We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem.”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #11 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem.”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I would travel back to Rome just to stay here. Great location next to piazza. Restaurants all around. Two fantastic courtyards filled with orange trees. Bicycles to borrow so you can tour around. Do NOT miss the church at the nearby piazza. Eat at Mo'Sto around the corner for a great dinner.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    529
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
682
1,170
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Slightly difficult to find initially, but a good location - close to city centre but quiet. Very attractive - rooms around old cloisters, nicely decorated and good bathrooms. Very helpful staff - booked us a car back to airport which was significantly cheaper and smarter than taxi. Good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria this past July. Overall, I had found the city of Rome to be a disappointment. If we had not stayed in the Hotel Santa Maria, it would have been completely awful. The hotel and the area it is in (Travestere) were the saving graces. The hotel is by no means a fancy one, but it is clean, the service is great, and the grounds are beautiful. We especially enjoyed the cocktail hour each day; it was nice to return from a long, hot day of sightseeing to cocktails and snacks. The room was adequate, and very very clean. The Travestere is, what I had been told, the most preserved Roman area in the city. It is quaint; cobblestone, narrow streets, and a lot of great restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajs0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We came to Rome for a meeting and decided to front-end the trip with some sightseeing time. We loved Hotel Santa Maria. The staff were courteous and very warm and helpful. The bed was firm and comfortable. (Having a neck injury this is very important to me). The location was perfect. We were there 4 nights, We then transferred to a high-dollar Waldorf Astoria property in Rome to attend the meeting. It could not compare with Hotel Santa Maria. I will definitely stay here again.

The only down part of our stay was when we went to a restaurant (recommended on the Internet) and were charged 100 Euros for a meal we did not get. We should have stuck with the places recommended by the hotel staff. The hotel staff told us that restaurant takes advantage of tourists and they would never have recommended that place to anyone. We have learned our lesson.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK9230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

we, me and my wife were here in the middle of februar.The roman wintertime
when the wind from north is cold as is.However the sun was shining and we had
a lovely time in Rome and in Trastevere.
The hotel Santa Maria was a very nice and warm place to spend the time.
Christel and Stefan
Sweden

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Stayed her over the valentines weekend. I used tripadvisor to find this hotel as I had never been to Rome and was very pleased with the results. The rooms were great and the breakfast fantastic. The location is superb and the whole package is excellent value for money. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENG1Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York state
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We loved the location of the Hotel Santa Maria--in Trastevere, an easy walk across the river from 'downtown' Rome, in a lively but laid-back neighborhood...off the beaten track but not out in the sticks. The hotel is on a tiny side street just a few steps away from the Piazza Santa Maria, with its beautiful church. Our room was on the small side, but clean and quiet, looking out onto a lovely courtyard (where they serve breakfast when the weather is good). Decent breakfast with eggs and cold meats as well as the usual breadstuffs--and excellent coffee, of course! Staff helpful without being intrusive. It is not 'full service'--no restaurant, limited bar, no health club or gift shop--but for vacation travel, we prefer a small hotel with character over an impersonal franchise any day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,259 in Rome
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,259 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing