We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apollo Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$625
US$414
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$273
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$172
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$354
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$336
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$206
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$877
US$486
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$733
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
324
331
88
18
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
331
88
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracetrevi fountainpastriesvia cavourmain buildingnice apartmentother attractionswalking distanceair consmall showerhotel is centrally locatedrestaurants and barsinternet connectionfantastic locationtrain stationsmall hotelroman forum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed only 2 nights at the Hotel Apollo in May 2008 and had a fantastic time. The location is ideal for walking around the historic centre of Rome, only minutes from the Collosseum and 5-10 mins walk to most other key attractions.
We'd booked a standard double room but when we got there were told that none were available so they'd given us an upgrade to their suite! The suite turned out to be a one bedroom apartment in the building right next door which was no problem - in fact, it was fantastic as we don't think there was anyone else in the building, it was so quiet! The suite had a great roof terrace with a table and chairs, a small lounge area with tv and 2 comfy chairs, a big bedroom and decent size bathroom with 2 vanity basins - a real bonus.
The first night we were there we decided to buy some wine, cheese, bread etc... and have dinner on our terrace - which would have been lovely except it started to rain! Breakfast in the morning was lovely - held on the roof terrace of the main hotel building, it was a continental buffet style with rolls, fruit, cereal, cheese, ham and fantastic capuccinos! The staff were very friendly and spoke good English.
The second night we asked the manager for a recommendation, and he sent us to a local restaurant that he'd said was not fancy but the food was good. Unfortunately, this was the only negative part of our experience with Hotel Apollo - the restaurant was very average, the staff spoke almost no English and it was quite obvious that the Manager was paid a commission for referring us there.
Other than that, we'd highly recommend the Hotel Apollo for a very comfortable and very convenient location in Rome - for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Hotel Apollo has a great location two blocks from the Colosseum. This is a small hotel with an elevator. The room was lovely and clean with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was typical. I meandered around the neighborhood and found, just two blocks away, a lovely small Piazza with a cafe and fountain. It is close enough to other attractions for a nice walk or the hotel will call a cab for you. There are a number of restaurants in the winding streets nearby and a great fish restaurant just two blocks away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Merrill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

My husband and I, along with my parents, stayed at the Apollo Hotel in April and had a great experience!

We stayed in two seperate rooms, but both exceeded our expectations. The room my husband and I had was large with two windows overlooking the street below. The room was nicely decorated and included a wardrobe that housed a safe. The beds were very comfotable. The bathroom was small, but very clean. There were plenty of towels and the hairdryer worked well.

The neighborhood was very pleasant and there were many local restaurants to choose from. The best one was a block or so down from our hotel (towards Via Nationale) near the Internet Cafe. I can't remember the name, but the walls were painted bright yellow inside. It was very quaint and the food was delicious and resonable. (Try the Walnut Gorganzola Ravioli!)
Additionally, the Gellateria on our street (block or so towards the Colossieum) was wonderful. My husband and father would make repeat visits each day!

The staff at the hotel was helpful. The assisted us in finding restaurants and getting a taxi a few times. No matter who we encountered, they always had a smile on their face and were ready to assist.

The breakfast on the rooftop terrace was also good. Each morning, there were a variety of coffees, juices and tea, along with fruit, pastries, breads, yogurt and cereal.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clemsontiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We recently stayed at Hotel Apollo, it was lovely, family run and they were all helpful. the room was clean and decent sized, the bath was nice, plenty of hot water, they do have weird towels though, more like a chamois. They had a great breakfast on the roof top garden area, continental with some hot items. The only problem was the air conditioning was broken when we were there, it was cool enough at night to sleep with the windows open and they said it would be fixed in a few weeks and I don't think it was throughout the hotel cause it seemed cool in the the lobby the location was great, ten minutes to the Colliseum on one direction and ten minutes to the Trevi Fountain in the other direction. we got lost but that's part of the charm of Roma and a nice police officer got us turned in the right direction. We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My Husband, Brother and I just got back froma 5 day stay in Rome at the Apollo hotel. I just wanted to say this is a great hotel! So close to the Colloseum you can see it from the street but not in a touristy area. Close to restaurants and shops and lots of local stuff. We really had a great time. The service was amazing, the place was neat and clean. Really a no frills hotel, but that was fine with us. The only complaint was from my brother who is 6'3 190. The shower was a bit small for his size but most things are. :) So I guess that is not really a complaint. Anyway, I just want to say thank you to the staff that made us feel so welcome. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IndigoStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews