We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Ranked #137 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best location in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this small, friendly hotel. The location is perfect, close enough to walk from Termini station on arrival. Very lose to Metro ( not that we used it) it was easy to walk to Trevi fountain, Spanish steps and the Colosseum was right at the end of the street. Ideal for exploring Rome by foot.
Breakfast choices were limited and the room was quite small, we had room 206 and it has a huge terrace, lovely for sharing a glass of wine or two after a long day of sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the place is well maintained and very clean.
We felt really lucky in our choice of Rome hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending The Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri.

Room Tip: Room 206 has a great patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliebeachboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    257
    67
    24
    4
See reviews for
102
249
59
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very convenient location. Very close to the Colesseum and within walking distance of most of the major sites though quite a walk to the Vatican. rooms are of a reasonable size for European city. Breakfast is a reasonably good continental with the addition of scrambled eggs and bacon. Lots of croissants, various breads, cereal, fresh fruit, biscuits etc. Lovely roof terrace which though small has a lovely view over the rooftops and a glimpse of the Colleseum. Staff are helpful and will call taxis etc. provided maps too and willing to make a cup of tea or coffee when required.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Well, I read every review of this hotel before we booked it for our 40th anniversary trip. I saw some bad reviews, but mostly good ones, so we made our reservations. Let me tell you, those who wrote bad reviews are just people who are hard to please. It was a wonderful choice for our big family, 4 kids and spouses, well..one proposed, so she will be a spouse next year! We were completely happy with everything about this hotel. First, the location. Isn't that what you are in Rome for? And all of it is so close, like the Forum and Coloseo. Right down the road, just steps away! Some have complained of the staff. Well, they were nothing but helpful. From Pietro in the morning who started out our day perfectly for us, to Andrea and Rosa and others. We had a lot of people in our group so we always showed up at 7 for breakfast which is best I think. Many good foods offered, pastries ( those chocolate ones were really good, ate one every day!) with othere cake like things I didn't try. Eggs and bacon, cheeses and meats, fruits (loved the blood oranges). But the best part was the coffee. Pietro asked you right away what you would like, I was ordering single espressos, and he would remember what I liked, and suggested a double espresso! They were delicioso!!! One of the best parts of my day and my memory of Rome! Thank you Pietro! You worked hard for us. The rooms were fine for us, after all, it is Europe, the bathrooms will be small, the showers will be small. Pay more and you can get a bigger one. The water pressure however was really great, and never ran out of hot water. Hard to figure out the heat, sometimes we would come back to a hot room, but that was easily fixed. With such a large group we got a good sample of the rooms, one couple having the double balcany. It was gorgeous, enjoyed pizza and map reading out there. Some of us had to leave extremely early and they ordered us a larger cab, as we had some large luggage. It was a good deal all things considered, 65 E and would hold 8. We would deffinetely stay here again. I mean, sure the floors were a little worn, and there wasn't a lot of room for the luggage, but who cares when they offer so many other important things, like being on a quiet cobblestone side street, and restautants all around, litterally steps away! Thank you for our wonderful trip to Rome!

Room Tip: We were in a Quad room, 202, and it was great for us. A little tight with luggage, but not bad. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I, along with my friends family, just stayed at this wonderful hotel last week. For the two of us it was our third stay since 2005 at our "home in Rome" as my spouse calls it. The location is right near the Colessium, the hotel itself is clean and neat with absolutely professional staff, from Pietro who serves an excellent breakfast (included with the room), the housekeeping staff and members of the front desk who include Rosa, who is very helpful and welcoming along with several other gentlemen who handle front desk duties. They answer questions about visiting sites around Rome, forgive lousy Italian, and are very helpful. The room rates, off season (now) or in the fall when we visited in 2005 and 2011 are great. There is a wonderful rooftop patio with a view of the Colessium and the neighborhood that is just perfect and romantic. And... the family that owns the place has its own winery and sells its wine (excellent by the way) at the hotel. As my wife said, "It is our home in Rome." For our next trip to Italy we will visit again. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmithBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We loved this hotel!
It was practically a block from the colosseum and the forum! Lots of restaurants and importantly gelato shops nearby! Plus we walked to the trevi fountain and the main shopping street.
Our room was modern with nice decor, as was the rest of the hotel.
It was lovely coming back to a pre heated room after a day site seeing in a roman winter.
Breakfast was a great selection of eggs, bacon, cereal and many freshly made pastries.....and the coffee was amazing! Didn't need lunch most days!
Very friendly staff, helped with suggestions when we had a few rainy days and helped to book a Vatican tour.
DEFINITELY recommend staying here!

Room Tip: It's on a quite street so all rooms should be good. We were in 405 which was on the Main Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mezrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, costs its money.
Super location and nice service.
Good breakfasts, Best capuchino in Rome! Will recommend to my friends and family... The only thing is that we had two beds instead of one big.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilVasilcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just return to London after staying at this charming hotel. In fact I have been there twice in five months. I could not ask for a better location, just a few minutes walk to the colosseum. What really makes this place so special is the hotel receptionist, Rosa. She is warm, friendly and always has a cheery banter with the guests. She was also very supportive when my suitcase arrived late at Rome airport, with some of its content stolen. She was there with a supportive shoulder to cry on, metaphorically speaking. Keep up the good work Rosa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmedea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#170 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#167 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#96 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Address: Via Frangipane 34, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
#245 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Hotel
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing