We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive ! Prices do not match quality. Look further”
Review of Bar Frattina

Bar Frattina
Ranked #64 of 157 Coffee & Tea in Rome
Price range: US$6 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Colonna
Description: In 1956 , the return of the old shopkeepers after the war , he opened the " Bar Frattina ." In those years the road was frequented by neo-realist painters and filmmakers . Constant was the presence of Guttuso and Rossellini. Associations and cultural halls give way to place atelier and exhibition of high fashion, among the most popular in the world. Today, as then, you can easily meet writers and celebrities . The Way of the Bar and become the meeting point as well as a necessary step . Antonello Venditti has imagined the meeting of the leaders of his own song at a table in the bar between the passage of people.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive ! Prices do not match quality. Look further”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We went there for ice cream but most of their menu choices were either not available, or finished.
More than half of the ice cream flavors were not available, the machine for the yoghurt ice creams wasn't working. The waiter wasn't particularly professional nor apologetic for the inconvenience.
Most ice creams cups were 10 Euros each which is a lot by Italian standards and the quality of the products was disappointing. Sizes were ridiculously small. The smallest banana split I have ever seen in my life. I ordered ice cream with fruits but my bananas came to the table already darkened. They were overripe and melted with the ice cream. Blah...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maplehuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    69
    36
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Looks like one of those typical places with outdoor seating near major tourist attractions which should be avoided. But it was great - a stumble away from the Spanish Steps, great drinks at reasonable prices, gorgeous olives for nibbles and our pizza snack was perfectly acceptable. Surprisingly good all round, including the service, and we were at risk of staying the rest of the afternoon but had to go and chuck a coin in some nearby fountain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place for breakfast”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We was looking for place for breakfast that will serve us good cappuccino and excellent Panini
We waked at Frattina street and show this Bar
We got into the place and the first thing we have seen was the very welcome bar with all the cakes and Paninies
We ordered Cappuccino and Panini, And they was very good
Then we ordered cake and enjoyed it very much
From this moment we come every day for breakfast at Frattina
We do recommend it and know that next time in Rome we will come again to this place

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and nibbles galore!”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We fell across this place whilst looking for a restaurant which was recommended to us which we never found! We had also visited The Spanish Steps which was amazing so nice to relax here! They bought us some free! nibbles which were lovely and welcome! The toilet was DISGUSTING!! however so be warned! We sat and watched the Roma world go by and would recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to spend Happy Hour”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We frequented this bar both days of our Rome visit. It was a great way to take a break from the shopping around the Spanish Steps and enjoy some drinks and snacks outside while watching the parade of people go by. The service was off and on (always friendly just sometimes slowwwww), but when you're not in a hurry it's not so bad just depends on what waiter we had. The more drinks you order.. the more snacks they bring you! We found the prices pretty reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clkluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Frattina also viewed

 

Been to Bar Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing