We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hostel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hostel
Ranked #547 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Bergen, Norge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst hostel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Probably the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. My first experience with the hostel was to take the stairs to the 4th (6th in normal terms) floor. You may use the shabby elevator when you get the key, but you actually have to pay everytime you use it. No smiles at all to get from the staff, they just seemed bothered that I disturbed them in their movie time. From 11.30 till 14.30 the hostel has a lock out period and no guests are allowed to stay in the hostel. Never seen anything like it. The hostel has no kitchen, no common area, no information and no air con or fans. Free wifi is the only positive thing I can think of.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    16
    7
    26
See reviews for
4
6
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Right where to start... Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this absolute disgrace of a hostel last week for 3 nights. First of all we couldnt even find the 'hotel' because it is not signed at all, it just looks like any other door in Rome so we were walking around for ages. Once we got there we had to walk up flights and flights of stairs. The 'receptionist' was a clueless creep who didnt know anything and didnt even have a map to give us, didnt know how much we were paying a night and when we asked for good cheap places to eat, told us that we would have to look prices outside the restaurant to see because he didnt know. The office was also in his bedroom where he slept. Once we got to our room, we were horrified. The toliets stank, something to do with the pipes, if you care about hygiene whatsoever do not even think about going to this place. The bunkbeds were about to collapse. Absolutely no security, the lockers could have been kicked open, was a joke. On the last night my boyfriend was very sick, no doubt because he caught something. I have no idea how this hostel was recommended in my travel guide. Worst place we have ever stayed in, really ruined Rome for us. Would never recommend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2001Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The only advice I can give you is to find somewhere else to stay, anywhere else!!!
The place was hot, unhygienic, very cramped and the staff weren't very helpful. The worst part though is that it is riddled with bed bugs. I was bitten from head to toe and ended up checking out at 3am because I couldn't handle staying there a minute longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Effiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I'm an italian girl from Milan, it ha been a terrible experience...I stayed there just for a night, and it was enough. If you are. person who minimally care about hygene, that's the worst place where you can go. It's dirty, especially th bathroom and most of all the floor, I think it was months that a droom didn't touch it. The only thing that you can do there is stay far away the longer you can.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenapedrazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Worst place I have ever been:
Lift in darkness and usually out of order.
Room shared with 2 homeless arab men over 50.
Saw prostitutes and police men on duty in the building.
Dirty and uncomfortable beds and toilet.
Sb tried to open our suitcases twice in less than 24 hours.
We booked 4 nights in Easter (45€ per night per person+2€ tax) and only stayed there 1 taking the risk of not finding any accomodation. We lost our money but we are alive.If you go,do us a favour and knock the building down.

Staff was unable to explain the lack of security and the reason why we were sleeping with elderly people since they make it clear that people under 13 or over 40 were not accepted... please don't repeat my mistake of choosing that place without reading customer's opinions first.

Room Tip: After the unpleasant Sandy experience we founnd Hotel Canova(25 meters away). The stay there was sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soroax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Pros- Better than sleeping in airport or a subway station. Friendly owners.

CONS-
1. I searched it for over two hours (Put a Sign up you morons, how would a person who has never been to Rome gonna find your hostel?) Even inside the building, no signs and dark.

2.No facilities whatsoever, nothing at all, not even a charging plug in the room. Not to mention everything is super tiny. No laundry, kitchen nothing.

3. Forget whatever you think a hostel looks like (specially if you are from US). Its stinky,dark, wet rat hole.

Room Tip: All crappy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Poorly signposted leading me to walk straight past it!! Very annoying trek up a million steps to reach the hostel itself. The hostel owner was quite rude and was very insistent on being paid as soon as I arrived. Breakfast wasn't included and there were no facilities for self catering or a common area for meeting fellow travellers. The hostel owner was very sharp with male travellers but worryingly overfriendly with female travellers on the verge of becoming quite sleazy. If you want to stay in a friendly atmosphere and have the opportunity to meet fellow travellers, then this hostel is definitely NOT for you!! The price is definitely not worth it either.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#215 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Monti
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
Mia Lodge B&B & Hostel
#494 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#158 of 1,067 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hostel

Property: Sandy Hostel
Address: Via Cavour 136, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing