We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical building”
Review of Hotel Indipendenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indipendenza
Ranked #858 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Macau, China
2 reviews
“Historical building”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Central location. Clean room. Staff Fabio is very helpful. Actually you can take a bus that just cost 5 Euro to arrive at Termini and walk to the hotel instead of taking any expensive shuttle.
But it'll be better if the new building also has reception and the room has more facilities such as chair and working tables.

Room Tip: The room in the new building seems better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiehcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    75
    44
    17
    26
See reviews for
49
69
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is located on the 5th floor of an old building with an antique elevator that looked so old we used the stairs instead.

Unfortunately there was an overwhelming stench of perfume in the room that made our eyes tear so much that we decided to leave. Maybe it was used to cover up even less pleasant smells? Also during the short time we were in the room it was already evident it was quite noisy.

The price and location however are good and the room seemed to be reasonably clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Doesnt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vilnius
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel occupies only one floor in old house. It is cheap for Rome standards and has all disadvantages specific to low cost hotels. But location near Termini makes it attractive for low budget travelers, who prefer to spend their time exploring Rome rather than sitting in the hotel.
It's not very easy to find and no one of taxi drivers know this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days, the place is around 7-10 mins walking from the train station, situatted on the 5th floor of a building , I took some time to find it as I had taken a wrong / longer route. Once found easy to reach.
Staff: Omar attended us and was a very friendly and helpful person. He gave us a map and guided us on how to go about the city on our own also helped with bus# etc.cleaning staff are also dependable as my wife left her rings on the table they were kept intact there.
Cleanliness was good and the room used to be spik n span once u are back.

Room: THe room are bit small as compared to some other hotels with same price or lesser in the vicinity that we stayed in. But generally rooms are small all across in Italy. Wi-fi is complimentary and works well.
Bed is very soft/loose / noisy i.e. even if u take a turn it will move and make some noise. As Rome is a city which is best explored by foot, after walking around the city during the day one would want to have a sound sleep. So I was not very happy with the bed.
Breakfast is provided in a small coffe shop down the street includes a Coffee and croissant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaveshdevgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We always stay to centrally located, low cost hotels. We've read all the bad reviews and we thought that it can't be that bad, we just needed a clean, quiet room to rest after all day's walking.
Well, they were all right! Smallest room and bathroom ever ! Go there if you want to see a toilet in the shower (actually there is no shower, just a curtain in front of the toilet showing that this tiny area is where you stand for a shower!). Noisy plumbing, thin walls (we could hear even low voice conversation from next room).
The only positive is the staff, especially Fabio, very helpful and kind,he even booked tickets for Galleria Borghese for us and he recommended two nice restaurants!
Owner should keep staff and change everything else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the Indipendenza Hotel (Annex Building) and let me tell you it was the best decision we made during our 4 week holiday throughout Europe. When looking for options, we realized Rome was expensive, and most of the available hotels seemed old and out of date. Since we were a party of 3 (my mum, my sister and I), we needed a triple room with three beds, and the Indipendenza had that available at its Annex Building. When we arrived at the main hotel (very closed to Termini Station) we thought the Annex Building was also going to be old and badly maintained; however when Fabio took us there (10mns walk), we realized it was going to be a different story. The rooms at the Annex Building are newly renovated, clean, spacious and private. Our room had air conditioning, Wi-Fi, daily cleaning services and a safe, which were all very useful to us. The Annex Building is in fact located closer to Repubblica Station than Termini Station, which seemed safer and quitter. Finally, the service provided by all of the staff, and specially by Fabio, was outstanding. During check-in and without asking, he took a map out and showed us (in English) all that we had to visit and do during our time in Rome, and very patiently answered all our questions. Also, upon departure, they let us leave all our bags in the main building without a problem. So, if you decide to stay at the Indipendenza Hotel (Annex Building), you won’t be disappointed, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, booked a triple room since we had our 15 month old son. Our room was opposite to the reception, with 1 double and 1 single bed and had a balcony, quite useful for the little one to run around. The room was cleaned daily, but new towels were given only after request. The shower room was quite small but comfortable. The great plus is the location as it is less than 5 minute walk to Roma Termini station and can reach the main destinations like Colloseum in less than 15 minutes and Vatican in less than 30 minutes. Breakfast was slightly a trouble as we had to walk to a bar close to the hotel to exchange the voucher for a croissant and coffee. Ideally we would have liked the breakfast to be onsite as it takes away lot of hassle. Friendly staff, Omar was good and he helped us by giving us a kettle to boil milk for our son and also he gave us a spare phone charger. The hotel is on the fifth floor and has one of the oldest lifts with wooden doors etc, so was praying that the lift should not stop working. Overall a good hotel for the location and clean room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamerd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#984 of 1,261 in Rome
367 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#570 of 1,261 in Rome
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#248 of 1,261 in Rome
657 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#955 of 1,261 in Rome
100 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#253 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indipendenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indipendenza

Property: Hotel Indipendenza
Address: Via Magenta 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Indipendenza 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indipendenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing