We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5-star stay at our fabulous little Rome hotel!”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5-star stay at our fabulous little Rome hotel!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great little family-operated hotel in centro storico Rome located a few blocks from the colosseum. The family and staff strive to make your stay a pleasant experience and it certainly was that. They were always ready with a smile to answer any questions or provide assistance. Our room was very pretty and was well appointed and was quite spacious for Rome standards. The bathroom was spotless and had a shower - not one of those deep and dangerous bathtubs so prevelant in Italy. A tasty breakfast buffet is served daily up on the terrace and fresh cappucino is made to order. The hotel is located in a great area - we always felt safe walking around. It is close to two metro stops: the colosseo and Via Cavour. There are lots of little restaurants around as well as various little shops and tiny grocers. We would highly recommend Hotel Apollo Roma! We have returned here numerous times - each stay is always a wonderful experience! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Hotel is located in a working section in central historical Rome - some street noise is inevitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank our_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    311
    79
    16
    16
See reviews for
252
243
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We rented the five person apartment from Hotel Apollo. I was very nervous, as it was quite hard to determine what it would look like from the Hotel Apollo site and various review sites I could find. It ended up being great, and a huge value for the price and location. The five person apartment is on via Urbana 76. It has a kitchen, bedroom with I believe a queen bed and a full bath, another single bedroom, another full bath, and a pull-out couch in the family room. For our family of four, it was great. It was very clean, new, and well lit. The decor was sparse, but that didn't matter to us. We were right near everything we wanted to see, and couldn't believe we got such a big place for so cheap. The wireless was not great, so don't depend on that. We really couldn't use it inside the apartment. The hot water went in and out (burning to freezing) on a 15 second interval both mornings we were there. We didn't have any luck trying to use the phone to call over to the front desk at the main hotel. And lastly, they really should provide luggage service to get your stuff to the apartments. It's quite a hike with big suitcases. Despite all of this, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlienc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here from 16th - 21st October 2013. Great location - we dined in restaurants around the centre of Rome and walked home every night . Breakfast was good for a 3 star hotel - cereals, juice, ham, cheese, yoghurt, bread, croissants etc. Bedroom clean - we had a double and a single bed - two people sharing . No shortage of hot water. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The view from the window was the back of buildings but again it is just a 3 star hotel in a street setting.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a big window as the rooms are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castleknock2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location only a few minutes walk from the colosseum but we had such a terrible experience when we arrived that I would not recommend it to anyone. I arrived with 3 young children at 1.30 in the morning in the middle of a festival in the street full of dense, drunk crowds. We were sent off to find the apartment which was 500meters away but we couldn't find it and I was very frightened of loosing my children in the crowds, I found it hard to carry all my bags through so many people and was worried about my bag being snatched as we had received many warnings about pick pockets in Rome. When I returned the man on reception refused to help me and was very rude. I was too scared to go out again so I said we would sit in reception until morning when it was safe. The man said I had to sit next door in a bar and when I refused we said I was a bad mother and a bad example to my children and I should sit where I was told. I explained I had just paid him over 1500 euros and he yelled "people pay much more than that now sit in the bar next door not in here and do what I tell you to do" when he realised I was not going to move he eventually took us to our room but this was 40 minutes after we arrived and he was shouting at us so loudly both myself and my children where very shaken and unable to sleep. I complained the next morning to the manager but he never got back to me. The room was also very noisy as theappartment next door were loud through the night and the walls were paper thin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 553traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have booked initially room in the hotel, but we were moved to an appartement near to the hotel. In the appartement was only cold water. After several complaints nobody did anything until decided to move away. I strongly do not recommend this hotel and I do not understand why this hotel has so many positive reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank helkehelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments that is down the street from the actual hotel. It has one separate bedroom and a pull out bed in the living room area which our two teenagers slept in. There is a kitchenette area with small stovetop, refrigerator, and dishes. The location is great - very close to the Colosseum, other ruins, and many good restaurants. You feel like a local because the rest of the building is regular apartments where normal people live. The only problem was that the internet connection never worked correctly (even after the router was replaced) which was an issue for us because my husband and son had work to complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geogiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellant service. Clean, great location and awesome breakfast provided. Stayed in an apartment down the road from the hotel. Spacious and even closer to the Colosseum than the hotel. Great restaurants and gelato shops on the same road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene54946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#212 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#176 of 1,256 in Rome
550 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,256 in Rome
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#241 of 1,256 in Rome
1,161 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
269 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#294 of 1,256 in Rome
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#309 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing