We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel, amazing location and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #367 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Last month we had the pleasure to spend 4 memorable nights at Residenza di Ripetta. It is located very central and therefore it's easy to get to all the main attractions Rome has to offer rather quick. The room was very spacious, quiet and featured with everything you possibly need to enjoy your stay. It is also thanks to all the helpful staff and the great service provided that our stay was over expectations. I can highly suggest this classy place and will for sure come back to Residenza di Ripetta for my next stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear guest,

It was our pleasure to have you here in Residenza di Ripetta and we hope you will soon come back. To be over guests expectations is the most desirable compliment we can wish for, thank you!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Residenza di Ripetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We loved this hotel, the location was excellent! Our room was absolutely clean confortable and quiet. Breakfast was very enjoyable, all staff were very friendly and super helpful. The garden was beautiful, WONDERFUL view from the roof!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sempreinpiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for choosing Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome and thank you for your kind words. Come back soon and we will be as much delighted to have you here than we were during your last visit!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We booked a two bedroom for one week. We were not in the room that we confirmed, and the desk said that it "wasn't possible" for them to move us, even though we made the request daily. The second bedroom was actually a loft with no window, circulation, TV or closet. The furniture and carpet was worn, and there was mold on the caulk in the bathroom.

The common rooms however, were lovely. The breakfast room is charming and the food was great. The hotel overall was very clean and the staff, with the exception of the front desk, were very accommodating and friendly The front desk staff just kept telling us that they couldn't do anything about our room. I wrote two emails upon our return; one to the GM and one to the Sales Manager and I didn't hear from anyone, even though I asked them to respond to my complaint. So, not responsive on-site or post-stay. Wouldn't choose this property again, given all the options in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopstick224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear guest,

we are sorry to hear you didn't like the room you were assigned to, but it sounds unusual you didn't have the room type booked. Furthermore it is very common we extend upgrades to our guests, and never downgrades. As well it results unlikely to believe that you have been told it was not possible to change room in a whole week. We always take in consideration guests discomforts and always do our best to solve any problem during the stay. Much more we confirm that no e-mails were received either by the Gm or by our Sales Manager concerning your complaint. Service is our first aim and we surely would have promptly responded.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a few nights in Rome prior to our cruise and chose this hotel based upon Expedia reviews. It was just ok. Now keep in mind that this was my first trip to Italy so in all fairness, I don't know how it compares to other Italian or European hotels. I am rating based upon my typical expectations. For the price, I anticipated better. The staff was a bit dry, room very dated and the breakfast buffet is worth skipping...we did. It's in a great area to walk to various sites. We felt safe at all times. If you want a safe place to lay your head at night, this will do. If you are looking for any type of 4-5 star accommodations, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready2go_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear guest,

we are sorry if Residenza di Ripetta didn't keep up with your expectations. Our staff is always friendly helpful with our guests so we regret to hear you didn't feel our warmth and our best intentions in satisfying every customer need.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our split level room had a sitting area, dining table & cooking facilities downstairs with spacious bedroom & bathroom above. Room had no view but was quiet &very comfortable. Roof terrace out of use while we were there which was unfortunate. Location great with excellent Restautants on the same street. Front desk staff excellent giving helpful advice in a very friendly manner. Helped us organise a trip to the to see Usian Bolt run at the Stadio Olimpico. Great night & travel by tram simple & cheap within easy reach from the hotel. May return for another sporting event. Gave a very comfortable base for a busy but rewarding trip to a magnificent city.

Room Tip: Split level room excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiP446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear guest,

we kindly thank you for your comment and we are glad you had a pleasant experience at Residenza di Ripetta. Our beautiful terrace, overlooking the roofs of the city centre, was closed for a few days for redecorating. It was a pity you did not get the chance to enjoy it, so we invite you to come back soon!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here late May, beginning of June this year and were not very impressed by this apparently 4* hotel. The reception area and restaurant were very nice, and had a welcoming and clean feel to them more in line with a 4*. However, the rooms did not reflect this. I would agree with comments below on the rooms being dated and needing a revamp. We had a room with a large stain on the carpet as you entered, which wasn’t the best welcome! Also I contacted the hotel in advance to tell them it was our anniversary that we were coming to celebrate hoping that they would make some special arrangements for us i.e. little touches, and nothing was done which was a bit of a disappointment as those things can really make your stay.

As mentioned in other reviews they do not provide you with an iron, which was a shock for us as we have never been told that before and have stayed in many hotels all over Europe. As I had dresses and my husband had shirts we had no choice but to use the ironing service they offered, which is obviously a ploy to make money out of another service.

Stephano on the desk gave us a leaflet for trips around Rome on the day we entered, and said that he really recommends this particular company (obviously as he gets commission). So we had a look through the leaflet and decided upon the Colloseum tour with Palentine Hill and roman forum included, this was roughly 55 euro’s each. When we went to book this with the desk Stephano was busy with another guest, we stood waiting for him for a while, and as he didn’t’ even acknowledge we were there even though his colleague made it clear we were there for him, we decided to go elsewhere to buy tickets. Outside the Colloseum we got exactly the same tour that Stephano was offering for £25 euro’s each!! Do not buy the tours they try and sell you at the desk, they are a rip off!

Breakfast was fine, nothing special but no complaints, the cappuccino’s were amazing! Also on a positive note, location wise the hotel is in a good spot and we managed to walk everywhere without the need to use public transport.

So to sum this hotel up, it was not worth the money we paid, and we will not be returning in a hurry!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidayHunter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear guest,

we are deeply sorry to hear such disappointment from one of our valued guests. Regarding the ironing matter, we have to confirm that the very restricted Italian fire laws do not allow the use of electric items that can generate fire in the rooms and the pressing service is provided to offer a service to the guest.

We are always willing to satisfy all our customers needs and we can surely affirm that nothing such rip offs are ever part of our way of treating guests. We are sure that our staff did not ignore you on purpose, we believe that you may have cought them in a very busy moment, maybe during the rush hour at our front desk. Furthermore we wish to inform you that the tour leaflet proposed to you does have, as of course you noted, the cost clearly divided as follows: Euro 24,50 (that is the cost of the priority entrance ticket + guide service) + Euro 27.50 (that is the cost of the 2 way transportation service from and to the hotel + VAT). The reason why we suggest this particular Tour Operator is because of their reliability and quality offered , different from the ones, sometimes not legally authorized, that stand in front of the major spots.

Our entire staff would love to have a second chance to prove you the value of our hotel and employees, so please do not hesitate to contact us directly to arrange your next stay in Rome.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Residenza di Ripetta from 5th June to 8th June 2012. The check-in was ok, we asked for a room with a good view and were told that we were getting one of their best views and it will be quiet. Evertyhing looked ok, however was downhill from there onwards.

The room we got was very dated, the view was a wall opposite. It was noisy, dirty ceilings and had mould growing all around the air conditioning unit and near the door. There was a gap in the window when closed and therefore it was very, very noisy - we did not get one good night sleep.

The breakfast had little choice and the same thing was on the menu each day. There was not enough staff to replenish stock, even just the simple things like keeping the orange juice topped up seemed to much. The staff were over worked and did not have time to do all that was needed.

There was no free wifi or internet acces. Most annoyingly, THIS HOTEL DOES NOT LEND IRONS TO ANY GUESTS citing 'safety reasons'; This is a joke and something I have never heard of in any other hotel accross the world.

The only way to iron your clothes is to use the hotel laundry service which has a long list of disclaimers, most noticibabely if your item is lost by them, then they are only liable up to five times the cost of the ironing. So if they lost my £299 Armani jacket, they would only cover the cost of 8 Euro for ironing x 5 = circa £40. Obviously, I did use this service, even more dampening our experience in this hotel as I had to accept to walk around in creased clothes.

My advice to you all in GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Dont ignore the warning signs. This is not good value-for-money at all.

Room Tip: Dont bother wasting your money here, if you want to enjoy Rome, go somewehere else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gurdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear guest,

we are deeply sorry to hear your experience with us was not pleasantly enjoyable for you. The room type booked wa properly allocated and honestly we are surprised you are reporting noise troubles, being your room not facing the main street.
Regarding the breakfast menu, for wich our Chef selected a varied choice of high quality food, it is of course pretty much the same day to day. Some changes are made according to seasonal fresh products during the year time.
An internet wi- fi connection is provided by high speed broadband, this is the reason why it is subject to a little charge.
The fact we do not provide irons it is not due to an internal hotel policy but it is dictated by a government law (D.M. 9/04/1994) that commands the full respect of Fire Prevention indications.
Regarding the refund policy of our Laundry Service, we confirm it is corresponding to the ones normally applied by all laundries. Furthermore we are sorry you decided not to trust our staff in ironing your clothes because it is our first policy to always take good care of our guests and their belongings.
We thank you anyways for taking your time to write this comment, that we will surely take in consideration to keep improving our services.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#264 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#299 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#153 of 1,267 in Rome
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £118 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing