We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Satisfactory”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Satisfactory”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Our family of four stayed 5 nights in the Suite Mansarda. We really enjoyed the Hotel Santa Maria. The neighborhood was active, interesting, exciting, and full of things to do at all hours. The service at the hotel was quite good. Breakfasts were filling, coffee was great. The suite was very comfortable for the four of us, though the ceiling is a bit low since it is a converted attic. Beds were comfy. The air conditioning was a bit strained to keep the place cool in the Roman summer heat, though. The hotel is in an enclave, so even though you are steps from the action, you are surrounded by quiet. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Rome and want to stay in the same wonderful neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiveandTake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,255
    526
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
668
1,152
80
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The first day we arrived, I went outside my room, which was located on the 1st floor overlooking the back courtyard, for a smoke and noticed a man sitting in a window with a broken screen staring out at me. This window is located overhead the hotel at one of the villa's or apartments so it's not part of Santa Maria. Next to the window is 3 other windows shut closed by bricks and wood. The following day, I asked my husband if he wanted to sit out in the courtyard and he said, "Not in the back, saw a creepy guy in the window" and I said, yeah, I saw him too!
The last night we were in the hotel, my husband awoke at 1am by the sound of something near our door so he got up and pushed the door closed, we evidently didn't double lock it. He saw a shadow go across the lighted courtyard, could of been another resident of the hotel? So he looked out the window and saw the creepy guy in the window with the torn screen sitting there staring out. We both watched him as he took his hand outside the screen and pulled it back (signaling someone? peeping tom?) and then looked left, up, down and around. We kept getting up to check, he was there for over 3 hours doing the same, looking around and sometimes smoking a cig. Finally he turned off the light of his room but came back to look around again for a long time!
The next morning after we failed to get our requested wake-up call and was running late, I asked the front desk clerk about the guy in the window with the torn screen. He responded by looking down, avoiding eye contact with me and stating, he just sits there sometimes and smokes. Really?? Hmmm. I didn't question him further because it must be an issue with the hotel, must get complaints all the time?
One more thing, the desk clerk lied to us about the difference between the hotel's private car to the airport for a rate of 55 euro's vs a city taxi, who's rate can be anything at all, not cut-rate. Later, we found out the the law in Rome is 40 euros from within the city walls to FCO for ALL taxi's!
Not a place we will stay at again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TVB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hotel Santa Maria is wonderful! The location and surrounding neighborhood in Trastevere is the perfect place to seek refuge after a long day of exploration. Trastevere comes to life at night and the aromas from nearby restaurants are enticing. It appears to be the spot for locals and tourists alike. My husband, parents and I truly enjoyed Hotel Santa Maria because of the hospitality, beauty and of course amazing breakfast in the outside courtyard. Everything was easy from the minute we got there. Even making transportation connections from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to our cruise port was made easy by the hotel staff. I would say while the price seems a little expensive, our stay was made well worth it. Crossing the Tiber river at night to explore Piazza Navona was beautiful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleJeannette122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

In planning my accommodations on this trip, my main concern was that my 3 teenagers were in an area where there were things for them to do and see very close by, so that they could go off on their own if they wanted to. This hotel was perfect for that! Located in Trastevere, which is one of the oldest areas in Rome, there where restaurants, shops, bars, café’s, and just nonstop charm all around us. Every night the streets were filled with people walking around, eating gelato, having dinner, etc. The hotel was just off one of the main streets so it wasn’t affected by the noise.
The hotel itself was charming. Beautiful orange trees (I had to touch them to make sure they were real because they were so perfect!) decorate the main, outside area where they serve breakfast in the morning, and afternoon tea or wine in the early evening. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room slept five comfortable, but the bathrooms (2) were small and there was only one shower. The room we had was on the upper level and the roof was peaked which made my husband feel a bit claustrophobic. There was a bedroom which had a king bed and the full bathroom, and another room which had 3 single beds and a tv area. Although the room wasn’t that big, we really never spend any time in it anyway. There was so much else to do, plus we enjoyed being out in the courtyard under the orange trees.
The hotel was charming and quaint and in a perfect location! Be warned though, It is a little hard to find and hard to maneuver in those tight medieval streets, so our cab driver tried to drop us off around the corner. We were hesitant since we didn’t want to be left with our luggage and not be sure. I suggest you have the exact directions if you plan on taking a cab from the airport. Overall a great hotel that I would definitely recommend, especially if you have teenage children. You cannot beat this location!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My family of 5 stayed at the Hotel for four nights in June of 2010. Our experience was great.
The staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the location because it was not in ancient Rome but still close to all the activity. The beds were typical European, thin firm mattress. Our room had a loft which was difficult to regulate the temperature especially at night ( just needed an extra blanket). The breakfast provided by the hotel was great. I thought the hotel was a little bit pricey when I compared it to other places we stayed in Italy but it was nice to have my whole family in one room and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerfan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The taxi drivers had to use their GPS to find this hotel, but, for us, the search was worth it. While it is not in the center of Rome, it is close enough that walkers can get to most places without difficulty. This is a converted convent that has blended all of the modern conveniences with the charm of the old structures. The shaded courtyard is a perfect place to relax after a hard day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Rome is a beautiful city but very an extremely bustling city busy, noisy twenty-four seven. And, unless you are a seasoned New Yorker returning at the end of the day to this quite, quaint, bed and breakfast was a slice of heaven. The rooms surround an orange grove where are the end of a whirlwind day of sightseeing, people watching, and Rome "madness" one can lounge in the shade to read, to think, or perhaps to sip a nice glass of Italian wine. And, at night there is quite. You can sleep and rejuvenate so you are ready to enter the fray, once again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,551 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing