We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed four nights with 3 friends last week.

Location- great location just around the corner from the piazza di Santa Maria in trastevere. It was great to get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome each evening. Lots of restaurants, cafés, etc in the area.

Room- we had a Room 22 with four beds. It also had 1.5 baths which was great forn4 women getting ready at the same time. Beds were fairly comfortable. Shower was hot and water pressure was strong. Plenty of closet space. In room safe.

Bar and breakfast- breakfast was standard European breakfast. Variety of juices, breads, meats and cheeses. I appreciated the fresh fruit. Food for the happy hour in the bar was a little dismal, but I wasn't concerned since I was rarely truly hungry when in Rome.

Staff- staff was super friendly.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,227
    523
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
662
1,138
78
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
779 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have stayed in 16 hotels/B&B's on our around the world trip and Santa Maria is certainly in the top 3. Why? Because...

1. The location in Trastevere is wonderful. A tranquil and secure compound right in thick of old Rome, surrounded by restaurants and within walking distance of just about everything.
2. The rooms are comfortably presented and very nicely laid out. Everything is here and furthermore, it's where it should be.
3. The hotel grounds are so welcoming. How nice to have breakfast under the shade of the Grapefruit trees in the courtyard. Likewise it's lovely to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and nibbles as the sun sets.
4. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. Not gushy or plastic - just nice people.

We really did enjoy our 3 night stay at the Santa Maria. The king sized bed was comfortable, the shower delivered a constant supply of hot water, the air-conditioning worked as it should, the WiFi signal was strong, the staff were very helpful.... oh no, I'm starting to repeat myself.
Suffice to say this is a very comfortable and comforting hotel where everything happens exactly as it's meant to.

Room Tip: We had room 1, which doesn't face the main courtyard but does have a small courtyard of it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had a older full time at the hotel Santa Maria. A haven of peace in the very busy Rome. A very nice welcome with all the information you need to get started. The rooms are very comfortable and the amenities exactly what you need (including slippers) - the surrounding, with the gardens and terraces really we'll organize for a very relaxing stay. Great breakfast as well to start our busy days. It is also very conveniently located! We highly recommend the Hotel Santa Maria - and we will most definitely be back. A great experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Quaint little hideaway in the heart of Trastevere. Clean and quiet, comfy and tranquil. A perfect place for a quiet week away with every highlight Rome has to offer within walking distance. There is an abundance of restaurants and bars just outside the gates as well as street market stalls selling wide choice. A perfect location and delightful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamytulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here based on the Tripadvisor reviews and were definitely not disappointed. The service was outstanding as was the location. Beds were great- we actually slept 13 hours after our long trip from Arizona! We have never done that. Norman was excellent with service for the morning meal with always a smiling face. The morning meal was one of the best I have had in Italy and the friendliness of the other hotel visitors was a bonus. Everyone was obviously enjoying their time here. The hotel is only 15-20 minutes from the Roman Ruins and the Coliseum with the best restaurants in the area within only a 5-10 minute walk. The rooms are nice and the area is quiet- it is hard to believe you are near the center of Rome! The only issue: we only stayed here 3 nights- we should have stayed more! We will definitely come back for a longer period next time.

Room Tip: From what I saw, every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCraig7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The reviews you read say it all. I did my research and the reviews are spot on! Rome is a beautiful place and the location of this hotel is perfect with some lovely restaurants and bars on it's door step. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone! The attractions are walkable but be prepared to do a lot of walking. But that said you would have to do the same where ever you stay in Rome. The breakfast was nice and plentiful. If I had any negative comments it would be that at times it can be noisy. But that's if I was to be very picky! This hotel is very good value, and if I was to return I would have no problems booking up again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam_31_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel Santa Maria is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Trastevere, yet it has none of the hustle and bustle. Others have referred to it as an oasis, and we could not agree more. The staff was extremely accommodating. We dropped our bags off early in the morning before our room was ready, as we needed to head out for our first tour at the Vatican (which we were able to walk to as this hotel is centrally located to most of the main sites in Rome). When we returned in the evening after an exhausting day of touring we found that not only had our 3 very heavy bags been brought to our room, but there was a bottle of Prosecco on ice and some light snacks waiting for us with a sweet note wishing us a happy anniversary. We brought the refreshments out to the tables in the beautiful and peaceful courtyard to enjoy. We were then able to walk to a nearby restaurant for a delicious dinner. There are countless options in the Trastevere neighborhood. My only regret is that we only had one night to spend at this hotel and we were not able to partake in the breakfast the next morning as we had to leave very early to catch our flight home. We highly recommend this hotel and hope that we will be able to return someday for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Kat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing