We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit museum”

Museo Ebraico di Roma
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.49*
and up
Romantic Sunset Aperitif in Jewish Ghetto
Ranked #81 of 1,486 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must visit museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An amazing little museum.
An absolute imperative for anyone interested in Jewish history.
The synagogue above is breathtaking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Schay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    94
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Portrayal of Rome's Jewish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the museum a few days after joining prayer services for Yom Ha'atzmaut. Great narrative of Rome's ancient Jewish community.

Helpful?
Thank MoeTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Interesting museum in the heart of rome, right in the jewish ghetto, you will be sure to learn something new. You have to visit if you are are in rome.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacific coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unwelcome and overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Rome in the area next door to old Jewish Synagogue and decided to check it out despite the cost of 11 Euro and limited hours of opening. We walked through a security who checked our open bags, then through a metal detector gate. After we bought our tickets we were directed to tour their museum in the basement. There were a few young people working there in the gift shop where tickets been sold but no one give you any details of any sort. I asked how to get to a Synagogue but the girl told me that we have to visit their museum first. They provided an audio guide with 10 Euro deposit or your passport(?). We had tour the museum which is very small but have an interesting artifacts reflecting Jewish cultural tradition and history of their people. After about 15 minute we we back to the gift shop and asked again about the Synagogue. This time we were told that we have to wait about 15 minutes and they will take us to a Synagogue as a group. 25 minutes later the guide collected all people(may be 15-20??) and bring them to the room where he gave us a lecture about Jewish history. Then we were taken back to the same museum and listen more stories which we already heard through an audio guide and reading. Finally, our group was taken to the Synagogue. They allowed everyone to sit and be ready to listen more stories from our guide. We decided to leave at this time. The main reason- we already saw and learned enough, the other reason- my friend does not speak/understand English.
At the gate security guy became very hostile, almost angry, telling us that we were not supposed to leave ourselves. Finally, he got us out. One question crossed my mind: they charge individual 11 Euro and group 8 Euro per person. I felt that I was forced to join the group.. I would prefer better explanation of what one can expect from this site. Left us wondering if this site just have a very poor management. We had been extensively touring Rome's museums and churches for a week. Visiting this site was the worse experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank galPacificCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Make sure you go one on of the guided tours that are provided free of charge (once you've paid entrance fee). Without it you will probably not understand the meaning of the synagogue esp. if you're not of Jewish background.

The synagog itself is stunning, must see especially if you're in the old Jewish Ghetto to begin with - which if you're in Rome should be on your list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museo Ebraico di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing