We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the heart of the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #338 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Dover, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An oasis in the heart of the city!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of historic Rome with easy walking access to most historic sites and many restaurants. The rooms are spacious (not typical in Rome) with large closets and large bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, and the breakfast room is beautifully decorated. The hotel's best feature is the large inner courtyard, again a rarity in Rome. It is furnished with comfortable wicker furniture, pergolas, an outdoor bar, and tables and chairs. It is lovely having breakfast outdoors in nice weather. There is also a rooftop area for lounging and viewing the Roman rooftops. The staff is gracious and helpful. The only negative I found is that there is a charge for internet use. Most hotels nowadays are providing free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have been renovated, and they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear guest,

we are deeply delighted to read your postive comments reguarding our hotel and the dedication of our staff. The wifi connection we provide is a very updated and fast one, this the reason of the small charge. It will be a pleasure to have you back here soon!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    231
    83
    35
    27
See reviews for
183
251
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We ended our Italian vacation with 4 nights in Rome at the Residenza di Ripetta. The location of the hotel is great, close to transit, shopping, lots of restaurants and attractions. The room itself was spacious and clean – except for the bathroom (shower head, curtain and cleanliness of the shower) and mildew in the A/C units. We brought this to the attention of the front desk staff and they tried their best to fix the problems we had as they arose and they were very attentive. The problems were never fully remedied, but you just can’t fix “old”.

Even though it was clean - the furnishings, carpeting and walls are very dated which made the room seem dingy. The rooms definitely need to be renovated. The common areas were lovely, the breakfasts were great and the garden patio was very nice.

This is the only accommodation during a 3 week trip where we had to pay for Wi-Fi – in this day in age, this should be standard in all hotels –especially a 4 star.

Overall our stay was good, but I don’t know if I would stay here again unless the hotel updated their rooms. It seems a lot of little details were overlooked in the care of the guest rooms and unfortunately it’s the little details that people remember.

For some dining recommendations around this area and other things to do in Rome, contact me through www.salamandertravel.ca

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSalamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear guest,

we are glad you had a pleasant experience at Residenza di Ripetta and could take advantage of strategic central location of our hotel. Our hotel is continously improving its rooms and common areas, this is the reason why some rooms are at the moment "just renovated" and some are still being taken care of. As for the cost of the internet connection, we have to specify that there is a little cost because we provide a High Speed Broadband tath also aloow the guests to use the connection from flat tv screen in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nothing from check in to check out it was terrible rooms are dirty nothing like pictures the manager did try to please at start we cut our stay in Rome because we could stand hotel any further they refused to refund money hotel should be closed spoils Rome

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ntowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest, we are sorry you had the impression that the room was not clean, which we assure it was. The photos on our website correspond to the room cathegories shown, also showing the difference between "Executive" and "Royal" type. We are more than sure that our staff offered you the opportunity to see other rooms when you mentioned your dislike. If you decided to leave the hotel, having booked a non refundable rate, without giving us the chance to let you have a room that you may like more, there is nothing our staff can do about the payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this marvelous hotel a couple of weeks ago for 4 days and we definitely made the best choice.
The hotel is located in the city center, a couple of steps away from Piazza del Popolo and Piazza di Spagna. The area is very well served by public transportation day and night.
We arrived early in the morning and we received a very warm welcome from Giovanna, the receptionist, a really kind e smiling girl who made her best to find a room ready for us.
We have been accommodate into a Royal Double room... it was so big and cleaned, almost shining, very well equipped with LED TV, minibar, safety box… and the bed was so comfortable!
The last day we met our room maid and we congratulated her for the great job and attention to details.
Mornings we enjoyed the rich continental breakfast, with a huge buffet superbly prepared! All the restaurant staff was very kind and patience, always ready to satisfy our requests.
The last night we had an amazing candlelight dinner in the Garden with a romantic and relaxing atmosphere… and enjoying fabulous Italian food and wine!
I’d really like to suggest this hotel to everyone because we experienced a memorable stay… we received a luxury service, we really felt cared for and valued and all the staff exceeded our expectation!
Residenza di Ripetta will be our first choice in the next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your wonderful words regarding our hotel, our staff and our service. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again as valued guest of our hotel and our Restaurant.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This great hotel is just in a perfect location to manage yourself around Rome. It has a metro station nearby, you can catch the sightseeing bus also nearby, it is parallel to the principal shopping street (Via Di Corso), has a lot of nice restaurants all around, including the hotel's restaurant. Includes an excellent breakfast, beautiful rooms and VERY nice people to help you since the first moment you step in!!!! You feel it is your home at Rome. I highly recommend this hotel, and I myself will stay here again when I return to Rome someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imch63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,

it is a real pleasure for us to read you considered our hotel as your "home" in Rome. This is the best compliment we can hope for, as all our efforts have the only intent to please our guests and to make them feel at ease and at home.

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

While the location of the hotel is amazing, the hotel amenities are terrible.
They could not give us a coffee maker in the room, citing some Italian law, while we had coffee maker in every hotel we stayed in Italy, including Milan, Venice, Florence, and another hotel in Rome.
But they were willing to 'try' to get me a coffee maker for 15 euros/day!

We learnt that we had to pay extra money to get ANY channel on TV - never heard of that anywhere in the WORLD!!
We were supposedly in the 'executive suite' - where a couple of lights were not working, the shower door was broken & hanging out, and there was no place to even keep the soap or shampoo - I had to open the broken shower door every time I needed the soap!

We found another hotel in Rome, and left the next day morning - I had to plead with the manager for them to waive my hotel charges for the nights I did not stay, citing their cancellation policy.
I am not even going to mention how terrible their carpet was!
They need to shut the place down, complete their renovations, and then open the hotel. AND change their BLASTED hotel policies!!

While this may be 'okay' for hotel in big cities, it is not OK to be like this when they charge 300 Euros a night.
I am NEVER going back there again!!

Overall, Terrible hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpugazhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Mr M.M.,

Believe me it is really embarrassing to read what you wrote after all the assistance provided to you during your brief stay. You know in your conscience that what you wrote absolutely does not correspond to reality. The manager you met gave you full availability to ensure you a good stay, showing three other rooms trying to meet your needs and wishes and he was very flexible with you. At the end of all he said to you "Sir, the most important thing is that you spend a pleasant stay in Rome, so if you are not happy with us and if you want to leave the hotel tomorrow be sure that for us is not a problem although we are sorry." Why did you write that you had to plead while from the first moment we were flexible and helpful with you? This is not honest. The inaccuracies that you mention are not corresponding to reality, it is true that you can not use the coffee maker in the rooms for security reasons but , as you were told and as we do with every guest, in order to compensate this the room service on request brings hot water to the guest rooms free of charge. The cost of 15.00 Euro that you mentioned it is applicable only if guests would like to have the kitchen sets in case they want to prepare some small food using the kitchenette provided in the room. It is absolutely not true that you have to pay to watch TV channels! Our TV system does offer 46 national and international satellite channels at no charge. In addition to that there is a Pay per View service with a wide selection of movies, as we believe most hotels around the world.


Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have been at Residenza Ripetta with my wife a few days for celebrating our anniversary!
The room was nice an comfortable. We found a complimentary bottle of "prosecco" from the hotel staff!!! What a treat!
The staff was wonderful. We didn't experience any major problems, but they have been extremely helpful for each of our request!
I definitively recommend this place for romantic getaway!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing Residenza di Ripetta as the special place to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It's our pleasure to sometimes spoil our guests, particularly in their special occasions!

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#256 of 1,258 in Rome
975 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#156 of 1,258 in Rome
1,545 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#309 of 1,258 in Rome
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#648 of 1,258 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#182 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing