We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,219)
Filter reviews
3,219 results
Traveller rating
2,571
565
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,571
565
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange trees breakfast and happy hour trastevere neighborhood church bells charming hotel busy city great neighborhood within walking distance the hotel staff each evening restaurants and bars perfect location breakfast was delicious around the corner trip to rome small hotel loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 3,219 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We can't recommend Hotel Santa Maria highly enough - we were very sad to leave.
First of all the hotel is located in the heart of Travestere - a lively but relaxed neighborhood and full of great eateries and bars. It's about 15 mins walk from the historic centre so not too far but far enough away that you can chill out.
The rooms, courtyard, bar etc are just lovely and somewhere we really enjoyed spending time. The rooms are charming and well appointed.
The staff are excellent, we've never had as warm a welcome at a hotel as this and they were really helpful. Breakfast was good.
We stayed in low season but the price was such good value. We got the lowest rate by booking direct with the hotel.
A wonderful stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HerrBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

An oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city! This being our 3rd trip to Rome, decided to stay in the Trastevere area, south of the Tiber River. What a gem of an area....easy access to the sites of Rome. Either by walking across on of many bridges, or by using public transportation. The Hotel Santa Maria will not disappoint you, they go the extra mile for comfort, security,location, and lastly, the great breakfast.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelingclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of lovely Trastevere, within 300 metres of some great restaurants and nice cafes. We visited in December for my wife’s 60th birthday and were blessed with mainly sunny weather but we couldn’t fault the hotel and especially the wonderful, friendly, helpful and smiley staff. Thank you...

Room Tip: Book early...
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HarryStocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel I’ve stayed at ever! What a charming pure Roman experience. The courtyard covered by orange trees the cobbled walk to reception the whole thing , makes you feel like a resident not a guest.
The staff exceptionally friendly , they simply are the best hotel staff I’ve ever dealt with. This was a very clean hotel. Location could not be better. Great!!!!
The room we had , room 1 was perfect so rustic and authentic Rome . It had its own patio private area with table and chairs and umbrella. And beautifully lit at night . It is full of romance and charm.
The neibor hood is the best !!! To sum things up location , charm, romance , cleanliness and exceptional staff. Oh and good price we will be back. Look no further , thanks Hotel Santa Maria.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KMHChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Travelled here in August without our children and Santa Maria surprised us so much. We never expected such beautiful hotel in a city. The location and the calmness and politeness of the hotel satisfied us very much. I am sure we will see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lemonsqueezer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews