We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad I stayed here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trastevere Colors

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trastevere Colors
Ranked #178 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad I stayed here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I had initially booked a place near Roma Termini, but was quickly advised by friends that this is not a good location, and I would be better spending the extra money to stay in Trastevere. This little BnB was one of the cheapest I came across and had good reviews. I took the shuttle bus to Roma Termini then a taxi to the BnB where the owner met me. He showed me around, gave me maps etc. it's a great little place, very clean and modern, with very comfortable rooms. It's in a great location - lots of restaurants nearby, easy access to all the sights, even a supermarket about 20m away. I was travelling alone, but felt quite safe walking back to this place by myself at night because the streets are well-lit and always quite busy.
The couple that work here really make this place special. Alessandra fixes a lovely breakfast in the mornings, and spends a lot of time talking to guests about local attractions, and gives good advice on avoiding the queues and public transport etc. She also helped me call taxis and tour operators. The breakfast in the morning was nice to chat to other guests, although admittedly there was no one in my age group (all a bit older). The only thing which was a bit if a shame was not being allowed to use the kitchen - but I've not stayed in many BnBs so maybe this is normal? Regardless, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other travelers heading to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funkysars81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This apartment building BnB is in a great location! One street from a major Tram line to everywhere in the city.
Alessandra, your host and the owner, works with you and her family to insure a wonderful stay. It is difficult to imagine a more gracious welcome and visit---this is "old world charm" at it's best.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend this place to anyone interested in non-hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Before our trip, my friend and I decided not to stay at a hotel as we planned on being out all day and evening exploring the city. We wanted a place to sleep and have breakfast, so we thought that a B&B would be a better choice for us. What a positive experience! The location is great... walking distance to most sites and, of course, all of the bars and restaurants in Trastevere.There is also a tram that takes you in to the city center which we used often. The rooms have a lot of design touches (the owner, Alessandra, is an architect) with modern amenities (AC, Wifi). We especially loved the Muji sheets! Breakfast was great. Not a large selection (bread, croissant, jams, fruit and cookies) but a nice vibe. You sit at a large table with other guests, family style. Fun to meet other travelers. Alessandra is there filling your coffee cup and helping you plan your day with lots of useful tips and maps. She even provided us with a list of restaurants in the area that she recommended. Such personal service, she really went out of her way to help you. Thank you!
We will definitely be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthlm_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

First off: The pictures you see on this site are exactly as you will find your room, except that they have added a TV. The rooms have a very agreeable and efficient airconditioning, so it's refreshing to come back to the B&B after walking around in Rome. The rooms don't have much of a view, but they are quiet. The breakfast is "Italian" (that is, no egg, cheese etc.) but I very much liked the cut-up fruit (which is exceptional in Italian hotels!).

The Trastevere Colors is a small B&B, it's situated in a typical Roman neighborhood close to the city center and all the tourist sites. It's a two minutes walk to to the tramline 8 and to many buses, and the Tevere river with it's river walks is less than five minutes away.

It's in a regular residential building, and you won't have the amenities of a lobby, bar, restaurant and all, but there are so many restaurants close-by that you won't miss that. Also, the owner, who comes to prepare breakfast, is happy to discuss possible itineraries, or reserve taxis. I arrived after 10pm, over two hours late because of a delayed flight, but the person who brought the keys was still very friendly.

All in all, for guests who plan to be out and about this is a great place to stay at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Was recently in Rome with my friend for few days and stayed at Trastevere colors. We had a great time there right in the heart of Trastevere. Rooms tastefully furnished with AC and TV and a fantastic bed with super comfortable mattresses. Very relaxing and quite. Thank you Alessandra and Aldo we felt like royals.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank epianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We enjoyed a great stay at Trastevere colors. The rooms are newly decorated and very clean. The location in Trastevere is great as the hotel sits at the quieter side of Trastevere. Truly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in the Purple Room at Trastevere Colors for a short break to Rome. It was a unique hotel in a great area. The staff were friendly, enthusiastic and extremely helpful with tips on the local area and what to do in Rome. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a personal, local experience and hope to return ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#288 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#198 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#142 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#180 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Danilo Roma
B&B Danilo Roma
#382 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trastevere Colors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trastevere Colors

Property: Trastevere Colors
Address: Via Dei Marescotti 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Trastevere Colors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing