We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel with Very Good Service and Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Hotel with Very Good Service and Excellent Location”
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Hotel Santa Maria was everything it was advertised to be. The service at the hotel was wonderful, ranging from arranging very late night transportation from the airport to returning items left behind by the children with us. Breakfast was a highlight with items for every taste, including excellent coffee.

The location was ideal -- we walked to all the sights we wanted to see in Rome, from the Vatican to shopping at the Spanish Steps to visiting the traditional sights around the Forum and Colosseum, and everything in between. The Trastevere neighborhood and nearby Santa Maria Basilica added to the experience.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,306
    532
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
693
1,175
81
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2009

What a perfect stay in Rome. The Hotel is very clean and charming. Its location is a little difficult for some cabs to find and drive to (very narrow streets) but it is worth it. There are many restaurants nearby and the service could not be better. We stayed 4 nights and want to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfJ_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Santa Maria was perfectly located for the multitude of bars and restaurants in Trastevere and within walking distance (albeit long) to most of 'the' sights to see. However, it no longer has the daily afternoon free wine and snacks session, which was part of the reason for choosing them. They hadn't told us beforehand or when we arrived - only when we went looking for it.

Another slight disappointment was the lack of internet connectivity in the room, however there was access in the dining area and courtyard.

Staff friendliness and service varied greatly, but the majority were fairly aloof and not that helpful when asking for advice.

Room 1 was great because of the private courtyard, but near a storeroom, which staff used early each morning (so not good for light sleepers). The bathroom was modern with great shower pressure and room was very comfortable.

Overall it was overpriced for what it offered, but nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Rome.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We stayed at Hotel Santa Maria for 3 nights in March. The hotel itself was clean and the beds very comfortable. The shower was fantastic! We loved our stay in Rome, the sights and the architecture were spectaculor, but I must say our favourite place was round about the hotel in the Trastevere area - beautiful old buildings, plenty of restaurants and a really great atmosphere. However, even though the area is busy and noisy the hotel was surprisingly peaceful. One word of caution though -make sure you take a detailed map of where to find the hotel - it's down a pedestrian lane in amongst a maze of streets and it took us quite some time to find. But that's the only small complaint - If we return to Rome we shall definately stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cunningham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Santa Maria. The location was perfect, just a taxi cab ride away from all of the sights. We enjoyed the restauraunts around the area.
The hotel itself was adorable. There was a beautiful garden area, and a delicious breakfast included. The rooms were extremely clean, and the staff went over and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.
We would definitely return and recommend this place to everyone!!
Can't wait to return,
Steve and Julie Quinn

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

The Hotel Santa Maria is amazing! The service was excellent, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and even the bathroom shower was great. We really loved the courtyards (with the beautiful orange trees), safety inside the hotel, and everything they had to offer. We arrived early in the morning and even though check in wasn't until the afternoon, out room was ready for us!! The breakfast was delicious...eggs, breads, yogurt, cereal, juices of every variety, cappucinos, coffee...there is something for everyone. It is a great location near a lot of eateries and not too far from excellent shopping. We felt very safe in the neighborhood as well. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know that is going to Rome!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

we really have an excellent time in Rome, and particularly in the Santa Maria. The location is wonderful, next to Santa Maria in Trastevere, we spent every day a few minutes in the church. The dinners vere close to the hotel, which, after two or three glasses of wine can be very important. The hotel itself is beautiful with its orange trees in the yard, and the bicycles!!! We could go to San Paolo by bycicles, of course it was not a pilgrimage, but you can feel how it could have been, to see the church from the distance, and so on.. Thanks for everything. Grazie, Dio.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tundeRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,261 in Rome
605 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing