We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

Really enjoyed the Apollo. Friendly staff and generally helpful,, considering my very basic 4 words of Italian and their limited English. Location was great, room clean and reasonable size. Breakfast good. It even has an elevator ( this is helpful for getting luggage up to 3rd floor).
You can walk to Coloseum / forum in 5 min and the walk to Vatican is only 45min if you dont stop for too many gelattos.
We organised taxi to airport and were told it would be E50. We were happy to find final price was indeed E50.
Lovely spot and would go back again

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiwitripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    301
    78
    14
    15
See reviews for
247
236
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

We spent just a single night at the Apollo and would certainly be happy to return. It is a smart and well run little hotel in a very good location. Just a few minutes walk from the Forum and the Colosseum, the area immediately around the hotel has a nice "neighbourhood" feel, surprisingly untouristy and stocked with a good range of bars and restaurants. Staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet good and rooms comfortable and well equipped. We had a room facing the street which was remarkably quiet overnight. Getting to and from Termini Station was quick and easy by bus or Metro.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BWBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

Just returned from 4 night stay.Great location ,within walking distance of all sites.Rooms small but very clean .Staff very helpful.We will definately return.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York CIty
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

The Apollo is a very pleasant hotel. Our triple room was comfortable and the rooftop breakfast was a great feature.

The best thing about the hotel, however, is the location. The Colosseum is down the block to the south, although it's still about a 10-minute walk. But it's also only a 10-minute walk to the north to the Trevi Fountain, To the west, a 10-minute walk to Piazza Venezia. To the east, 15-20 minutes to the Termini Station. In other words, classical, medieval and modern Rome are all in easy walking distance.

We also liked the area the hotel is in. A lot of excellent and reasonably-priced restaurants, and it is not nearly as touristy as many other areas. It definitely has the feel of a real Roman neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jgb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

On Via dei Serpenti. Booked the hotel through Booking.com after having read many reviews. I think the hotel was a great deal. Right in the middle of attractions yet on a quiet street. What sold me on it was breakfast on the terrace and once there it lived up to it. Great Capuccinos prepared by Massimo. If you see him say hello from the couple from Virginia. Keep in mind this is a small family hotel. Service is limited and staff speaks little English. They were always helpfull as best they could and polite. Breakfast was plentifull with a combination of pastries, cheeses, ham, juices and excellent coffee. The airconditioning would not cool well at times but not enough to stop us sleeping. Our room was on the 3 floor and often we slept with the window opened in July and that was still comfortable (and we are used to ac). From this location we walked everywhere, even Piazza del Poppolo (we're 45 and 50 yrs old). We didn't need public transport. There is a very good Pizzeria, can't remember the name on the same street as you exit to the left of the hotel, but on the right side of the street. Good gelato near the Pizzeria too. To be fair, we only dealt with Paolo, his wife and Massimo. There was a male clerk at night but I didn't feel comfortable enough with him (thought he might have some kind of deal with cab).
I would definitely recommend the place to anyone.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank serie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

I'm not sure how this hotel got such great reviews. I am not a complainer, but this one has some problems.

It is a clean, comfortable hotel that is quiet, except between 8:00AM and 10:30 AM. That's when the cleaning people start yelling in the hallways and dropping tin buckets on the stone floors outside your door.

The rooms are very small, about 18" on either side of the bed. The bed is reasonablly comfortable.

The computer worked, the mouse did not.

The breakfast is nice.

The front desk is manned by a person from mid afternoon to the evening who arranged for us to have a 55 euro ride to the airport, when the set rate is 40 euros. Not very nice.

So, if you just need a bed, and don't want to sleep past 8:00AM, this place should be fine.

  • Liked — location and owners
  • Disliked — nosie in the morning
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburbs of Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

Like other reviews have pointed out, you can see the Colosseum from the room. Walking distance to Trevi fountain and the Pantheon. Clean room with a large bathroom and a friendly staff. We would stay here again. Nearby restaurants just a few doors down, and the price was reasonable for our two nights in Rome.

  • Liked — proximity to major sites
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tintinwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#202 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#108 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#223 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#83 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#93 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#309 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing