We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Francesco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #266 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was a very nice hotel, the staff was all very helpful for reservations. It is located in Trastevere a little off the beaten path but very walkable to good places. The breakfast was very good, we did miss having tea and coffee available all day. It was very clean, and we liked the roof top bar in the evenings. We liked watching the parakeets in the convent garden in the mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    307
    73
    26
    7
See reviews for
79
298
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and were pleased with our choice. Although the room was small with little space around the double bed, the bathroom was comparatively large. Very clean and comfortable, the only downside was the décor; very brown and 1990s. Air con was also not that good but we just left the windows wide open - OK in June but probably not in August.

Breakfasts were good and buffet continental style. The dining room was occasionally busy but we didn't need to wait any longer than 10 minutes for a table in the morning (our fault as we couldn't get up before 9.30am!).

The big upside is the location in the heart of Trastevere. Within a 10 minutes walk you are strolling past all the restaurants, bars and market stalls that make this area so attractive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coker, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This Hotel was an excellent choice.
The location in Trastevere was ideal with good transport available to all sites of interest.
Our room was clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and functional.
Buffet breakfast each morning was very good with a wide selection of choices which were constantly 'topped up'
Above all the staff were professional and friendly and always helpful.
The Rooftop terrace was a bonus for a relaxing area to unwind and saviour the view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Rome. Very good staff, Helpful in finding transportation, food and sites. They were never too busy to help. The room was extra large, for Europe, and nicely finished. The grounds were well maintained and very relaxing. The area of Trasteverse is great for small good places to eat and great coffee stops.
The walk to a taxi stand was less than 3 minutes.
An overall very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Having stayed elsewhere in Rome at the beginning of trip to Amalfi,we were looking for a charming place in Trastevere for the last night in Rome before our flight home. This hotel totally fit the bill, wishing we could stay longer, we would certainly stay again!

The service was terrific and helpful. Arriving a bit early for check-in, they gladly stored our luggage and brought it to the room - so all in order when we returned from lunch.

The room ( we face the street) was clean, comfortable and although smallish was larger than previous hotel in Campo di Fiori area. Bathroom was spacious and with a bright window- the shower was larger than most I have found in big European cities, the hot water plentiful. Some street noise required closing of the window ( and the fresh breeze) - my sister had a room facing the courtyard, much quieter and could have the window open. So if possible, choose an inside room.

We stayed June 1, 2013 and the rooftop terrace bar was not open, but the terrace itself was and we are able to bring our own bottle(s) :) of wine up to enjoy. We had the place to ourselves with wonderful views of the Rome skyline- one of the many things I love to do in the city- wine on a roof top!
Hotel is an a great location, easy walking to charming shops, restaurants etc. in Trastevere. We had done our main touring of the Rome sites at the beginning of trip so didn't venture across the Tiber with the one night stay but certainly could. Public transport is close also.

Continental breakfast was very good, and served in a pretty room that looked into the garden courtyard. Front desk staff arranged a car for the airport, that arrived promptly at the appointed time out front.
Pleasant and helpful service, charming hotel, highly recommend!

If looking for an evening dinner restaurant close by, I highly recommend: Osteria Le mani in pasta, Via dei Genovesi, 37. A more authentic experience, many locals eating here- great pasta and fish. Reservations recommended, very busy- we arrived without one and got in but we were there early. When we left at 9:30 the "real" dining time it was packed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Tucked away in Trastevere is the Hotel San Francesco. This place gets great points for its location and overall quality, service & attention to detail. From the simple request to leave luggage before the room was available, to the packed breakfast for our 430 am departure, the staff & management made everything easy, uncomplicated & nothing was too difficult for them.
Definitely worth staying here & definitely on our list for the next trip to Rome

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuddyOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

In a period of 10 years this was my third stay at this hotel, that is the best recommendation possible. I first stayed here a few months after the opening and I must admit that furniture, carpets, wallpaper etc. has had its time. But bathrooms still are very nice and bright. Room vary in size, but are rather small. Important plus is the roof terrace with furniture with a great view over the city. Only issue is the isolation of the rooms, certainly is you have a room at the front, although the location is quiet, the traffic over the paves can be annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#500 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#508 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#480 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Property: Hotel San Francesco
Address: Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Francesco is a small & charming 3 star hotel located in Trastevere the hippest and most lively area in the center of Rome. 24 rooms all set with Private Bathroom, Free WiFi, Minibar, Flat TV, Hairdryer, Telephone, Safe Box and Air Conditioning. The Continental Buffet Breakfast is always included and the reception is open 24h. An amazing 360° view overlooking the Aventino hill and Trastevere is waiting for you at the top of the hotel. Our Rooftop bar La Terrazza will be open on warm seasons from 6 PM to 11:30 PM. An oasis of peace and relaxation where you can have a refreshing drink and chill out after a day sightseeing. All major tourist sights such as the Colosseum, the Vatican and Trevi Fountain can be easily reached by public transports but our suggestion is to wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the city by walking through the ancient narrow streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Rome
San Francesco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing