We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #317 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our 4 night stay at this hotel was such a treat. Like many other reviewers, we were given a room upgrade which provided more space than our previous two hotel rooms combined, and then some. The location is fantastic, as it is within walking distance of many sights but also close to the bus stop (#117 straight to the Colosseum) and metro (to Ottavio for Vatican City), both of which are quick and convenient trips. Breakfast in the courtyard was fantastic and quite a spread, including hot items (eggs, bacon, sausages) in addition to the standard but delicious cold items. Wait staff was very friendly and the fresh cappuccinos were a delight each morning. Front desk staff members were all very friendly and helpful and provided directions, taxi reservations, and advice (we saved quite a bit of money by not purchasing a Roma Pass because of sage advice from the front desk). My only recommendations: make the TV easier to operate for basic tv-watching; provide free wifi from the rooms and not just in the public courtyard/lobby. We hope to be able to stay here again one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanV818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having shared your experience on the Tripadvisor website. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our centrally, but silent location and all features offered by our Residenza di Ripetta.
Our staff has a huge knowledge of Rome and what it offers to the foreigners and is well trained to assist our Guests and suggest the best way to enjoy the Eternal City.
We are glad to inform you that we are planning an upgrade of the TV and wi-fi systems.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    226
    83
    34
    27
See reviews for
179
247
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from six nights at this hotel to celebrate his birthday . I cannot express enough what a wonderful stay we had there , made even more special by the exceptional hotel staff , especially those that worked on the reception desk . They really were outstanding and could not do enough to help us and make our stay special . Thank you . The hotel itself is beautiful , like a little oasis in the centre of Rome . All of the main sights are within walking distance , and we certainly did plenty of that ! It was a pleasure each day to return 'home' . Each morning we enjoyed lovely breakfasts in the beautiful inner courtyard of what once was a convent , it was so peaceful and tranquil , and the service by the impeccable waiters/waitresses was excellent . Our room was spacious ,elegant , clean and peaceful , with excellent air con thankfully as Rome was experiencing a heat wave during our stay . We had a fantastic time at the Rippetta and cannot wait to return to Rome and this fabulous hotel. Many thanks again , Dawn and Robert

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnybeazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Dawn and Robert,
We wish to thank you warmly for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for this special occasion; we are very glad to learn that the professionality and the dedication of our staff have left such a good impression of your Roman holiday. We really hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to the eternal city.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Staff were nice to us from the day we arrived to when we left. As we were there for our anniversary it was great to receive a complimentary upgrade from a standard double room to a suite. The suite had a powerful shower and "homely" furnishings.

Gluten free bread for breakfast was available on request, although reception didn't know anywhere near by that had gluten free food. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the atmosphere in the bar was nice and relaxed.

Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our room seemed broken and the coolest we could get the room to was 27.8 degrees. Reception staff were very friendly about it, and said that it was on the list to be checked by maintenance staff.

Location was great and although central the room wasn't noisy at all. Clean, plenty of towels, great value and a very comfortable bed. Hopefully I'll be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK_AnnaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,
we wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are very pleased to learn that you have appreciated the location and tranquility of our building, as well as the kindness and the professionality of our staff; we do our best to help all our Guest, especially those who need special assistance and we are very proud of the communication among our different departments.
We are glad to inform you that we are organizing an upgrade of our air conditioning system, though our city is extremely hot and humid in the summertime.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rome.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here with another couple on the night July 28 after a weekend in Tuscany and before heading for a cruise. We were treated kindly from the moment we arrived where there was help with our luggage. We were upgraded to two suites which was a special treat ( thank you!); bathrooms were well appointed and our bed was super comfortable. While the air conditioning wasn't ice cold, we also understood a historic building and the strain on any air conditioning function on one of the hottest days of the summer.

The breakfast was beautifully laid out in a room adjacent to the garden and we sat outside to enjoy the meal. The buffet included fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, juices and scrambled eggs. As an included breakfast in Europe...it was more than sufficient and we enjoyed it.

Now...to the most important person who made a difference in our stay....Francesca at the front desk. We asked her multiple questions about where to find a camera shop (needed a memory card) and a pharmacy...she explained in detail where to go for both. but what really set her apart was when I told her I had left my ipad on a Lufthansa flight and could she make a call to an airport number and speak with them to help me since I needed someone who could speak Italian. She made several phone calls while juggling check outs on the morning of our departure. As aresult of her efforts (along with my valued travel agent back home) we were able to locate the ipad at the airport and I was able to retrieve it before an 11 day cruise.

I see some negative reviews here and they sound like unfortunate experiences. We however, had just the opposite experience. The hotel is lovely and Francesca even told me how to walk through the lobby to get to the original chapel of this former convent. I think this hotel is in a superb location, staff was friendly and I think if air conditioning is an issue that perhaps the management of the hotel is working on some improvements as I noted signage that said they were working on the property. I would definitely give this one a chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the time you have spent writing this nice comment on the Tripadvisor website. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you appreciated the services of our hotel and the features of our suites; we love to surprise our Guests with a room upgrade, when possible.
What our Concierge did for you, reflects perfectly our philosophy: help our customers, not only for assistance related to the rooms, but also and especially solve any kind of issues and problems in order to make them feel pampered.
We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to our Residenza di Ripetta in the next future.
Sincerely Yours
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The air conditioning was not working when we were there. Using the stove was not possible unless you paid an additional fee. The beds were not comfortable and the service at the front desk was mediocre at best. When the front desk was called about a problem, it was not resolved, but we were told to call the manager the next morning to discuss it with them. There are a lot of lovely hotels in Rome. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to read that your experience at the Residenza di Ripetta did not meet your expectations. We are pretty sure, though, that if you warned immediately the front desk, our staff would have shown you a different room with a cooler air conditioning.
Regarding the use of the kitchenette, please note that there is a card in each room, advising that the full kit is on request, with a little extra charge to be paid, for the whole stay.
Our staff and our managers are always at disposal of our Guests, to assist and to solve problems.
We invite you to return to Rome as our valued Guests.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed her in July 2013
After staying in 3 other cities in Italy
we ended our lovely trip at this horrible hotel
It was very anti-climatic for us


There was no air conditioning-to the point where we
were up all night sweating
a rude staff
Lackluster breakfast
no tissues in room
not enough towels in room
dirty rug
So Upsetting!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to read that the experience you had at the Residenza di Ripetta did not meet your expectations.

Our Front Office staff is always at disposal of all Guests, in order to solve any issues and fulfill each request and we are pretty sure that if you had asked for assistance, they would have immediately replaced what was missing in your room and showed another suite, with a cooler air conditioning.

We invite you to come back to Rome, maybe in spring or autumn, so that you will be able to enjoy our beautiful city.

Sincerely Yours,

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed their with our family for a week in July. A wedding ring was stolen from our room during our stay. Needless to stay we were very disappointed with the hotel. The general manager, Annibali Samuele was no help at all. Be extremely careful with your personal belongs when you walk into this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very sorry to read your comment, but please allow us to remind you that our Front of the House Manager gave you his personal assistance, both on that day, and during the rest of your stay at our hotel. Following to verifications and investigations carried out promptly after your report, there was no evidence of sign of forced entry, neither in the room, nor onto the safety box, therefore we are not in the position of taking the responsibility for the theft declared.

Truly Yours

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#250 of 1,256 in Rome
964 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,256 in Rome
1,537 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#299 of 1,256 in Rome
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#228 of 1,256 in Rome
416 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#171 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing