We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Church in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica Di Santa Prassede

Basilica Di Santa Prassede
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.81*
and up
Churches of Rome Small-Group Tour: Saint Mary Mayor, Santa Pudenziana and Saint...
Ranked #38 of 1,455 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Church in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We started looking for this little gem of a church last year, but couldn't find it even with the help of locals and a tour company. This year the scaffolding was gone and the sign pointing the way was visible. Our first attempt was foiled by the church's hours (open 7 a.m. to noon, then closed until 3 or 4 until 7 p.m.). We came back later in the afternoon and were completely blown away by the magnificent mosaics, paintings and structure of this small church. No flash photography allowed, but I learned for my little camera I got better shots without the flash anyway. There is restoration of paintings taking place and there is a place to purchase postcards of the mosaics (which were the only postcards I bought for myself to keep). As it was late afternoon and the sun was setting, we left but returned at 8 a.m. the next day to watch the sun enter the church through the small, high windows. It was spectacular. Strongly recommend visiting this wonderful place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceDC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    230
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with breathtaking mosaics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This basilica is tucked in a side street, on the left hand side as you face the main frontage of the far better known SS. Maria Maggiore. As is so often the case, it looks quite unprepossessing outside. Go in, and you find exquisite 9th century Byzantine mosaics above the main altar and in a side chapel - they say these are among the finest in Rome. We sat down and stared. There is a small shop where you can buy postcards and reproductions. If you are anywhere near Termini or SS Maria Maggiore, do not miss this!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank organist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginasservis, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Though much of this church is baroque - and nothing wrong with that - our reason for visiting it was to see the 9th century
mosaics of the apse and triumphal arch, and the little chapel of St Zeno whose walls and ceiling are completely covered with mosaics. The church has a stately feel and you can imagine yourself back in the time when Roman citizens of some status would be coming here to worship.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lydie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stunning mosaics in an ancient church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This exceptional little church is only steps from Santa Maria Maggiore but far less crowded. There are wonderful 9th century mosaics in the apse that shimmer with gold and more beautiful mosaics in the chapel to the left (facing) the altar. The real treat, however, is the spectacular little chapel of St Zeno to the right of the altar - the entry is framed by mosaics and the interior is covered in mosaics practically from eye level to the domed ceiling. You can step inside and enjoy the stunning beauty of the mosaics from every side. If it is dark, you can turn on the lights for about 5 minutes for 1 euro (the coin box is outside the chapel entry) and it's absolutely worth every cent. Photographs are permitted. I went back twice after my first visit just to soak in the beauty of this church and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosaics that will make you cry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Byzantine mosaics in this church are simply stunning. How they have stayed so well preserved since the 5th Cent is a mystery but they are beautiful and impressive. Spend some quite time just sitting in this small but regal church and soak in the beauty and the love that must have existed to create such lovely scenes. It is very close to St. Mary Major so plan to do the two on the same visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basilica Di Santa Prassede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing