We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Friendly Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
Ranked #354 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here two nights in May 2014. The desk staff and everyone in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. My room was a bedroom and living room separated by the bathroom and hall. There was a small kitchenette area that I did not use. The carpet was a little stained and rumpled but this was no problem. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The courtyard area was very pretty and nice and seemed to be enjoyed by everyone there. The breakfast was excellent with everything imaginable to eat--scrambled eggs, bacon ,sausage, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, juices and very good coffee. Some have complained about the cold scrambled eggs. It is true they were only warm and not hot and I discovered there was only one burner underneath and it was closer to the half of the unit that had the pancakes. The hotel was on a side street and convenient to everything. My only complaint about this hotel was the air conditioning and that is why I cannot give it 5 stars. I complained twice that it was not working well and someone came to fix it but they dismissed my complaints and said it was working fine. It was actually cooler outside than it was in my room. I was able to open the windows at night after the noise died down and this provided relief. My recommendation would be to be sure your room had sufficient air conditioning before accepting the room. I would stay at this hotel again but would verify the ac before staying. Ate at Buca di Ripetta and Porto di Ripetta, both apparently owned by the same people and would recommend both. One was a few doors up the street toward Piazza di Popolo and the other directly across the street. Reservations would be recommended for Buca di Ripetta.

Room Tip: Get a room with good ac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel.

Regarding the Air Condition system is centralised, so it could happen that sometimes the temperature settled, it is not hight as you may wish.

Hopeful to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely yours

Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    222
    79
    34
    26
See reviews for
174
239
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We enjoyed three nights at the Residenza di Ripetta in Rome. Our two rooms were very large and well-appointed.

The location is great, and you're a very short walk to just about everything. The hike back from the southernmost parts of the historical city are a bit long, but not insurmountable. Cabs were easy to come by.

Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Just be mindful of those that the hotel recommends and do your own research. We were pleased with their recommendations we followed, but always verify on your own first.

The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. Lots of art, comfy seating, and a pretty courtyard.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They have excellent maps at reception and are forthcoming with good recommendations for shopping, services, and restaurants.

Breakfast is typical for Italian hotels, with plenty of cured meats and baked goods. They had ample water available on the buffet which was a pleasant surprise. Otherwise, nothing special.

Cons:
Airconditioning was insufficient, but that seems to be consistent across the board. Our room had a horrible sewer smell coming from some element of the bathroom (we didn't inspect closely enough to figure out which fixture). With no external fan in the bathroom, it was a bit of a swampy mess. That was off-putting. My mindset: "If I can smell it, housekeeping can smell it." Herein lies the missed 5th star.

Overall, an above average stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are lofts. This can be novel, or a huge pain in the you-know-what. Ask for the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our strategic location, our large comfortable
bed and bathrooms.

However we are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered
during your stay.
Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim.

We hope to have the occasion to have you back at Residenza di Ripetta soon.

Sincerely yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights here, was upgraded to 2 story suite with kitchenette, this lacked all items, no tea / coffee making facilities in room. . Very narrow stairway to top level, difficult to climb with suitcase. Air conditioning not working, cool time of the year thankfully or it would have been very hot, heat rises to sleeping area and cannot escape as air cond extraction vent in bathroom not working. Different bathroom items not replaced each day. Comfortable room and good service otherwise, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Close to selection of restuarants, ATM and other services.

Room Tip: Make sure air cond is working, no point in having kitchenette if not equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Husband and I stayed two nights here. Air conditioning didn't work (front desk told us they were waiting for the city to turn it on, or something like that) so we opened our windows leading out to courtyard. Unfortunately there was a HUGE private party (200 ppl) going on that evening with lots of LOUD music, lasting until shortly after midnight. It was pretty miserable.
Rooms are large and, while we were told they were recently remodeled, it felt very dusty (sat on the couch and tons of dust flew into the air).

Front desk staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_spirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

First off if you want a centralized location this is a good place. Located near Plaza de popolo we were able to walk to the Vatican 1.1 miles away, Colliseum 1.2 miles away and plenty to see in between.

The hotel is modern and the staff accommodating. Our room was a surprising 2 floor room with a spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom. While it seemed nice in the beginning we never utilized the downstairs couch/kitchen area. The bedroom area was small and it was tough to drag the suitcases up the staircase. The bathroom was pretty small but fine.

The wifi didn't work, at all, the entire time. They did have a decent free breakfast for guests which had all the essentials.

Overall I would stay here for the location though I didn't love the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sburr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed our strategic location and our staff, while I am sorry to read that our duplex suites have not been appreciated. Our property has different kind of suites so next time we will try find the best solution to make your next stay with us most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in May 2014. Several nights there was a party in the central courtyard where loud music was played till 11 o'clock. The music was so loud we had to stay with our windows closed and despite the double glass the noise was unbearable. Even after 11 we could not open our windows because of the cigarette smoke of the many visitors below. Despite the friendly personnel of the hotel, the good restaurant, the fine location of the hotel, I would not recommend this hotel for people who want to rest at evenings.

Room Tip: Parties cause unbearable noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernst T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#235 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#277 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#145 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Property: Residenza di Ripetta
Address: Via di Ripetta 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Business Hotel in Rome
#189 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#295 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza di Ripetta a historic former convent in the heart of Rome. Residenza di Ripetta with its verdant inner courtyard is a place in which to take a tranquil pause from the city outside. A 17th century baroque former convent, artwork, statues, precious sculptures and original frescoes adorn its spaces. Found at the very heart of Rome's historic quarter, the Piazza del Popolo is on the doorstep. Serenity prevails in Residenza di Ripetta's understated guest rooms and suites. Spacious rooms benefit from high ceilings, original architecture, classic styling with modern accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing