We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning marble venue.”
Review of Foro Italico

Foro Italico
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.74*
and up
Rome's Fascist Past: Private Walking Tour of Mussolini's EUR District
Ranked #157 of 1,523 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Stunning marble venue.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a spectacular sports setting, just by the river, and the Fascist era statues are so powerful that you can not stop looking at them. Their eyes seem to follow one, too, in an erie way. If you are coming for the tennis it is easy to take one of the public buses which stop right in front of the (temporary) ticket booth. My recommendation, if you are in Rome already, is to go before the main tournament begins, and avoid lines by picking up tickets in advance. I believe the ticket booth was set up on the Wednesday or Thursday prior to the tournament. Otherwise, expect to stand in a rather haphazard line for about an hour. The Friday prior to the Sunday main draw is a training day...for a few euros you can check out the beautiful courts and art, sit in on the training session for tennis instructors, and see some of the top seeds working out. The training session for the instructors was entertaining...some of the little kids came out and demonstrated the drills on the court! Looking north from the stadium the landscape is wooded and hilly, very peaceful. Just across the river is a Metro station and numerous excellent restaurants.

Warning: do not try to go anywhere near the Foro if a soccer game is imminent! Bridges and road nearby blocked off by police, and traffic is practically at a standstill for all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_Antle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    81
    20
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Foro Italico - Tennis”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I am slowly working my way around the European tennis circuit and I would say the Rome tournament has turned out to be the most disappointing. The ease of buying tickets etc was ok however the courts are somewhat out of the city and it really isn't advertised all that well in the city. I guess in a city with so many wonderful sites to visit then tennis doesn't rate highly! Just worth bearing in mind if you are planning a trip to next years tournament.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anonAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
2,490 reviews
1,977 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,287 helpful votes
“Contemporary place for sport.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This beautiful area located next to the Olympic stadium in Rome , is one of the architectural masterpieces of the fascism era.
It was not the first time I came here, but every time I do this place gives me a kind of peace of mind , in short, all those magnificent granite statues that representatives of a powerful sports other era , very picturesque.
Also here in this area take place the Italian tennis Open, and are also located other facilities such a variety of other different sports .
Obviously thanks to the Olimpic stadium Roma and Lazio soccer teams this place every Sunday becomes super busy place .
For those not interested in soccer and wants to see this corner of Rome ... to be avoided when there are games, here is really nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Survival from the Mussolini era”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Foro Italico is at a sports center built by Mussolini. Noteworthy are the mosaics in the pavement, some representing sports but others representing fascist militarism. Interesting for anyone, and especially for those with an interest in the history/"culture" of that era. Rather off the beaten path and the maps they give you at the hotels. There is a tram (I forget the number) heading north from Piazza del Popolo, but for walkers it's doable on foot (I just followed the west side of the Tevere north until I got there). I was the only tourist. A few people were using the fabulous-looking tennis courts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank phys406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale,California Usa
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Italian Open 2013”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was in Rome in May and I picked up a "Where" magazine and it mentioned that the Italian Open was held at the Foro Italico. I went to the Vatican in the morning and saw Pope Francis and then a took a bus to Foro Italico. I bought my ticket for the fifth row and I got to see the women's and men's finals. I saw Serena Williams vs Victoria Azarenka...and Rafael Nadal vs Roger Federer!!! Great venue for tennis!! Had a great time!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KimmieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foro Italico also viewed

 

Been to Foro Italico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing