We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in fantastic location”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I chose the hotel for its proximity to the Coliseum, as we were only staying for a few days and wanted to see as much as possible, The family who own the hotel were lovely and the room clean and comfortable. Its a perfect base for seeing the city, all the sites apart from the Vatican/Castel St. Angelo, which are only 5 stops away on the Metro. Breakfast was fantastic on the roof terrace as well.
Would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2009

5 of us in 2x2 plus 1 rooms. We were on 4th floor overlooking street. It's a fairly quiet street especially at night. Room was OK. Modern. A little small & dark perhaps, but clean. Breakfast was good quality continental on roof terrace (up a flight of stairs).
Location good. Possible to walk to Termini (main station) with backp[ack but no more. Colisseum is about 600 m away. Could see it from window if I stuck my head out. Spanish steps etc rather further but within walking distance. Need to use underground or open top tour bus for Vatican.
Main critcism is that there is a very small reception area and no real 'bar'. Just a room adjacent to reception. no pool or anything else..too city centre..
Staff were friendly and spoke enough English to get by.
Proprietor recommended local restaurant run by grandson of Enrico Fermi with pictures of him around the wall..makes a change from footballers (look him up you physicians !) , v nice but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northamptonoldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I chose his hotel based on location, as I only had one day in Rome and wanted to see the Colliseum, but in the end it was a very pleasant surprise.

The hotel is very close to the main attractions and easy to get to using public transit. Just like the web site indicates it is 200m away from thr Colliseum, and therefore close to all the other sites.
The room I stayed in was very clean, and comfy. The owners live there and the personal touch is present and obviuos everywhere in the building. Great service, great advice for scheduling and making the most of my short stay in Rome.
The rooftop restaurant is awesome, I wish I would go back in the summer.


Definitely a good choice!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed in Rome a week. Location of this hotel is ideal. Far enough away from the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps that you don't feel that you are in the middle of the tourist area, yet still close enough to walk to all attractions. (You need to take a taxi, bus or Metro to Vatican and Villa Borghese, but that's all.)

Rooms are clean, roof top breakfast is great. Massimo (owner's son) speaks very good english and was helpful with reservations for Galleria Borghese and restaurant suggestions. I would stay here again if traveling to Rome. Rooms facing the courtyard are a bit smaller but very quiet. Next time I might try a room facing the road for the extra space.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Great Hotel!
The rooms are clean and big. Location is great. The staff is very nice. We arrived at 7:30 am and our room was ready. We checked in and had breakfast (for free), which was great! Loved the cappuccinos. The gentleman in the reception gave us great touristic information. I would definitely go back to this hotel. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridians21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My wife, I and our grand daughter stayed at the Apollo for three nights in October. It was a wonderful stay and the location of the hotel couldn't have been better. 20 minutes from the Pantheon, about the same to Trevi and about 10 from the forum.
Our room, while a bit small, was large enough for comfort and was immaculate. The room overlooked an interior court and was very quiet. The bathroom was modern and sparkling and well equipped and the stall shower was large enough for comfort. The beds were comfortable.
The included continental breakfast was ample and was served on the top floor where there is an indoor/outdoor area that is cozy and pleasant. The elevator takes you as far as the 4th floor, and you then walk up steps to the breakfast area.
There are good restaurants nearby, as well as an internet cafe. There was a terminal in the hotel lobby, but it seemed to be down much of our stay.
The staff was welcoming and pleasant. Some spoke good English, others not, but all were accomodating. We especially have appreciated the help that Alessandro has afforded us after our stay: One of our suitcases was lost upon our arrival in Rome and was delivered late. We had to buy some necessities in the meantime. To file a delayed baggage claim we needed documentation as to the arrival time of the bag. As we got no help from Air One, Alessandro provided information by fax that I have submitted with our claim.
All in all a fine experience, and we would definitely stay at the Apollo again.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Tay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Stayed at the Apollo for four nights in October with two friends. We were all in the same room, which was a bit of a squash (no space to spread ourselves out), but as we were hardly in, it wasn't too much of a problem.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the towels were changed every day, and breakfast on the terrace was a great way to start the day. The staff were friendly and helpful, although one was a little too pushy in trying to persuade us to book a taxi to the airport instead of getting the train from Termini.

Other people have mentioned the great location - all the major sites of Rome are within walking distance, the Cavour metro station is five minutes away, and there are lots of buses on the Via Cavour and Via Nationale (the 40 goes all the way to the Vatican). There are loads of local restaurants too - the little square two blocks down has two great ones, both full of locals as well.

Top tip - buy a Roma Card, which gives you free entry into your first two sites (including the Colliseum and Forum), and a discount thereafter, and includes a three day travel pass, which you can use on the metro, buses, trams and trains - excellent value for 20 Euros.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgstravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#131 of 1,269 in Rome
1,118 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#257 of 1,269 in Rome
549 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#231 of 1,269 in Rome
587 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#380 of 1,269 in Rome
1,027 reviews
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#301 of 1,269 in Rome
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#308 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £62 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing