We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Rome Hotel”
Review of Hotel Pomezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pomezia
Ranked #980 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Rome Hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Pomezia for 6 nights over June/July this year and it was excellent. Fabulous location, very helpful staff, good breakfast (my children loved the cream doughnuts) and an overall great experience. We could walk everywhere from the Hotel and some of the restaurants nearby are fantastic, particularly the 'forno' in the same street and Trattoria Moderna around the corner. I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay when you are in Rome. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose a room that overlooks the street as you can open the shutters in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    110
    90
    39
    49
See reviews for
74
111
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here two nights. I did use their car service to get from airport to hotel. Equivilant price as the train plus bus to hotel. The driver was waiting for us and helped with our bags. He was friendly. Check in was efficient and staff was pleasant. They provided a good map of city for sightseeing. The room was small but this is Europe so it met our expectations. Breakfast was traditional including cereal, croissants, bread, juice and coffee. Enough to get you started for the day. Wifi only worked in the lobby. Not an issue for us. The location of the hotel is great for seeing all the sights. you can walk to everything within 15 minutes. There is also a bus stop nearby if needed. Some street noise can be heard if room is facing the street.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had quite an experience at this hotel, and not of the good kind.

We booked two rooms, one for us and one for our disabled friend who we were taking for his first trip to Italy. When making the booking, we were told that there was a

ground floor room for our friend who is a wheelchair user. On our way to the hotel we called the hotel to confirm we were on our way and the hotel receptionist said

that we were on the 1st Floor. This was a big problem because our friend could not walk. Eventually they said that they would help lift our friend to the room. Not ideal but we accepted this.

On arrival, the hotel receptionist said he had not spoken to us at all that evening and that no phone calls have been made. My partner insisted we had called, and actually called the hotel again whilst we were in the lobby, the phone rang and the man then arrogantly told us it must have been his colleague.

All the while his tone and treatment towards us was rude and unfriendly. In the end I had to say to him that I was really upset with our treatment and the man started shouting at me. I couldn't believe it. The incident ended up with him telling me he wasn't going to talk to me anymore and he put his earphones in and watched something on his laptop whilst ignoring me.

My friend of 60 years old has cerebral palsy and the commotion caused a great deal of distress and he was shaking with anxiety. I felt bad for him mostly in all of this.

The final nail in the coffin for us was the next morning when we found out that the manager had been informed of the situation (man with a beard) and instead of coming

and apologising to us about what happened he simply said to my partner who speaks Italian, "You can't leave a bad review for this hotel, sometimes these things can happen". That's it, no apology, nothing.

Food was ok, room was ok, nothing special. Customer service is the prize for this hotel, and prize winning for 'worst in Rome'.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chon199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want a budget hotel in the heart of Rome, this is your place. You can walk to all the major destinations if you are fit. The hotel itself is nothing special, but it is in a charming, little street, close to Campo dei Fiori, the rooms are decent, the staff friendly if you behave in a friendly way and you got free Wi-Fi that unfortunately does not reach most of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornelia942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We booked hotel pomezia for 7 nights having never been to Rome before, but wanting somewhere central and affordable. The hotel is in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere (colosseum, Vatican, borghese, trevi fountain, piazza navona etc) in under 40 minutes and the air conditioning was incredibly welcome after the June sun! Breakfasts were fairly basic (bread, croissant, cereal and a variety of spreads, with coffee and juice) but there are bakeries and supermarkets very close if you want something different. The piazza fiore is a few minutes walk away with lots of different restaurants to choose from in the evenings, and a great local market during the day. There are also local bars and gelatarias within a couple minutes walk, although we preferred to go further out for meals and drinks.
We stayed on the first floor, at the back of the hotel and were not bothered by noise at all. The room was cleaned every day and the bed was comfortable. The shower was decent and there are some basic complimentary toiletries, which was a nice touch.
The owners were friendly and we were able to store our bags all day after checking out at 11am on our last day with no problems, and they booked transport to the airport for us.
The hotel stays open until 12-1am, after this time you have to buzz to be let in, but this always happened quickly.
The only down points were not having a safe and no fridge in the room, even though the booking confirmation said there would be, but these were very minor problems!
Overall, a great hotel if you want a base for exploring Rome, reasonably priced and within walking distance of all the main sights and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Dirty. Dirty and definitely not refurbished. We were unfortunate enough to book a double room but were presented with room 27. Having stayed in various 2* hotels Italy I didn't expect the Ritz. I did expect something bordering on acceptable. On arrival it was clear the website pictures were a generation old, despite claims to renovation. The room was as tiny as expected but was filthy. Walls were covered in marks and stains. The double was of course two single beds. The shower cubicle door was missing and replaced by a mouldy shower curtain and black tape. The balcony was covered in cigarette ash. And of course the floor had various human hairs scattered around. Despite advertising air conditioning (necessary given the 29 degree heat and window onto enclosed courtyard) we were informed it only worked from June onwards. Fair enough, but a helpful attitude rather than dismissive annoyance would help. The tv had poor reception for 3 channels and no reception for many more. When we ventured back in after a wander to try and escape the bad mood brought about by the room, we made the mistake of walking bare foot on the floor, only to notice our feet turn black. Having been told it was too late for the room to be cleaned I went on hands and knees with a pack of wet wipes and was disgusted....there was no doubt the place hadn't been vacuumed or mopped for weeks. Breakfast was below average. Machine coffee and juice, with an assortment of stale odds and ends. We didn't get an apology and couldn't get another room in the hotel or even go elsewhere (we'd have charged for the dump). Oh and the wifi only works at reception....so another lie. So....there may indeed be average rooms here but there are certainly awful ones and non existent cleaning standards. Save yourself the lottery and go elsewhere....every time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Doddsy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPomezia, Proprietario at Hotel Pomezia, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Utente di Tripadvisor,

grazie per aver perso tempo a recensire la struttura che gestisco. Anche le critiche peggiori ci servono per migliorare i servizi che offriamo. Mi dispiace che la condizione e la pulizia delle camera non siano state affatto di suo gradimento. Non mentiamo in quanto alla prima, le camere rispecchiano le foto del sito internet. In quanto alla seconda, invece, è uno degli aspetti a cui teniamo di più e la situazione che descrive mi sembra esagerata. Purtroppo, essendo un due stelle, abbiamo le cameriere a disposizione solo la mattina e non abbiamo potuta accontentarla per un'ulteriore pulizia. Allo stesso modo, le altre camere erano occupate e non abbiamo potuto spostarla. Ci mettiamo sempre molto impegno nel lavoro che facciamo e anche in questo caso abbiamo dato il massimo. Perciò mi dispiace e trovo fuori luogo sentire che è stato trattato come spazzatura e non è potuto andare da nessun altra parte pur volendolo. Sono convinto che gli altri utenti di Tripadvisor sapranno capire con assoluta certezza che la sua è una frase fuori luogo e contraddittoria in termini e sapranno trarre i giusti consigli. Solo così Tripadvisor avrà reso la sua utilità agli utenti della rete.

Distinti Saluti,

Maurizio Mariani
Hotel Pomezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Pomezia as part of a history trip with my college at the end of February. The location is excellent! Many of the major sites, such as the Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum were within ten minutes walking distance. The hotel is down a traditional Italian street which was simply beautiful. It also was just down the alley from the Campo di'Fiora, another beautiful site. Our room itself was relevantly clean with the maids making the beds and cleaning every day. The room, however, was quite small for four of us sharing the room and there was not a huge amount of space for your clothing. The bathroom was on the small side but we managed. The hotel staff were very friendly, always saying 'hello' when we passed by. The breakfast was good with a variety of things to choose from.
Overall, it was a pretty good room in an excellent location. Very friendly staff and a great place for people who want to be in the centre of historic Rome and don't want to spend too much.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room looking out onto the street outside the hotel. The view we had of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloverjess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Arenula
Hotel Arenula
#685 of 1,259 in Rome
426 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#432 of 1,259 in Rome
244 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#855 of 1,259 in Rome
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#613 of 1,259 in Rome
480 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Migdal Palace
Migdal Palace
#748 of 1,259 in Rome
73 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#481 of 1,259 in Rome
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pomezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pomezia

Property: Hotel Pomezia
Address: Via Dei Chiavari 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #980 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pomezia 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to find an affordable Rome hotel, look no further because the Hotel Pomezia is located right in the heart of Rome's historic center within walking distance of almost all the landmarks that attract most people to this ancient city.Make Piazza Venezia Square your starting point and enjoy an afternoon open-air history lesson by visiting sites such as the Colosseum, the (motion) picture-perfect Piazza Navona, the fresh fruit and vegetable market at Campo de' Fiori, the mysterious aura of the Pantheon and of course guests won't to miss out on the magnificent art work located in Vatican City.The most important sites as Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, are just at ten minutes walk distance and you may enjoy your favourite Italian dishes in the most popular restaurants around.The Hotel Pomezia of Eredi Mariani Sergio was founded in the year 1925 and nowdays is run by the Marianis (a family of twins).Between Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona, this roman traditional structure is composed of three floors with all the rooms completely refurbished, decorated in an elegant style, with wide old style windows. Hotel Pomezia is surrounded by a very quiet and warm atmosphere, and it would be an ideal, convenient and very exciting place to stay.All the rooms have private toilet, shower, telephone, TV, air conditioning, capboard, table, chair, window, heater, and free wifi in common spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pomezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomezia Hotel Rome
Pomezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing