We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Maria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa della Fonte(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanzio(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,080)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveller rating
2,447
550
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,447
550
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citywithin walking distanceeach eveningthe hotel staffrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornersmall hoteltrip to romeloved this hotelpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment we arrived until the car came to collect us, nothing was too much trouble. The relaxing oasis amongst the busyness of Trastevere. An authentic Roman place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Easy to visit both Vatican and central Rome and then return to sit among the orange trees. There are plenty of great restaurants in this area of the city and cheaper and more 'Roman' than you would find over the river. One worry is that too many people will discover this great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Awesome hotel...very quiet for sleeping but once you walk out a block away lots of bars/restaurants/shopping..Staff was awesome from check in to check out..Very helpful from the front desk to people at the bar..Definetly coming back here..Walking distance to major attractions...Vatican=20 minutes..Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We would be remiss if we did admit our relish for the Hotel Santa Maria during our stay in Rome (Christmas week 2013).
We were admitted to room # 1 in the far corner of the hotel which included a private patio! It was a pleasure to pass this and the lush grove of orange trees in the larger courtyard on our way to the generous and varied breakfast buffet (coffee beyond excellent!). We are a couple, 70 and 60 years respectively (New York City), and found the room exceedingly comfortable and quiet. The ever-attentive staff even saw that we had a small gift in our room for each of us on Dec. 24th. Special thanks are due to Chiara and Marlena , for kind and patient advice, extended at all times.
One tip: The staff arranged a car to take us to the airport for a very early departure (we had arrived via train/bus), and we found it a tad expensive, in the neighborhood of $80.00 dollars...but as it WAS a vacation…
Rome is inexhaustible (the weather, mostly fair in the mid-fifties ), the daily paths we took… from Trastevere to the old center were a daily delight of discovery…the Hotel Santa Maria a welcome refuge…not to mention the easeful comfort of a ‘happy hour ‘ each evening. We anticipate an early return. Many thanks!

Room Tip: We were graciously admitted to room#1 in the far corner...replete with a private patio!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent a long weekend in Rome to watch Eng v Italy and to explore this amazing city . Hotel was an Oasis , courtyard full of Orange Trees and the rooms very quaint and very clean with a Tv (although limited english channels) Tea and Coffee facilities and a very gentle wall hairdryer unit ( if you have thick hair bring your own hairdryer )

The hotel Staff were all very friendly and helpful . The Breakfast was fresh and a wide choice , the coffee was delicious . The hotel staff happy to arrange taxi to the airport.

The area around the hotel is cheaper than the main city centre with lovely bars and restaurants in walking distance .

We had arranged a walking tour with a local man called Georgio who was amazing and we loved every minute exploring the ancient city.

We highly recommend this hotel BUT. If you are a tall person you will need to mention this when booking as the rooms have sloping roofs and the shower height is restricted but they do have alternative rooms available .

Well worth a visit .

Room Tip: If tall mention when booking as ceilings slope and shower height restricted Also some rooms on two floors with 10 plus steps
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent a wonderful time in Rome and Hotel Santa Maria was one of the main reasons why it was so good.
It is not a luxury hotel, so don’t blame it if you are looking for a kind-of-Hilton place. But for me, that was one of the things that make it wonderful. It was just like to be at home, if my home would be a beautiful old building in a gorgeous neighborhood in Europe.
Things there are easy and beautiful, and they are so simple and nice, because of the hard work of the people who works there. A very dedicated and friendly staff ready to find a solution that fit on your needs. Not on their operational protocol, not on their financial purpose, just on your needs.
From the smile that Norman gave us every morning with a delicious coffee at the breakfast to the smile that Chiara, Antonio, Paula or everyone else gave us at night with the room keys, everything there seems to work fine because of the people, not because of complex and cold IT and operative solutions.
Rome, as a city, reminds me to find the beauty of life in the simple exercise of the oldest human expressions, as the language, the food and the daily interaction with the people that voluntary or accidentally surround us. At Hotel Santa Maria, they work in benefit of this everyday beauty too.
Ok, they need to improve Internet connection at the room, and some other small updates, but you can catch a bike, get some pizza al taglio out there, and forget to put it on facebook sometimes.
Maybe I’ll be back to Rome someday, I’ll probably back to Trastevere too, but I’m sure I’ll back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlisesGasparini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews