We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -very noisy”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #13 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -very noisy”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Hotel Santa Maria is very nice and located in a wonderful neighborhood. I am a very heavy sleeper and this hotel was very noisy to me. I could hear the conversations of the guests in the rooms surrounding my room. In addition, the common area is very nice, but conversations ensued late in to the evenings - and I know Rome stays awake very late, but on two evenings other guests were in the court yard past midnight. I know everything about their day, including the flavors of gelato they enjoyed (mango was the best). Breakfast begins at 7:00 am, which I can attest to because everyone walks on the rocks beginning at 7:00 am. There is nothing the hotel staff can do about the noise - but I would be cautious about staying in this hotel, especially if you are light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,292
    530
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
682
1,172
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have nothing but good memories of our stay at the Santa Maria. (except that we slept through the last breakfast :(. But the staff was sweet enough to still round us up some Cappucino and pastry :). Our driver from the airport had a hard time finding the hotel, so I would next time use the service that the hotel themselves suggests. (we booked another company)
The Piazza at the Santa Maria church, barely two blocks away is buzzing at night. Fun!

Room Tip: My boyfriend and I had the biggest room in the place. Very pleasant. My sister and son shared a two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We rented two rooms for three nights at Hotel Santa Maria!
What a find! The hotel is in an excellent location! Amongst eateries, bars, churches, and piazzas!
The hotel is gated, safe, quiet, and well run! Everyone who works there is pleasant and helpful!
Breakfast and happy hour foods are well presented and tasty!
Best cappuccinos in town! ❤
Would highly the recommend and would return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

More a feel of a home than a hotel, perfect if this is what you're looking for. The rooms are confortable and cute but if you're looking for above that, perhaps this is not the right place. The breakfasts were lovely, 24hr reception was great and the bike hire inclusion was fantastic fun. If you get a sunny day, the breakfast area is beautiful and all the staff are very kind. Nice and quiet and not too far from the main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jglennon1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great place with a fun location and truly wonderful staff. The Trastevere is a great area. It is close to public transportation and is walkable to all of the major sites. The restaurants are everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Beautiful courtyards with orange trees, birds chirping, fabulous breakfast, comfortable rooms. The hotel has become my new favorite for Rome. East access to bus, tram and right across the bridges to tourist sites. Great nieghborhood for dinner and wandering.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The owner & staff of this hotel we nothing but helpful and courteous. Has a great courtyard where you can enjoy free appetizers during happy hour if you buy a drink. Room was nice and bathroom was updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcu1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing