We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty petite hotel in great location.”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria for three nights (myself and 2 freinds). We had a triple room which had one double bed and one single. The room was large enough for three but three women sharing a small bathroom was always a bit ambitious.

The room was clean and towels changed regularly. The bathroom had both bath and good shower (over bath) as well as hand held shower.

The courtyard was very pretty, we ate breakfast there every morning and enjoyed the last hours of the day chatting in this very peaceful environment.

We used the hotels recommended transfer service and was picked up at the airport by a polite driver, even after a flight change meant some re-arranging of pick up times.

The hotel is very secure, large gates protect the area and are locked at night. As well as this the room had a small electronic safe for valuables.

The best bit of the hotel is the location, if you enjoy eating and drinking in typically italian restaurants then this is your place. The hotel is perfectly located to enjoy all of the facilities of the district, and yet is very peaceful and quiet.

The only downside we had was that we booked a taxi via the hotel to take us to an organised tour and it was very late. This wasnt the hotels fault but it took a lot of persuasion to get the receptionist to call the taxi company to find out where the taxi had got to.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrycheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent four nights on this small hotel located in the middle of Trastevere , nice location just few steps from the beautiful piazza Santa Maria , several great trattorias and pizzerias ( Dal Poeta ,fantastic ) rooms are very clean and confortable, breakfast is very enjoyable outside surronded by orange trees . Service was very frendly . I will definatly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhonMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We loved Hotel Santa Maria. Incredibly charming! There were 5 of us, including 2 teenagers. Although the area you walk through to get to the hotel (Travestere) looked a little sketchy in the daytime because of all the grafitti on the bldgs, the hotel was an amazing hidden gem and the location was great for walking to all the Rome sites. We never needed a taxi but we did do A LOT of walking, which we enjoy as a family. However, the area comes alive at night with sidewalk cafes everywhere that are all packed with diners enjoying great Italian food. You wouldn't know it was the same place. However, Santa Maria remains quiet and enjoyable day or night. We loved the courtyard, and looked forward to relaxing there each afternoon after siteseeing in crowds and heat all day. We even just kicked back and played a boardgame one afternoon to rest our feet. Breakfasts were excellent, with made to order coffees and delicious food choices. We sat out in the courtyard amidst citrus trees and really felt relaxed. The rooms were very nicely appointed and up to date. Staff is very friendly. Only drawback is the lack of a pool for kids on hot days. If we visit Rome again, we would DEFINITELY stay here. Much better than a large, impersonal hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Our family greatly enjoyed Hotel Santa Maria in Trastevere, Rome. It is a quiet and comfortable oasis in the midst of Trastevere, a great neighborhood in old Rome. Trastevere, which literally means "across the river", is quiet during the day but comes alive at night with dozens of cafes serving Italian cuisine and a fun crowd. It was a perfect location for my son (in his 20s) as well as my teenage daughter. Us old folks enjoyed it as well. The Forum, the Ghetto and Campo de'Fiori are all a short walk away. On our last day, we walked up the hill ("The Gianicolo") from the hotel to the Garibaldi Statue, where there is a great view of all of Rome.
The hotel itself has 18 rooms situated around a courtyard. We started every day with a fresh breakfast (included in the price) in the courtyard. There was capuccino, omelette, fresh cheese and cold cuts, pastries, fresh fruit and juices, etc. It was always a nice beginning to a hectic tourist day.
Because my husband and son had to leave earlier, we ended up trying all of the rooms -- the Senior Suite, Junior Suite, and a regular room. We liked all the rooms except the Junior Suite -- the airconditionining did not really reach the second floor, where it was hot. On the other hand, this was the end of August, with temperatures outside reaching 100 degrees Farenheit. You probably would not experience the same problem if you were coming at another time of year.
The best thing about Santa Maria was the staff, which was young, intelligent, and friendly. We unfortunately do not speak a word of Italian, but had all our questions patiently answered by the very knowledgable staff. In particular, Roberto (who fluently speaks four languages) was friendly, informative and fun. He helped us a great deal on the first night, when we had to return our rental car at the end of a day of driving from Florence.
This hotel is NOT located in the midst of the most touristy area of Rome (i.e., the Tirdente, with the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain). You can take a bus or a taxi (about 10 Euro for a taxi) to that area. However, we all liked the location a great deal. In a way, it seemed more authentic than the more touristy area. In New York City terms, Trastevere was more like the village, where as the Tirdente would be more similar to Fifth Avenue.
Overall, this hotel was great value for the money, and a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalompeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

When I read the former reviews i can't agree. We were there the same days and We have a great service from the lady in the reception. She helpt us with a lot of things and We think all the staff in the reception were helpful and polite.
The hotel is just wonderful, we are almost full time travellers and this is one of the best hotel we have been to.
In the price tou have a little "aportivo" buffet every evening, so you can just relax with a book or your cumputer in the courtyard. Just lovely.
When We were there most of the hotelguests were from America, so I think I really must recommend this hotel for the Skandinavia people so they also can find this lovely hotel.

We got a excellent map from the reception and it was easy to go everywhere. We hope to came back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akol04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I just returned from the Hotel Santa Maria. My wife, mother and myself stayed seven days.
First, the hotel is beautiful. The courtyard is like an oasis in Rome, very quiet, clean and a beautiful garden setting around a grove of orange trees. The rooms are average size but are clean and in great condition. The location is perfect about a block away from the church in Trastevere. The breakfast was great I would definetly stay there again.
My only issue was with one their employees. I'm a very laid back individual and always courteous with the staff. This one lady they have working there continually gave us dirty stares and purposely tried to difficult when we had a basic question or two. Early in trip I asked for internet access. She wouldn't give us the password to the internet until noon even though there were others online as early as 7 in the morning all week. We also asked her to book us a cab to the airport on our final day and she neglected to do so. I only found this out five hours before we had to leave. On the last day we also had our bags by a gate that opens up to let cars in. She arrived at work the same time we were leaving and she saw us in front of the gate and didn't even have the courtesy to let us get our bags out of the way before she opened the gate. We had to scramble just to keep our luggage from getting knocked over and she had the nerve to glare at us as she went by? Not sure what her problem was but clearly it was intentional. I'm not sure of her name but I saw her driving a Nissan Murano SUV and a motorcycle on different days and she works in the morning so please be careful in dealing with her.
They also have another staff member there named Roberto, he's great and truly a great representative of the hotel. The rest of the staff were helpful as well.
We also had great luck with the restaurants in the area. One in particular, Carlo Mente was great and very reasonable about a block away from the church.
Overall, I would say the hotel is exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gunnerny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Positives: The grounds were serene and immaculately maintained, providing a great place to relax in the shade during the hot Roman afternoons. The rooms were similarly comfortable. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked and tasty.

Negatives: One of the staff members was not only lazy and inattentive, but went out of her way to lie to us and kept lying even when called on it. When we arrived and checked in, the woman at the reception desk confirmed that our room was ready, then asked us to wait outside for "five minutes" before she would show us to our room. The five minutes stretched into more than 40 minutes as she chatted with a coworker.

The same woman was managing the desk when we checked out. We asked her to call a taxi; before she did so, she asked where we were going, and we said "the airport". We then waited outside for the taxi to arrive. When the car arrived, we attempted to confirm the price would be 40 euros, as is the law in Rome. The driver said no, then went inside to talk with the hotel woman; the woman on staff then came outside and tried to tell us that because it was a Sunday ("a holiday") that the regular rate doesn't apply. When we pointed out that the day of the week had no bearing, she tried a different excuse: that the rate only applies to travel to/from the center of the city. This again, was patently false, as the law explicitly includes everywhere within the city walls, where we most certainly were. To be clear, she was not trying to come up with possible reasons the driver would be charging more than legally allowed, but actively arguing for the higher charges and lying through her teeth while doing it. I can only assume that she or the hotel itself get some sort of kickback from the customer getting scammed, as she went out of her way to even get involved in the first place.

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend a hotel, however nice the grounds and rooms are, when they choose such lazy and deceitful people to act as their public face.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Xenophile149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,697 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
752 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing