We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beauty”
Review of Galleria Colonna

Galleria Colonna
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.01*
and up
Rome City Small Group Electric-Assist Bike Tour with Optional Colosseum Ticket
Ranked #42 of 1,523 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Right in the center of Rome, close to Piazza Venezia, Palazzo Colonna is one of the greatest Barocco Palaces of the eternal city. The impressive Colonna's Collections of paintings, sculptures and furniture from the 14th to the 18th century are unique and part of the roman history. The Colonna Gallery is open to the public every Saturday morning from 9 am to 1,15 pm (last entrance) from Via della Pilotta 17. All other days, including Saturday afternoon, private visits by appointment. Free guided tour (every Saturday): - in Italian at 10.00 And 11.00 Am - in French at 10.30 Am - in English at 12 am Private visits on request are available every day of the year. We also recommend a visit to the stunning Princess Isabelle Apartment with its incredible Van Wittel and Flemish Collections and the Pinturicchio frescoes.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stunning Beauty”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our visit to Palazzo Colonna has been the highlight of our stay in Rome thus far. We had a chance to see both the 15th century Princess Isabelle Apartment and the 17th century Galleria. Walking through these rooms, one gets a sense of stunning beauty and harmony. With an impeccable sense of style and a keen understanding of art history, the noble Colonna family has created an architectural and artistic masterpiece that no visitor to Rome should miss. Indeed, the Palazzo is a Gesamtkunstwerk of unique beauty in its synthesis of architecture, paintings, frescoes and other artefacts (such as old uniforms and family photos). Along the way, the visitor can learn about the significant contributions the Colonna family has made to the culture of Rome and of the Church.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SwissCharm1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    61
    13
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“forget it if you dont have a reservation”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

they dont tell you clearly that if you dont have a reservation you wont get in. the person in charge of addmission is rude and unpleasant

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NAOMI Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalleriaColonna, Direttore at Galleria Colonna, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Naomi Y,
we are sorry for your unpleasant visit of the Galleria Colonna in Roma. Our staff is usually top level and we can't imagine could have been "rude and unpleasant". However we are interested in knowing if you were referring to someone in particular as everybody wares a company badge.
Concerning the "need of reservation", we would like to point out that on Saturday mornings there is no need of reservation, as we are open to the public like all other roman museums, whereas we are open on reservation for private visits every day of the year.
We invite you to consult our website (www.galleriacolonna.it) and to visit us during your next trip to Rome. We are quite sure you will reconsider your opinion of us!

Best regards,

Patrizia Piergiovanni
Director
Galleria Colonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit the palace itself”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We did not actually see the Galleria, which was crowded and the pictures difficult to see. However we made the tour of palace itself, which was really excellent!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Go”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Make sure that you buy the extra ticket to see the Isabella apartments. Sure, it is expensive. But it is worth it just to see her drawing room itself. And this may not be able to be seen for long. Rome is a constant veiling and unveiling as a most knowledgeable professor of mine once said.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank randolph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Private Collection”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful palace and outstanding variety of paintings, tapestries, sculptures, furniture, and other art. Well worth a visit. Make reservations in advance!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RonO-in-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Galleria Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing