We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Maria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa della Fonte(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanzio(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,086)
Filter reviews
3,086 results
Traveller rating
2,453
550
56
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,453
550
56
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesbreakfast and happy hourtrastevere neighborhoodchurch bellscharming hotelbusy citywithin walking distanceeach eveningthe hotel staffrestaurants and barsperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousaround the cornersmall hoteltrip to romeloved this hotelpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,723 - 1,728 of 3,086 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We highly recommend the Hotel Santa Maria. Located in a hip/bohemian neighborhood with great trattorias. Lovely little Piazza/square off of the Church of Santa Maria. Great hotel for traveling with kids. The most amazing coffee bar ever. Eat fresh baked patries for breakfast in the quite, beautiful orage grove courtyard. Hotel walls are solid concrete, very very quite, not near any major roads. The only negative is its a 20 minute walk to the Metro. But there is a cab stand about 5 minutes away. This hotel is not CAR friendly (but then neither is Rome). Take a taxi from the airport or train station and have them drop you off in front of the church and walk around the corner to the hotel. The street leading up to the hotel is barely 5 feet wide.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

For the third time we spent 5 days at Hotel Santa Maria. We love the place. We have tried other hotels in Rome, none of them as pleasant as Santa Maria. We are already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sv-aasmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Santa Maria. It was clean, comfortable, and beautiful and quiet. Even though it is in the center of a very popular and busy area it was very quiet and enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and had many choices. Thanks everyone for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We just returned from an extended vacation in Italy and stayed in Rome at the Hotel Santa Maria. We truly enjoyed being in the neighborhood of Trastevere, but I wouldn't do it if it's your first trip to Rome. It's just a little bit out of the zone of all the places you want to go. We have been to Rome many times, so it was perfect for us. . The Santa Maria was great for the price. We highly recommend it. Staff very helpful, setting relaxing, great neighborhood restaurants. A little hard to find if you are driving a car. I would get better directions from the hotel ahead of time. Yes, we had a GPS, but it only had one way to get to the hotel and that way was blocked by construction. It's behind the Santa Maria church and you have to enter a non-visitor zone to get to it. Parking available on thier property for 10Euros a day. I would stay here again if we are in Rome.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We have just returned from a lovely Bank Holiday stay in the charming Hotel Santa Maria
and hope to return. It is a calm and beautiful base to stay in lively Trastevere.
The staff are friendly and helpful with everything and the beautiful, sunny central courtyard with orange and lemon trees is a fantastic place to enjoy the lovely buffet breakfast or an aperitivo (with complimentary buffet) before going out for dinner.
We had long wanted to stay in this district of Rome and the Hotel Santa Maria has made it a
memorable one Trastevere is well served by public transport and it was easy to visit the Caravaggio 400 and the new Maxxi gallery.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews