We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenza di Ripetta
Nearby Hotels
US$342
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$392
US$306
Capo d'Africa
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$392
US$307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$278
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$1,132
US$801
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,230
US$1,172
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,590
US$847
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
269
247
93
37
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
247
93
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsformer conventcentral courtyardwithin walking distanceliving roomsitting areabreakfast was excellentfront desk staffthe staff was friendly and helpfuli highly recommend this hotelyogurtroom was largelocation was perfecttrevi fountainmajor attractionscentral rometrip to rome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel June 2013, family of three. Upon arrival, we were informed that we had been upgraded to the royal suite which was complimentary. It was two levels with two flights of stairs which was a bit of an inconvenience with so much luggage and the rooms were very dark. Besides this, the artwork was lovely as was the furniture. we found the courtyard bar area very relaxing after a full day of sightseeing. Wifi was free in public areas and was lo available in room for a fee. The staff were fantastic. Check in and out was quick and easy. I left three pairs of shoes here and it was no trouble or the staff to post them on to me to Denmark.
Good location also.

Room Tip: If problem with stairs make sure you advise staff when booking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest,

please allow us to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your Roman Holiday and for sharing your comments on the Tripadvisor website.

We are happy to read that you have appreciated the efforts of our staff, not only during your stay, but also by assisting you with the forgotten items.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rome.

Truly yours,

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June. I stayed a couple of nights. I took 2 rooms. I had a suite and an ordinary room. They were both identical but the hotel insisted that they were different. The beds are very uncomfortable especially the pull out sofa. The air conditioning did not work at all. When I complained, they brought me a fan. The room is big and the bathroom is decent. We had a kitchenette but had to pay an additional amount to use it. There is no microwave. Wish they had that instead of the hot plate.

The breakfast was decent. The other meals were ok but their pasta is very tough. Not something that I am used to. Even when i asked them to cook it longer, they brought it same.

The service is ordinary. The restaurant across the street is the best food I had in my 15 day trip to Italy.

The best thing about the hotel is location. Its inside the ZTL ( remember if you are driving to the hotel) Everything is walking distance.

Overall, will not complain because i was out the whole day.

Room Tip: Mine was on the second floor. It was quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YamaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Guest,
we wish to thank you for having shared your comments about our Residenza di Ripetta on the Tripadvisor website. We are very sorry to learn that you did not sleep confortably, though we are pretty sure that if you had asked the reception, we would have done our best to satisfy your needs, showing you a different room.
We are pleased to inform you that we have just finished an upgrade of all air conditioning system, both in all suites, and in the common areas.
Since almost all our suites have a kitchenette, with an electric hob, we do not provide microwaves and after a check, we shall inform you that in all our rooms there is a card advising our Guests, that we provide full kitchenette equipments, upon payment of a small amount.
We invite you to return to our Residenza di Ripetta as our valued Guests.
Yours sincerely,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times now, mainly because we like apartment hotel rooms and the location is excellent for walking in Rome, but the new renovations, while very necessary, strike a dull note. The inner courtyard has been extensively clad with horrible plastic leaves and the rooms are so over-furnished that there is no room to move or open your bags except on the bed. Our room (for two people) had five tables, and every spare square foot of carpet that was not a necessary corridor had something on it, creating an obstacle course and looking very cluttered. The rooms which look onto the wall of the property next door even have plastic leaves over the windows so that those rooms are in almost total darkness during the day and the one we saw had four lights not working. Perhaps the problem is compounded by the fact that the naming of the types of rooms gives rise to inflated expectations - after all, what would you expect of a Royal Junior Suite? And when you are told there is free wi-fi, you don't expect it to be only free in the public areas, but 5 euro/hour in the room! And so slow that it takes 25 minutes to load the daily paper (speed was measured at 0.24kbs!)
That said, the staff here are excellent, responding to requests quickly and happily, especially the butler, and the breakfast is very good for a hotel and was included in our rate, which was reasonable for such a centrally located hotel in Rome. The car parking garage is very close and quite good also. Just be aware that the rooms are all different, some are very small and dark, some are a good size and all are over-furnished. And the wi-fi is not free, and excruciatingly slow. Note to management: a smart idea would be to upgrade the wi-fi and include it in the price of the room - to travellers today, good wi-fi is as necessary as towels in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room at check-in
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,
we wish to thank you for the time spent writing this review.
We were happy to learn that you have appreciated the skills and the professionality of our staff, as well as our central location.
We are pretty sure that on our website it is clearly written that we offer the free internet connection in the common areas only, but of course we appreciate your suggestions, which are always useful to improve our performances.
As far as our rooms and our internal garden are concerned, of course, the taste is a subjective thing; in our experience, most of our Guests have liked our furniture and our decoration.
We are very pleased to inform you that we have just finished a very important renovation of all suites and common areas, therefore we would be really delighted to have the chance to welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta, as our valued Guest.
Truly yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We paid approximately 400 euros per night for a royal suite that looked nothing like what is shown on the website. We were first in room 301 which had two floors which would not work for our family. Very dark and the extra bed for my son was placed against the air conditioning unit. Franco moved us to room 307 which was large and on one level but still did not come close to the photos online of their royal suite. It would seem that some rooms are renovated and others are not and both rooms we were given were not. If they were, then perhaps a new designer should be chosen. Mold on the air conditioning units and scuffs on the walls. Trip advisor shows coffee makers for this hotel, but we had to pay 15 euros for an electric kettle for hot water and coffee service that was never replenished. Nor were the cups I used ever cleaned or replaced with fresh. We stayed at this hotel partly because of the kitchenette since we were traveling with a child in the hopes of being able to make him some simple things for snacks but unfortunately there was no cookware or dishes in the cabinets. The wifi is spotty even if purchased. We had to sit in the bar area in order to use our devices even with the purchased wifi. Staff was attentive enough. Being my first trip to Rome and having spent months planning this trip, I was sorely disappointed with this hotel. Like other reviewers, rather than ruin our trip, we accepted what we were given, but I will be looking at other hotels on our next visit to Italy. Thankfully our hotel in Positano lived up to its advertising and made up for the disappointment I felt with the Ripetta.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riley7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to learn that your experience at the Residenza di Ripetta did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to explain that, being the hotel in an historical building, every room is different from the others and if the suite shown on the website is not available during your stay, we do our best to assign a similar room within the category you have reserved. Rooms 301 and 307 are completely renovated and we are pretty sure that if you had warned our front desk, they would have promptly asked the Housekeeping to make a deeper cleaning.
In every suite there is a card advising about the cost and the conditions of the use of our kitchenettes and the full kits are on request.

We are pleased to inform you that we are planning an upgrade of the wi-fi system, therefore we invite you to return to Rome as our valued Guests.

Truly Yours,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent a week in Rome in early June.

Staff is extremely friendly and doing everything they can to make you feel at home. Concierge (a really great guy who's name I unfortunately have forgotten) arranged us a private Finnish guide to Vatican so we did not need to wait in the line (it was a really hot and sunny day).

Location is perfect, practically everything you want to see in the old Rome is close and within walking distance.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome who wants to feel very welcome and not spend a fortune for something you will never get.

Breakfast was good, not as much to choose from than on some other hotels, but it was perfect for us. We did not use the restaurant so much, but food was really good (especially thru room service on our late arrival).

Big thanks to the staff at Residenza di Ripetta!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior executive suite which had a lot of space for the 3 of us. The room also had a mini kitchen and you can get a kitchen set for little extra cost for your entire stay if you want to cook something yourself.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virjonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the preference given to our Residenza di Ripetta and thank you also for the time spent writing this comment.

We are very glad to learn that you have appreciated the service and the skills of our Concierge staff, in organizing last minute professional services. We hope to have the fortune of welcoming you back to Rome, as our valued guests and let you try our restaurant as well.

Sincerely yours,

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews