We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rooms are more like chalet style on one level - very nice. Superb location and great staff - all friendly & helpful. All nice & clean with coffee & tea in the room. Breakfast is continental with limited hot food & fruit but perfectly fine - great coffee!! Enjoyed our stay very much and will deffo use again next time.
The outside area amongst orange trees is lovely and the site is gated so no security issues. We had a great time at the hotel & would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 which has a separate entrance away from the main area of rooms & lovely indivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,252
    526
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
668
1,152
80
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are a family of four with a 12 and 16 year old. We absolutely loved our time in Trastevere. We visited most of the sites in Rome listed in the guidebooks, but always found it nice to come back to Trastevere and Santa Maria. It had more of an authentic feel to us without "quite" as many tourists and traffic - though there were both. The nightlife was very happening and streets were filled with restaurant goers and partiers. We are all night owls, so we really enjoyed the people watching at night and walking around the streets. However, as soon as we stepped off Piazza Santa Maria and walked down the little street to our hotel, we found a wonderful oasis! So it was the best of both worlds for us. Peace when we wanted to sleep, but a nightlife when we were feeling nocturnal.

We booked a family suite for 4 people. When you walk in the door, you walk into a room with two bunk beds (think you can request two twins instead). You walk through the room and there is a little hallway of sorts with a closet to the left and a bathroom to the right. In the next room, you can have two twins or a double. The only door is on the bathroom. There are no bedroom doors, but the bathroom wall separates the two rooms, so you can still change in your bedroom if you announce that you're doing so! We loved our room.

There is air condition that works well, but we liked opening the windows to hear the birds. The birds (seagulls) are hilarious. They make the funniest sounds - sort of like old men moaning. I grew up on the coast and I've never heard sounds like these!

Santa Maria Hotel really is plopped down in the middle of a neighborhood. There was a communal rooftop terrace right outside our room. If you walk out onto the terrace, you're surrounded by apartments that are so charming. I took several photos from the deck. When we were there, I only saw one other couple using the terrace, so it's not like it's a big loud gathering spot.

Many people have raved about the breakfast/wine courtyard, so I'll just ditto here. Probably the best cappuccinos of our trip!

The front desk was always very friendly and helpful and even wished my son a Happy Birthday when we stopped in for some information. I guess they had made a note of it from copying the passport. They even gave him a free drink of his choice in the afternoon. My daughter and I took out their bikes one morning and really enjoyed taking a quick ride around the area. I would recommend doing that very early though, as I took a bike out another day when it was later and found the cars and people more challenging to navigate. There were also bikes available and lined up every day, so I have a feeling you wouldn't have a problem having one available at any time of day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Yes, it is an oasis with friendly staff, great location. Paola was great, always helpful with our many questions. Claudio in the bar was simply awesome, as were the rest of the staff. We could not do the full breakfast because we had early starts due to our booked tours but we were still provided with a light breakfast and great coffee. The room was clean, we had wifi and breakfast included as well, simply too easy!!! The restaurants nearby are easy: we loved Da Augusto. For more casual go to Forno which make great pizzas. Ahhhh! The every evening happy hour is a must do before going out to dinner! Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I spent two days at the Hotel Santa Maria at the end of our 2 weeks in Italy. We really enjoyed the Travestere neighbourhood, and still found all of the major sites within easy walking distance. The hotel is intimate, impeccably clean, and has blessedly great air conditioning. We appreciated the free Happy Hour appetizers, and the great breakfast that was included with the room price (hot eggs, cereal bar, and standard European type breakfast). Malina at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend having the hotel book your transfer from the airport when you first arrive. We took a standard cab and were charged 20 euro more than what the meter read. The hotel will book a car with a flat rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I can only confirm everything positive that has been said before and I confirm that this place definitely merits its 5-Star rating. My wife and I stayed there with our two children (age 5 and 8) for three nights, and it was just perfect. This is a very nice and charming place. I can not understand the (very few) negative assessments, especially those that found the service and personnel to be cold or undfriendly. Our experience is really the opposite: we found the personnel extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mms370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everything about this hotel was perfect. The location in Trastavere with its narrow streets vibrant nightlife and lots of reasonably priced restaurants. The hotel is located in a narrow street behind a gate which gives privacy & security. All the rooms are on the ground floor and open on to a beautiful courtyard with orange trees where there are tables for breakfast and drinks in absolute peace and calm. The staff are brilliant - courteous attentive and very helpful. Happy hour from around 5:30 till 7:30 is a perfect time to relax with a glass of prosecco and complimentary snacks after a day's sightseeing.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Charming hotel, central, but quiet location in the heart of Trastevere, welcoming and helpful staff. Wonderful courtyard with orange trees, excellent breakfast, very clean rooms. Some minutes to walk to the tourist part and main attractionsof the city. A lot of good value restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing