We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel & great location!”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely hotel & great location!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel has a lovely central courtyard & the rooms were comfortable to sleep in, keeping nice & cool for our return after a hot day of sight-seeing. The staff are all welcoming & friendly and very helpful with advice and booking taxis. The location is perfect for seeing all the major attractions in Rome & we walked to/from many of them - it was great fun map-reading around Rome! The rooms don't have any seating area and we weren't told about the lounge area during our stay (which is tucked away and not immediately obvious) only finding out about it because our luggage was left there while we were out on our last day (which didn't seem a secure place to leave it). Breakfast was a lovely selection of cereals,pastries,fruit,yoghurt & eggs. Overall, a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,257
    526
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
669
1,152
80
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great little friendly, clean hotel with beautiful gated courtyard. Perfect base for a 2 night stay. Across the river from main tourist sites but within walking distance or short cab ride. Borrowed the hotels bicycles (free) for an early morning ride - great fun!. Lots of interesting places locally and passageways to explore. Plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby for our evening meal and cafes/bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHIGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A wonderful and charming hotel. A little pearl in the busy area, Trastevere. The staff were so helpful and the service was 100%. All the sights are within walking distance. A lovely experience. I can highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope Devlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There is little we can add to all the rave reviews. This is a true gem in Rome. The staff is top notch. The owners are caring. The rooms well kept and spacious. Breakfast and the dinner appetizers are delicious. Breakfast in the courtyard under the orange trees is lovely. The location is very quiet yet close to many of the major attractions. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothenburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff and a very charming atmosphere. The area (Trastevere) is very trendy, there are a lot of nice restaurants around and Colosseum, Vatican, Piazza Navona or Fontana Trevi are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a beautiful, quiet, comfortable hotel with amazing staff, right in the center of busy Trastevere. The location is unbeatable - walking distance (30 min or less) to the Palatine Hill (Colosseum, Forum), Vatican, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and Piazza Navona. Perfect for venturing out into the city for day trips, and then returning to the great nightlife of Trastevere.

It seems far from Termini - but we never had more than at 10 euro cab ride (about 10-15 minutes). With a a 4 minute walk to Ponte Sisto taxi stand, this is comparable to any commute you would get from the hotel district.

Add on top of all of these perks a delicious breakfast assortment, and any equally tasty Mediterranean antipasti assortment during happy hour, and it is pretty much the best value you will find in eternal city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACannizzaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I traveled to Rome in May with my mother and husband. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite. It was perfect. We woke up to the church bells every morning. The hotel grounds are beautiful. As soon as you set foot outside your suite, you're in an orange grove. The hotel is also located in Trastavere, far from most of the foot traffic you'll run into while in Rome. Yet its very convenient to walk or take public transportation to other parts of Rome. At night we would get some drinks and snacks and sit at the fountain in from of Santa Maria Church and people watch. The staff here is incredibly friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Email the hotel directly if you have any questions. They're quick to respond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing