We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't need anything else from our hotel”
Review of Domus Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Julia
Ranked #646 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great hotel, 5 minutes from the Trevi Fountain, 15 minutes walk from Termini station. Really friendly and helpful staff and the suite was great, spotless with air conditioning, a fridge including complimentary water, and a large bathroom, no problems with hot water. Close to lots of places to go and eat and the street is relatively quiet, compared to some of the streets closer to the main sites. Breakfast was fine, plenty of food. I'd definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smidders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We read about this hotel on trip advisor before booking. Great place to stay based on the amount we paid. We stayed 4 days in October 2011. Location wise it's very central and walkable to the major sites we wanted to see in Rome ie:Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc.and the subway is close by for farther sites like the Coliseum. We stayed in the annex (the building next to the hotel), we had 2 double beds and were pleasantly surprised the room was bigger than we expected, Clean, comfortable accommodations and staff was helpful. The only problem we encountered one night was the hot water running out.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012. Lovely little hotel and central location. Breakfast is continental which you would expect in Europe. Plenty of it as staff are constantly refreshing it. Hotel five minutes from the Trevi Fountain and also the Spanish steps. Hotel staff are extremely helpful in answering your tourist enquiries. Nothing is too much trouble, no matter how busy they are. They even have a spare p.c. that residents can use to check-in on line with their airline company. Great. I don't recommend many places, but this one I do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel November 9, 10 and 11 before departing for Florence. Was surprised at how close the hotel was to everything...down the street, cross the road and walk through a small side street and turn the corner to see Trevi Fountains all lit up the first night we got there...then a quick walk to the pathenon and then pizza navorna......also up the street and around the corner is the metro......the staff were extremely friendly allowing me to use their internet anytime, breakfast was great, lots of selection. We eventually returned to the hotel for two more nights at the end of our Italian vacation. Both times, we were housed in the annex, which is next door. First time 3rd floor which gave us a great workout as we did not use the elevator. Second visit on the 1st floor. Both rooms were spacious with a good size bathroom. The rooms are typical older Italian style but when in Rome (or italy)......this was a fabulous trip with sunny days every day, even for November....I would highly recommend this hotel if you are not expecting 5 star amenities. We will be back.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OCHillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

While this place is unpretentious, it's a great deal for the price. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable with excellent AC which we needed the last week of August. It's very close to the Trevi fountain & subway to everything else. The staff was so kind & helpful. Breakfast was nothing amazing, but there was lots of it! We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we were in the Annex which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fearn730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I was lucky enough to stay at Domus Julia Hotel recently with my husband and children. The hotel was recommended to me by family, and I have since recommended it to others. The hotel was in a great location - on a quiet street, just a 5 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain. We stayed in the family suite, which was very clean and large enough to accommodate us comfortably. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff members were courteous and helpful. The one and only fault I can make is in relation to the hairdryer; I thought it was a bit old and lacked power. But this was a minor issue. Domus Julia is not a luxury hotel, but it's clean and comfortable and represents great value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Having read some previous negative reviews about the hotel on this site (after i'd already booked to stay there), I was expecting very basic accomodation, so it was a wonderful surprise to find that the negative reviews were inaccurate (in my humble opinion). The Domus Julia is clean, tidy and very comfortable. The room was functional and attractive enough & air conditioned. The bed was was comfy and our room was quiet. Plenty of piping hot water for showering etc.

We found the staff to be very friendly and good humoured-they are available at the front desk 24/7, should you need them and spoke good English. They are able to book day trips for you and provided a very helpful map of the city and leaflets about travel options.

Breakfast was good, offering a range of pastries, cereal, meats, cheeses and beverages.

The location was absolutely suberb! The Barberini Gallery is at the top of the street and Piazza Barberini is a two minute walk away (a metro station is located there which links to Vatican, Colosseum, Termini station, etc and is very easy & safe to use). It is a 10 minute walk to both the Trevi Fountain and The Spanish Steps, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants at hand (which is not the case in every area).

I highly recommend the Domus Julia. Our stay there was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicstick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#340 of 1,271 in Rome
656 reviews
Trevi
Hotel 2000 Roma
Hotel 2000 Roma
#921 of 1,271 in Rome
176 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#151 of 1,271 in Rome
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#559 of 1,271 in Rome
1,420 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#405 of 1,271 in Rome
113 reviews
Trevi
Residenza Ki Rome
Residenza Ki Rome
#321 of 1,271 in Rome
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Julia

Address: Via Rasella 32, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Julia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Domus Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Julia Rome
Domus Julia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing