We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So easy”
Review of Stazione Termini

Stazione Termini
Book In Advance
More Info
US$224.17*
and up
Pompeii Express Tour from Rome by High-Speed Train
More Info
US$244.33*
and up
All Day Trip from Rome by fast train: Tour of Florence including Uffizi
More Info
US$71.16*
and up
Rome - Electric Bicycle Small Group Tour of the Eternal City
Ranked #198 of 1,525 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So easy”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My first experience of public transport overseas. Only travelled by day as warned about pickpockets and beggars. Very easy to get from place to place. Has moving map so you know if you are heading in right direction plus even if you dont know Italian, colosseum is something like colleso so you get the idea. I got on the wrong way just because I am dumb obviously and just got off at next station and changed platform and went back. No stress. Your ticket will let you go anywhere for about $1.30 as long as you dont go out of the station.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gr82travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    1,063
    1,030
    442
    618
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central Station in Rome”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We really enjoyed traveling by train. We traveled from Milan and bought our tickets in advance. We were a little confused as to where to go but we asked someone and then we knew what to look for. It was easy and we arrived right where we needed to be.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Insecurity…”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a central train station. It is renovated and clean. Inside it is very busy at any time of the day or even in the night. It is not a safe place. DO NOT use an ATM machine in Roma Termini. There is a lot of thieves, Pickpockets just waiting for the opportunity to steal you.

Even more insecure is the outside surroundings of the Termini train station. There is more than 50 homeless people and some of them are not friendly. The best way is to catch shuttle directly from the to your accommodations in Rome and only use the Termini Station to Metro or Train transfers.

AVOID Termini surroundings at night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisMSPires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Insecurity…”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a central train station. It is renovated and clean. Inside it is very busy at any time of the day or even in the night. It is not a safe place. DO NOT use an ATM machine in Roma Termini. There is a lot of thieves, Pickpockets just waiting for the opportunity to steal you.

Even more insecure is the outside surroundings of the Termini train station. There is more than 50 homeless people and some of them are not friendly. The best way is to catch shuttle directly from the to your accommodations in Rome and only use the Termini Station to Metro or Train transfers.

AVOID Termini surroundings at night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisMSPires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly efficient .... Cautious of vagrants”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Central train station in Roma is large, clean, modern .... and a shopping Mecca for those who didn't get enough of the shops. However, don't let the appearance of efficiency fool you; the station is crawling with beggars, thieves and all kinds of "helpful people" that appear to be good Samaritans but really just want your money. Be very cautious of anyone approaching you offering assistance! Whether you are standing at a ticket kiosk or reading the schedule boards - they will approach you and insist on offering help. Don't entice them - don't talk to them. Turn and walk away. Compared to other train stations in large Italian cities - where police presence is strong and this begging behaviour not tolerated - Termini turns it's back and it's every man for himself.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodWife2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stazione Termini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing