We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Piazza Farnese

Piazza Farnese
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.42*
and up
Panoramic Rome by Night tour with Dinner and Folk Music
Ranked #215 of 1,516 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twin fountain at the Piazza Farnese
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were touring Rome with Romeinlimo. Rather than sit down in a restaurant, we told our driver that we preferred a quick sandwich. That is how we ended up sitting in front of the French embassy eating a delicious sandwich with homemade bread and meats. There was one shop that made sandwiches and a sister shop that sold pizza. (I am not sure, but I think the name of the shop was Forno Campo de Fiori - www.fornocampodefiori.com) The shop was about half a block off of the Piazza Farnese.

In Piazza Farnese we enjoyed the fountains, the nuns in their interesting habits, and the French soldiers. I found out later that Michelangelo redesigned some of the building that houses the French Embassy. Our driver told us that the Piazza is a nice place to enjoy an evening. I would love to return at night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    60
    18
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
747 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“A quiet piazza”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you are looking for a quiet piazza to get away from the noise and crowds, come to piazza Farnese. A quiet piazza with some good restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great fountains”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I loved the fountains in this square - made out of ancient bathtubs from the Baths of Caracalla. They do not look nearly 2000 years old. The adjoining Campo Dei'Fiori has a better choice for eating & drinking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneyC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just around the corner from the busy Campo de Fiori, this gem of a piazza facing the beautiful Palazzo Farnese (now the French embassy...argh!) is quiet, elegant, has a great cafe/bar next to a kiosk (with all international newspapers) which turns out to be the perfect place to have your coffee in the morning or better yet, enjoy a negroni or 3 during their aperitivo (and the food spread is pretty good too). Sit, watch real Romans walking too/from work, bumping into friends, taking their dogs at the piazza for a walk. You can keep Vendome, Navona, della Signoria...I will keep Farnese.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A quiet square next to the Campo de'Fiori”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Piaza Farnese, home to the French Embassy is a delightful contrast to the busy Campo just a few steps away. If you have time enjoy sitting outside of the Bar Farnese and watch the world go by.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazza Farnese also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing