We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap. Avoid.”

Enoteca La Bevitoria
Ranked #9,453 of 12,140 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Level Contributor
259 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Tourist trap. Avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Service is terrible. Food and drinks of low quality and overpriced. They add 14% service fee (tips not included). Rip-off. Avoid.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexagone6x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    5
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egaleo, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Too expensive for the size of the portions. Plus they charge you for service 14% without counting the tip. The quality is nice (one of the best gnocchi I have eaten) but way too expensive. All you pay is the view of piazza navona.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The service was friendly, fast, no complains, nothing special.
The menu options are ok, not flexible to change.
The food was good, we tried pizza and pasta.
The prices are OK comparing with the others.

If you are in Piazza Navona and want some food try this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tariq O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Band service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

The food was not bad, it was ok! But the service was awfull. It took the waiter 20 min to clean the table once we had finished and the place was almost empty.

Helpful?
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I LOVE this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Twice I've been to Rome and four times I've been to this restaurant. Firstly, the atmosphere is second to none, situated as it is on the bustling Piazza Navona which, on any given summer night, is full of painters, souvenir hawkers and wide-eyed tourists. Don't let the setting put you off though, even though many say to head off the beaten track. The Bevitoria Navona is a great place to eat because it specialises in seafood and great wine. A look inside near the kitchen will show you how much the owners love their wine and the very first time I ever ate here I was plied with a superlative white wine that I can't remember the name of - always a good sign! If they are offering Scallops as a starter don't pass up the opportunity because their seafood is expertly done as are their delicious main courses like Sea Bass, pasta with truffles and seafood platter (the Langoustines were HUGE!) A measure of the quality of the place is the staff - the waiter we had on our first visit to Rome actually remembered us the following year even though our number had been cut to two for our second trip - his first question was where was the third person! Personally, I think that's pretty impressive for someone who must deal with thousands of tourists a year. It is true that most of the best restaurants in Rome are found away from the tourist traps but I believe this restaurant is an exception to the rule.
Tip: like most restaurants in Italy, there can be sizeable waits between courses but this isn't in my view bad service. The Italians love their food and it's all about savouring the experience so have some patience and just embrace the ambience!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatmanRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca La Bevitoria also viewed

 

Been to Enoteca La Bevitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing