We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average hotel in a better than average location- good value, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #286 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Better than average hotel in a better than average location- good value, friendly”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a family celebration. Definitely worth asking for rooms at the rear- better view, less noise. The roof terrace is a definite plus point. Rooms and bathrooms are fine for a hotel in this location in Rome. Within walking distance of Trastevere restaurants in the evening and Colosseum and Palatine Hill during the day- ntram stop close by for longer journeys. Breakfast was ok, coffee could have been better (compares pretty well with many hotels- but hey this is Italy). Service staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We were pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    319
    77
    27
    7
See reviews for
83
313
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel San Francesco for a week. The staff was great, the rooms comfortable, the breakfast just fine, the price right, and the neighborhood quiet and interesting. It's a little further away from the historic center (close to the Porta Portese) than other neighborhoods I've stayed in in Trastevere, but only a 10 minute walk up the Viale de Trastevere to get there. The rooftop bar was great for the cocktail hour before dinner and the neighborhood filled with interesting restaurants, like Trattoria da Paolo, right across the street, and La Fraschetta, just up the street, both on Via San Francesco a Ripa. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanbobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is in the Trastavere area of Rome, lots of interesting shops and Restaurants but not noisy at night and not too many tourists. It is just a walk across the river to the ancient city, all the main attractions are findable on foot. The Vatican City and St Peters are also within walking distance.
The reception staff are helpful and have many recommendations. Breakfast is delicious. The rooms are clean but the décor is a little tired. Beds were comfortable. Rooms at the back would be quieter if you have the window open..............but there is double glazing and air conditioning.
The roof bar is very pleasant for a sundowner.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back if having the window open is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velvethaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel has some positive features, notably the location. If you are a good walker, you can walk anywhere in Rome from here: Coliseum, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Vatican and more. It is in a quiet area, no street noise at night. Very adequate breakfast with a good variety of items, though no hot foods. Beds and pillows were comfortable.

Our room was quite small, with no room to place suitcases. The bathroom was large and modern with a good sized shower. The TV did not have any English speaking channels. When we asked about this at the desk we were told that every room got CNN and BBC but when we asked for the channel numbers we were told that the numbers in each room are different so they didn't know. Strange. We went through the entire spectrum of channels at least 6 times and there were only Italian channels.

We enjoyed the rooftop bar. Service only starts at 6:00 but you can sit out there during the day and read if you choose to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexfandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent four days in the heat of Roman summer and the hotel was a welcome respite from the heat and the crowds. Trastevere is far enough from the madding crowds and when you wander away from the central Piazza, you get more of the residential vibe and discover restaurants, bars and hangouts that make you feel less of an ogling tourist. A few minutes walk to the Testaccio neighbourhood, the Campo di Fiori and handy tram routes to every possible corner of the city, this location can't be beat. Our air-con dripped the first night and they changed our room immediately the next morning once one became available. Do reserve directly from the hotel website to take advantage of the free drink served atop the lovely roof-top bar. Do reserve as early as possible as the prices rise substantially!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDF049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

You would not normally stay at this hotel but it was recommended by a local. It is modern with adequate rooms and large bathrooms . It is very central and in easy access to many restaurants and ancient cobbled streets. Reception area is very good and an easy place to relax. Roof bar is another public area with plenty going for it with stunning views of the near vicinity. Staff all spoke good English a rarity in Italy. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is very good, Another big plus is free WiFi . I would return to this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lima
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel in August 2012 and was surprised by how stylish and modern it was for such a good price. The reception was airy and open and the staff at the desk were very friendly and spoke good English.
Our room was a good size and the bathroom was large. It had everything we needed except for the air conditioning not working very well. It wasn't broken, it just wasn't very powerful and in mid August in Rome you definitely need decent A/C!
The provided breakfast was of a really high standard and there was a lot of choice, from healthy options of fruit and fresh juices to meats and cheeses.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but just be prepared to feel a little warm!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#507 of 1,261 in Rome
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#643 of 1,261 in Rome
171 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#229 of 1,261 in Rome
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Property: Hotel San Francesco
Address: Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Francesco is a small & charming 3 star hotel located in Trastevere the hippest and most lively area in the center of Rome. 24 rooms all set with Private Bathroom, Free WiFi, Minibar, Flat TV, Hairdryer, Telephone, Safe Box and Air Conditioning. The Continental Buffet Breakfast is always included and the reception is open 24h. An amazing 360° view overlooking the Aventino hill and Trastevere is waiting for you at the top of the hotel. Our Rooftop bar La Terrazza will be open on warm seasons from 6 PM to 11:30 PM. An oasis of peace and relaxation where you can have a refreshing drink and chill out after a day sightseeing. All major tourist sights such as the Colosseum, the Vatican and Trevi Fountain can be easily reached by public transports but our suggestion is to wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the city by walking through the ancient narrow streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Rome
San Francesco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing