We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,199)
Filter reviews
3,199 results
Traveller rating
2,553
563
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,553
563
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citygreat neighborhoodwithin walking distancethe hotel staffeach eveningrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornertrip to romesmall hotelloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 3,199 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a week in Rome where we stayed at the lovely Hotel Santa Maria in Trastevere. It was a wonderful experience. Even though the cooler temperatures did not allow us to enjoy the very tranquil and beautiful outdoor cafe tables surrounded by cloisters and orange trees, and the rooftop solarium, as much as we would have liked, this hotel is truly a gem. The room was very comfortable and well appointed with everything we needed, but without the ostentation of the things we didn't. Breakfast was more than ample and the reception staff and service were personal, warm and genuinely helpful at every level. This place is a gem within the gem of Trastevere and whenever we return to Rome this is where we will be.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This charming hotel is centrally located in a quaint area of Rome, about a 20 minute walk to the central Rome tourist attractions. It is surrounded by many delightful, and inexpensive eateries. All staff were welcoming, friendly, happy and homely. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable, delightfully decorated, beds were extraordinarily comfortable, and the breakfasts were to die for. A fantastic and perfect start to our European holiday. It is easy to see why it is ranked so highly. I would be happy to recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandj20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Not only was the location ideal for walking to many of Rome's major sites, but the Tresevere neighborhood was charming with many restaurants and shops. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and couldn't have been happier with the amenities and grounds and staff. Breakfast was a feast; cocktail time a treat. Once again the staff was friendly, helpful and saw to our every need. Highly recommend,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Loved everything about this hotel and would have loved to have stayed longer than our 2 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved having breakfast and happy hour sitting underneath the orange trees. The rooftop terrace is also a nice place to relax after a day of exploring Rome. The rooms are clean and include tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. The breakfast was good, with a wide selection. The fresh bread they serve is amazing! Once you walk through the secure gates of this hotel, it is like walking into an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. It is very quiet, except for the church bells, which I loved hearing. Trastevere is a great area to stay, a 15-30 minutes walk from most of the attractions of Rome. There are some fantastic restaurants around the area too. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in October at the beginning of our 2 week jaunt in Italy. It was fabulous, charming, and so quaint.
The staff are spectacular - so kind and helpful and we were always greeted with a a smile. They are great for recommending restaurants and making reservations as well. Thanks to their thoughtfulness, we enjoyed a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary in the adorable courtyard surrounded by orange trees and quaint buildings.
The room was always clean and you leave your room key with them while you are out adventuring.
This hotel, staff, and location are so captivating and wonderful that it ranks evenly in our memories with the 5 star hotels we went on to stay in on the Amalfi Coast.
I'm very happy with our decision to stay in the Trastevere area: Lively with many great restaurants and places to grab a drink. So fun just to take a stroll through the maze of alleys. I would highly recommend that you check out Trastevere even if you stay somewhere closer to the sites.
I cannot speak highly enough about our time here and I hope to be back !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsayflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews