We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the heart of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Ranked #298 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a wonderful 4 days in Aldrovandi Residence Suites and found it to be an ideal location. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the swimming pool and garden was a great treat in the center of a busy city. The suite was large and well furnished, ours had only one bathroom, which was a bit of an inconvenience given we were a party of 3 adults. The location is great, just a walk across the Borghese Gardens from Piazza de Popolo. The neighbourhood is safe and transport is close by. We found it to be great value for money and would stay again when we visit Rome

Room Tip: Would recommend room overlooking the pool, away from street (tram) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibertucciManuel, Direttore at Aldrovandi Residence City Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest

your words are the best acknowledgment for all our staff and we are glad to know you had a wonderful stay in Roma. See you soon back again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    100
    30
    2
    4
See reviews for
118
107
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great hotel service excellent on most accounts pool cool but fab after a hot day in the sun of Rome. Only 10 mins walk from centre of Rome over all excellent stay. The reception. Team were helpful with advice, the Room Teams very friendly the pool staff ok bar one person who seemed to have a bit of attitude but other than that great in all areas.

Room Tip: All rooms good standard of cleanliness and comfort. Air conditioning made the room cool despite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

THE ACCOMODATION
We stayed for 6 nights in room 202 a senior suit (270 Euro p/n) on the ground floor which has two street facing sides and the bedroom faces the back pool area (although you can only get a glimpse of it). The suite consists of a separate lounge with 2x two seat couch and 1x single seater, tv, dinning table, and a couple of cabinets, a small but very functional kitchen including full sized fridge/freezer, bedroom and bathroom. The lounge and bedroom are very roomy (especially the latter) and very well appointed. The bathroom starkly contrasted as it is small, looks very worn and is outdated with it's shower over bath / shower curtain.

THE GOOD
- every staff member was friendly and helpful
- our suite aptly felt like a 'residence' as it was spacious and comfortable like a home and it didn't feel like a typical hotel
- the included breakfast is served in the annex next to the pool. Great breakfast, nice location.
- although it wasn' hot enough to swim, we lounged by the pool on a couple of days. It's a very nice area to relax.

THE BAD
- the bathroom needs to be renovated and maybe just a shower cubicle instead of bath to give it some extra room
- The inside of the rolled arms on the couches has a wooden edge which is very uncomfortable.
- you can hear the tram and cars but I found it to be just background noise. I'm a light sleeper but had no issues with noise in the night as our bedroom was on the pool side. But this may not be the case for normal smaller rooms located on the road/tram side.

THE VERDICT
We would definitely stay here again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Robster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had already been travelling through Italy for about 2 weeks and during that time stayed at a number of very nice accommodations in Rome, Tuscany and Florence - and now, sadly to say, our travels were coming to an end and this was our last night in Rome before boarding a plane back to Toronto, Canada. We had stayed at a great hotel in the downtown core when we first came to Rome, but because friends of ours had recommended the hotel, had previously stayed at Aldrovandi and were there again at our return to Rome, we stayed in the hotel with them. What a great find - outside of the downtown where we had previously stayed we were introduced to a, quiet and very peaceful location, with very friendly staff, great rooms (especially ours), and did I mention the fantastic outdoor swimming pool.

Although we thought that there was going to be a problem with our room, because of some difficulties the hotel had encountered on a floor, through some significant effort by the manager, we got a room that was incredible - the view, the bed, the living room which had a fully appointed kitchen and the list goes on - it was very special and just what we needed for our last day in Rome and in Italy.

The hospitality at the hotel is first class - from the folks who greet you as you arrive, to the people in dining area, the folks that prepare your room, and of course the very nice gentleman who looked after us at the bar beside the great swimming pool.

The hotel is very quiet and only a short walk to a large park that seems to go on forever and ever. There are lots of great restaurants in the area as well. And, if you still want the hustle and bustle of the downtown, a short cab ride awaits you to downtown Rome - or - take a modern and very quiet trolley that almost comes to the front of the hotel.

Thank you so much Aldrovandi for making our final day and overnight stay in Rome so very memorable.

PS - Just as a side note - ask about the trolley that goes through the city in the evening and you can eat dinner on it - we saw one and it looks really great and would be a wonderful experience for the ride and perhaps even for the food.

Room Tip: Although we had the street side view - looking onto the zoo, probably the rooms on the inside lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our second time visiting Rome and we were looking forward to staying in the Adrovandi again. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Manuel Libertucci, the executive director of the hotel.We were informed that our room was not available because of some issues and repairs needed for a floor of the hotel. Others had been moved into different parts of the hotel but for us there was simply no space. There was a pharmaceutical conference in Rome and all hotels were booked. He did arrange a room for us in a small hotel up the street and even escorted us by taxi to see that we settled comfortably in there. The staff there were very nice and tried hard to make me happy but it was not the hotel I had looked forward to and although I was not angry and understood the situation, my unhappiness and disappointment was very obvious.

Mr. Libertucci assured us that we could use the facilities, pool/bar, and breakfast at the Aldrovandi until he could find us a room there. And that he would contact us as soon as a room could be arranged. He was very professional and kind dealing with my disappointment.

True to his word he phoned us early the next day and was able to give us a lovely room and the staff who remembered us from our previous stay had arranged a bottle of wine and 2 glasses to be waiting for us. ( We were also compensated for the disruption of our booking/stay).

Our stay was wonderful there. The pool was open and the weather was warm and sunny. After being in the tourist areas it was nice to come back and relax there. Our room was spacious (twin studio) and exceptionally clean at all times, as was the entire hotel.

We love the location of this hotel because it is away from the hectic areas and right across from a lovely large park. There are excellent restaurants nearby and easy access either by tram or taxi to the central areas. We prefer walking but did at times take a taxi.

The staff are all very professional and friendly. They try hard to make you feel welcome and comfortable with your stay. Thank you,we appreciate your efforts.

Special thanks to Raffaele for again providing outstanding breakfasts and attention to detail every morning. Special thanks as well to Alessandra and Luigi on the front desk for your warm reception and looking after us.

We hope someday to return to Rome and we will definitely stay here again. I can not imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Because our first visit was for 2 weeks we had a full apartment on the end. This time was shorter so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very nice hotel!!! Good location - not far from city center,
but in a quiet location. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with small kitchen. Everything was excellent, we enjoyed our stay and we hope to visit Rome and this hotel one more time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kudryashka1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here august 2012 during what has to be the hottest summer on record in Rome 40c regularly.
This place was excellent as it had a small but perfectly formed pool which was a godsend! the place itself has bags of character, our room had a mezzanine level where both bedrooms were. beautiful high ceiling and real style. we stayed in a suite which can sleep 4 people so quite good value for money also. It was slightly dark due to not so many windows but not a major problem as we were either in the city or by the pool during the day anyway. beds were really comfy.The staff were amazing. So helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our son had his 11th birthday whilst there and They organised a delicious cake and even went and collected it for us!
there was a decent sized kitchen so you can eat in if you want. Word of warning though the spiral staircase to bedroom made getting the suitcases upstairs interesting though not impossible. Avoid if you have mobility problems.
Whilst this place does not have childrens activities - it is not a 'resort' kind of place - this does not detract in any way they are extremely child friendly.
I would definitely recommend staying here as the pool is such a winner.
Rome is a fantastic city, and we will be back and will try to book here again. a nice quiet area opposite a beautiful park and zoo. take a bike around the park. Or walk through the park and you come out at the spanish steps within 10 -15 mins.

Room Tip: suites are brilliant for family and give you added option of kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#193 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrovandi Residence City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrovandi Residence City Suites

Property: Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Address: Via Ulisse Aldrovandi 11 | Parioli, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldrovandi Residence City Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Aldrovandi Residence City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrovandi Residence Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing