the best for last. Santa Maria is located in the best part of Rome. Trastevere. Great restaurants everywhere. Great for walking. Great for people watching. All this, and a short walk to all the best sites in Rome. There is no better way to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: We got a suite with a king bed for my wife and I, plus a second room with 2 single beds for our 15 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tantillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

my son and i stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the location being surrounded by great restaurants and bars to chill out in. the rooms are very comfortable and the service was impeccable and friendly. The courtyard with the orange trees are just gorgeous and acts as a great retreat from the outside world. The staff recommended some great places to eat and drink in the neighbourhood.
a very good experience and we would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

delicious place with a lovely staff !

the situation is terrific with the tremendous area of Trastevere and beside a so quite hotel to rest....

I will recommend it to all my friends if they need to visit Roma ! and I will lo

b

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was my first time in Rome, but my husband had been here before and suggested Trastavere. We stayed at Hotel Santa Maria for 5 nights and REALLY enjoyed it. It was a beautiful, quiet hotel in a lovely neighborhood. Our room was great, the bed was very comfortable. The happy hour the hotel offered was great. Breakfast was good. It was a fairly easy walk to most places that we wanted to see. The bikes were a huge plus! My husband and I love to bike and having the option of zipping around the city streets was absolutely wonderful.

But my favorite part of our stay was the excellent service we received. They treated us like guests at a 5 star hotel - were quick to offer their expertise of the local area, helped arrange us transportation, and on the morning of our departure, made our breakfast to go. About ten minutes after we left, they even called us to tell us we had left something behind! We ended up not going back for it because it was not that important, but the fact that they called was great.

I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Rome, and especially for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sypremeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Lucky we got a great hotel in Rome. The location was a good 20 min walk to main attractions, or taxis are easy enough to find. Great time of year to go travelling you see the best of the city and get tables in restaurants easily. The room we were given was large, clean and the orange garden was a quiet space that made the whole place special. Good continental breakfast and staff that did a great job. Good mix of other guests. Very Italian flavour, just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Santa Maria Hotel in the Trastevere district for 4 nights recently. A delightfully charming oasis with easy access to all the sights you need to see in Rome. The rooms are very private and surround little squares of orange trees ( full of fruit in February!) with benches and tables and chairs. We had a junior suite with a great bed (very important to us) a modern bathroom and a great entry with a desk, tables and a daybed.
The Hotel has a gated entrance and covered cobbled walkways to the rooms and breakfast room/bar and the outdoor antique lighting make for a romantic ambience. The staff are very pleasant, polite and informative. The breakfast buffet provides all you need to set you up for a day of Roman sightseeing. A short walk to the village square with a beautiful church and some restaurants, leading to an abundance of alleyways full of quaint little shops, bars and more restaurants.
Not to faraway is the river (The Tibor ) with the most amazing views of Roman domes and historical building and so many trees. A wonderful walk, especially if you cross the bridges back and forth as we did. Rome is a beautiful city and February is a great time to go

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing