We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ludovisi Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Ranked #350 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Near Spanish Steps. The Hop On Hop Off buses are just in front of the hotel. Breakfast consist of basic necessities with limited selection of hot foods such as scrambled eggs and bacon. No waffles. Limited fresh fruit. Coffee/Tea facilities not offered during the day but there's an electric kettle provided in the room and complimentary beverage packs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location of hotel : very close to Spanish steps & Via Veneto neighbourhood
Staff : nice & helpful
Rooms: small but clean, the only problem was the carpet that became wet whenever we took a shower!
Bathroom: big but weird shower the water went outside and wet the floor every time we took a shower.
Breakfast : good option having breakfast included... Delicious croissants and cheese!
Wifi: very very slow....
Neighbourhood: very calm close proximity to banks and offices!!!

Be just extra careful for extra charges: we booked through hotels.com and we were 3 people to stay in our room when we arrived there, they told us that there would be an additional charge of 40 euro for the extra person but when we booked with hotels.com they weren't any???
Another afternoon when we came back at the hotel room we saw that someone had drank a bottle of frizzante water and had left the bottle there... I brought the bottle downstairs and gave it to the guy on the front desk!

When we checked out few days later there was a charge of 11 euro for the same water bottle on the hotel receipt!!!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Momo341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place was a wonderful stay in Rome. Very close to the metro for convenient transport to any location in Rome, but on a quiet street which allowed us to have sound, undisturbed sleep. When we arrived, the hotel staff literally ran down the front steps to carry our bags inside for us. The hotel porter was extremely friendly and helpful, answering all of our questions and giving us plenty of information. The room was very comfortable with a queen bed and clean, spacious bathroom. The room as well air conditioned and very quiet. The breakfast was excellent! It had everything that you could want; fresh eggs, cold cuts and other meats, yogurt, milk, cereal, juice, fruits and pasties! I am a big Scandinavian and I never left there hungry.

I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Friendly staff, nice room but best of all the breakfast was awesome!!! The selection wasn't the largest I have encountered but the quality of food they put out is great! In terms of location it's good, very close to the Spanish steps and within walking distance to everything including sites, shopping and food! They have a computer to use in one of their dining rooms which has free internet access. About a 15 minute walk to the Termini which is pretty straight forward and if your coming from the airport you can pay 14 euro to get a train then walk or pay 15 euro to get a bus and dropped at your hotel... Go figure which one you would take ;o) (Bought tickets at the airport near the train station entry) Keep in mind our driver thought he was a rally driver and I almost wet myself a few times...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am a travel agent specializing in Italy vacations. I travel to Italy every year and Rome is always my first stop. This year I decided to stay at Ludovisi Palace and was so happy that I did. I now have a great hotel to add to my list of hotels in Rome that I would recommend to my clients. It has a great location, friendly staff, nice rooms and good breakfast. The rooms are very clean and a nice size as they always tend to be small when staying in a big city like Rome. I was traveling with friends and they too loved the hotel. They arrived prior to me and the staff was very helpful in giving them names of restaurants and answering all the questions about the beautiful city. It is very close to the Via Veneto and within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Borghese gardens and museum and metro stops. It is also very close to my favorite restaurant, "Vladimiro Ristorante Marcello" on Via Aurora right off the Via Veneto.
I cannot say enough about this hotel except I will be back and I hope this helps others looking for an affordable charming hotel in the eternal city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJRoseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife, sister and niece stayed at this lovely hotel near the Borghese Park in Rome 5 nights in late July. This hotel has a great, friendly, courteous multiligual staff who are always looking for ways to make your stay more pleasant. I want to especially commend Alberto, who helped us book tours, find great restaurants and make helpful suggestions every time we came into the lobby. The rooms are clean, comfortable and an excellent value. Breakfast was excellent. If you enjoy running the beautiful Borghese park is nearby. Be sure to obtain online reservations well in advance of your trip for the tremendous Borghese art gallery. There is an ATM just across the street and Metro stations nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, a great base for your Roman holiday. Mike and Laurel M

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manoles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our family of four just returned from having spent 5 nights at the Ludovisi Palace Hotel in Rome - 4 before departing on a Mediterranean cruise, and 1 immediately after the cruise for one last night in Rome before heading home.

I was pleased they were able to extend the discounted rate for a 4 night stay minimum to our one last night - other Rome hotels we contacted were not willing to do so. Since we booked two rooms for our family (17 and 19 year old sons would have made for an unpleasantly crowded room), the savings was appreciated.

We arrived at about 10:15 a.m. after almost 24 hours in transit and were pleased to learn one of our rooms were ready. We were offered to have breakfast (closes at 10:30 a.m.) and enjoyed the first of our breakfasts in the sunny dining room: delicious coffee, an array of pastries, thinly sliced meats and cheeses, fruits and eggs. By the time we finished eating, both rooms were ready for us to check in, freshen up and start exploring the sites of Rome.

Our rooms were small as expected, but certainly roomy enough for two, clean and well appointed. Plenty of closet and drawer storage space. Watch your head in the bathroom - my 6'4" son banged his head on the sink when standing up from the toilet as he was leaning forward when seated. We loved the views of Via Ludovisi from our 4th floor rooms.

Hotel staff spoke good English and were very welcoming. They made calls for us when we needed help with arranging a last minute visit to the Borghese Villa (advance reservations are recommended) and with restaurant suggestions. They also booked private car transit for us from the airport (60 Euro for three of us in a sedan - my older son arrived later in the day and we booked his shuttle transfer on our own) and back to the airport (80 Euro for four of us in a minivan). Car transit was on time with friendly drivers.

The location is great - easy access from the Barberini Metro station, just a couple of blocks off of the Via Veneto and an easy walk to Spanish Steps and Borghese Villa. We loved that it had a neighborhood feel.

Down side - hotel laundry was crazy expensive. Our older son arrived having already been traveling for almost two weeks and he had a duffle bag full of dirty laundry. I had searched some self-service laundries in Rome and the front desk clerk discouraged us from using them, saying they could only vouch for their own laundry service. We decided to pull a few items for the hotel laundry and explore the self service laundries on our own. 4 t-shirts, 4 shorts, 2 pair of socks and 4 boxer shorts cost 66 Euro - about $86!!! (The next day we took the Metro to a self service laundry near Termini station called Onda Verde and handed them an IKEA bag stuffed with the rest of his very dirty laundry as well as our dirty clothes from the first few days of our trip. Hung out at a cafe for about an hour and a half checking email and drinking coffee and returned to clean and folded clothes for about 25 Euro which included the cost of soap and drying).

The hotel had umbrellas available for us to borrow which we ended up needing. Wifi was free and working (although sometimes slow) throughout our visit. Each of us were issued a separate internet ID and password - one for each wireless device.

A great location and perfect for our family's first visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Via Ludovisi. Noise was not an issue for us - we slept soundly all 5 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DosDudesMomLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#247 of 1,271 in Rome
627 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#253 of 1,271 in Rome
1,065 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#154 of 1,271 in Rome
1,411 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#307 of 1,271 in Rome
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ludovisi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludovisi Palace

Address: Via Ludovisi 43, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Family Hotel in Rome
#193 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#314 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £112 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ludovisi Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ludovisi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludovisi Palace Hotel
Ludovisi Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing