We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, but would go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #349 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely, but would go somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Been there a few times for business. Very central, kind and attentive service, lovely internal garden that - in Rome - can be used from April to October if lucky with the weather. If stopping by for a coffee or a quick lunch, the place is great. If stopping overnight, I am not sure this is a great spot. Rooms are pretty old and dated, with poor furniture. Bathrooms are relatively small. Windows overlooking the internal garden are sealed. Doors are not thick enough and you can hear some noise. Breakfast is decent but very average. The hotel is not expensive for its location and this is a plus, but the overall room ambient is just for some liking very traditional places. Not convinced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
we have been sorry to read that your experience at the Residenza di Ripetta did not meet your expectations. Please allow us, though, to remind you that we have just finished an important renovation of all our rooms and suites, as well as common areas. Compared to the average hotels, the size of our bathrooms is pretty big and none of our windows overlooking the garden is sealed. We are pretty sure that if you had immediately warned our receptionists, they would have shown you a different room. Our breakfast buffet is very rich, with cold and hot dishes.
We invite you to return to Rome as our valued Guests.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    222
    79
    34
    26
See reviews for
173
239
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just returned from three days at the Residenza di Ripetta.We have been to Rome 5 other times and wish that we had found this lovely hotel before. The location is perfect so close to all the major sites in Rome. In addition the staff was so helpful,professional and friendly.
Our rooms were suites with sitting rooms large bedrooms. Everything was immaculate. The courtyard was simply a treat to have to sit and enjoin our family share a drink and stories of the day.The breakfast was yummy each morning and the staff remembered how we liked our coffee after the first day.There is a restaurant right across the street that was one of the best dinner we had in Rome
5 Stars-well earned

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charwenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having shared your nice experience on the Tripadvisor website. It was a pleasure to learn that you have much appreciated our location, our services and the peace of our internal garden. We are proud to assist our Guests from the beginning of their stay, to the goodbye greetings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SI NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Sorry for the lateness of this review. We stayed here last week of July. This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. Walking distance to all the major points of attraction. Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc. Breakfast was served in the courtyard. Loved the early morning calmness and atmosphere before we headed out. At night when we came back from our busy day, we had drinks in the courtyard. Have to agree with an earlier poster about the cost of the drinks. That is probably why we were always the only people there. Didn't care, was a nice way to end the day.

Room was nicely appointed and spotless. Staff were extremely nice, especially in helping us with tours to Vatican, etc.

My only complaint was the bedroom air conditioner was not working right. In the heat wave that was going on at the time, was very difficult to sleep at night. Would never get cool, whereas the ac in the living area worked great. When I asked if they could fix the bedroom ac, I was told they couldn't. I guess hotel was full, because they didn't offer to move us, but a fan could be provided. I declined.

Would I return to this hotel? Absolutely. Only the next time I would make sure ac worked before I accepted the room.

Room Tip: Make sure ac works
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SITravellerSiNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for the review you have shared on the Tripadvisor website.
It was a pleasure to learn that you have so much appreciated our location, the cleaning and the style of our suites, as well as the skills and the kindness of our staff at the Front Desk.
We are very proud of our beautiful and peaceful internal garden: something precious in such a busy area.
We wish to inform you that we have just worked on an upgrade of the air conditioning system, therefore we warmly invite you to come back to Rome as our valued Guest.
Truly Yours,

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was a fantastic stay. The Service was exceptional. The breakfast included was diverse and even included gluten free options. Not directly on a bus route, but not a long walk from the bus or from sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinathorn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We wish to thank you for the time spent writing your comment on our Residenza di Ripetta. We are very happy to learn that you have appreciated our services,our buffet breakfast and our central location.

We look forward to your next visit to Roma.

Truly Yours,

Samuele Annibali

General Manager

Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoham israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

very good location in Rome.very close to all the major locations.
around it a few good restaurants and you don't have to walk far to eat well .
the hotel itself is very nice.the room we got was an executive suit and it was big .decorated in conteporary style.the ground of the hotel are very nice and stylish.you will get a feeling of a luxery hotel without spending a lot of money.
the only problem i had is the location of the t.v that it was not in front of the bed but on the side and it was hard to watch it from there.overall a great place and the service was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviplv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for the preference you have given to the Residenza di Ripetta for your holiday in Rome. We are glad to learn that you have appreciated our central location, as well as the style and the decoration of our suites.
We hope to have the chance to wlcome you back as our valued Guest, next time, we will assign a suite with the TV in front of the bed.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela, Hawaii USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This past July I took two of my grand children for a visit to Rome. We stayed at the Residenzia di Ripetta which our travel agent in Germany had found for us. What a good choice it was! The hotel is lovely, traditional and quiet. The staff friendly and most helpful. This was so important since it was our first visit to the eternal city. From this great location we walked everywhere and all over the city following Rick Steves recommendations. In the week we stayed at the Residenzia we must have walked 20km each day in the summer heat. It was always great to come "home" to the Residenzia. I know that one day we will return.
Aloha from Hawaii.

Room Tip: I do not remember our room number but it was a little suite with a lovely living room bath and one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your very first visit to Rome. We are really glad to learn that you had such a nice experience and you have appreciated our central location, the tranquillity of our inner garden and our staff, who goes above and beyond.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home” in Rome.

Yours sincerely,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I loved this hotel. This hotel was a convent in the past, it is so nice. The staff are very friendly. The rooms were well sized and very clean. There were plenty of towels, soaps linens etc. Any time we asked the staff for anything, we got it. They were fantastic. Super nice.
My mother is in a wheelchair but can walk short distances, and there were some steps to get into the hotel. Each time we came back to the hotel, the staff would run from the desk to help us get my mother into the hotel. They were fantastic. So helpful.
The center garden/bar area if beautiful. A HUGE BONUS. We would sit outside each night after a long day in Rome and drink. Bartender very nice/respectful, drinks great.!
Breakfast was great, a lot of choices, GREAT COFFEE!. We got the 'American Coffee'
I really can't think of a bad thing to say about this hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone staying in Rome. It is very centrally located, right down the street from the Piazza de Popolo and the twin churches.
If I ever go back to Rome, I will stay here. Loved it...!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,
how nice it was to read your comment about our Residenza di Ripetta. Thank you for the nice words about our staff; we are so proud to represent the Roman hospitality in such a great way.
We wish to thank you also for chosing our hotel for your first trip to Rome and we look forward to welcoming you back for all your next journeys to the Eternal City.

Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#236 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#278 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#145 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#189 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing