We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rome Italy City Tour”

Chiesa di Sant'Agnese in Agone
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.18*
and up
Rome Baroque Concert and Tour at Church of Sant'Agnese in Agone
Ranked #77 of 1,503 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rome Italy City Tour”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My dad and I recently were on vacation in Rome, Italy, and we took a private tour of the city with Romasi tours with Carlos Sotelo as our guide, and he was absolutly wonderful, very courteous and friendly. He was very knowledgable about the history of the city and all of the tourist attractions (Trevi Fountian, Spanish Steps, The Coliseum, . I would highly recommend to anyone vacationing in Rome and looking for a tour guide to use him. He made our stay in Rome that much more enjoyable!!!! Cynthia King, Columbus, Ohio

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    137
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Step away from the chaos at the Piazza Navona to enjoy the peace and quiet of Saint Agnes. It is absolutely beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingPalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
737 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

step way from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Navona and enjoy peace and quite in this lovely little church. We were luck to hear the warm up pieces by a visiting German choir who mad full use of the acoustics

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Baroque Music Concert at St Agnes in Agony”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

On Thursday September 19 our group of eight friends who were traveling in Italy attended a concert at 6:30 in this church. The concert was entitled Music in Bernini's Rome and was performed by a quartet called La Scaletta Degli Artisti Antica Trattoria. There are brochures for their performances located in a number of the hotels in Rome. They also do other concerts in other locations. We came early and bought the tickets (cash only 30 euros each) and toured the church. It is a beautiful church with quite a history. The concert itself was excellent with the acoustics being very good because of the design of the sanctuary. They played a nice selection of music and had explanations of the music before it was played in both English and Italian. the concert ended about 7:15. Since this church is located on the Piazza Navona we ate dinner at a restaurant several doors down from the church afterwards before returning to our hotel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islamanare
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Basilica in Piazza Navona”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

THE BASILICA SANT 'AGNESE IN AGNONE is located on one of the side streets of Piazza Navona facing the Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi. Hardly visited by tourists this basilica was built in 1953 by Borromini (the fierce rival of Bernini) and it is dedicated to St. Agnes born around 290. The young girl who according to tradition suffered as a martyr, was beheaded at age 12 by order of Emperor Diocletian. She is represented with a lamb as a symbol of her innocence. She is the patron saint of young virgin girls and on of the seven women commemorated by name in the roman missal during the offertory.

The church, like all holy places in Italy, produces a feeling of absolute peace. Its beautiful frescoed ceilings and carved marble sculptures have nothing to envy to the great temples to which Rome has accustomed us. Virgin girls patron was the inspiration for John Keats poem "The Eve of St. Agnes".

This link is very helpful if you want more details:
http://romanchurches.wikia.com/wiki/Sant'Agnese_in_Agone

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank islamanare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiesa di Sant'Agnese in Agone also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di Sant'Agnese in Agone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing