We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Ranked #128 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic honeymoon”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from our stay here and it was perfect, the hotel was lovely, the staff polite and it's so close to the roman forum and colosseum that you can be there in 2 mins walk.
I would return to this hotel if we have another chance to visit Rome :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    284
    73
    25
    4
See reviews for
112
280
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As stated repeatedly this hotel is in a wonderful location!! It's down a quaint little cobblestone alley literally minutes from the Colosseum. The metro is very close making getting anywhere very simple. I was travelling with my adult daughter and while the room was quite small, we felt it was adequate for everything we needed. A large, modern room is never what I look for in Europe, so the small cozy size of rooms in these old historic buildings is both expected and appreciated. When choosing a hotel, I read a lot of reviews and am always very concerned with the cleanliness ratings. This hotel felt very clean. The bathroom was a good size with a very small shower. Air conditioning worked great. Wifi in our room was never a problem. Noise was also never an issue during our stay. The staff was adequate [esp the young woman at the front desk] and spoke English well enough. The breakfast was fine...nothing fancy. Really the only problem we encountered was the lack of electrical outlets in our room. There was one in the bathroom and the only others were under the tiny nightstands on each side of the bed. The nightstands were attached to the wall and inches from the floor so using them required crawling on the floor. Workable but annoying and inconvenient. Also... I think if I stayed there again I would ask about a balcony. Overall a wonderful few days stay in a charming little hotel in a wonderful historic area. Would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are available with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCarolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

As noted (just check a map), you couldn't get a much better location for this kind of money. You can literally see the Colosseum if you walk out of the front door and take 20 steps to the left. The rooms are fairly old and in a fairly shabby state. Basically, a bed dominates a small room, that in my case was poorly lit. The bathroom has about all you need (though for my room - no bath, just a shower). The bed linens in particular are quite basic - a big hairy blanket rather than a duvet, for example. Pluses include being fairly quiet, in-room air conditioning, good security (a safe in the wardrobe), a TV, and a mini-fridge. The included breakfast is nicely laid out and the hotel is proud to provide pastries from the owners' family bakery. The staff are very competent and polite, and all speak English.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estamosaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

As said before by other reviewers this hotel is in a great location in center of town. 5 minutes from Colosseum. We had a small room indeed on 4th floor but adequate. Basically you are in Rome not to be in your hotel room other than to sleep and have a good shower. The nights are quite and little to no noise. The bathroom indeed is small and shower size is a challenge. But water has good pressure and is warm. The room size leaves some walking space on either side of the queen size bed. We had a nice balcony, big enough to comfortably sit outside. Breakfast is simple but again all the basic. Don't expect an American breakfast although they make bacon & eggs for you fresh for 4 euro extra. I certainly recommend the hotel. Lovely area and so convenient for all the great places.

We made reservations for airport pickup at 48 euro. After a long intercontinental trip that was worth the hassle to go by public transportation. Enjoy Rome and this hotel

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribyrnong, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Firstly the location of the hotel is awesome. Two minutes walk to the colosseum, Piazza Venezia, two train stations and the tourist buses. There is also a laundromat within walking distance if you don't want to get the hotel to do your laundry, which can be expensive.

My room was a little small but adequate. Be prepared for a firm bed. And the AC works overly well. The bathroom was quite odd. Plenty of room for a toilet and a boudai, but quite possibly the smallest shower I have ever seen. I am a big girl so I accept that space is an issue, but this was standing room only. Aside from the shower everything worked fine. Hot water, clean towels and a good selection of toiletries. The hair dryer is not very good, especially if you have thick hair. The walls are a little thin and you can hear other patrons moving around, but the noise is not intrusive. Fortunately the other guests were very quiet when I was there

The staff, especially Rosa, were very helpful, and ever so patient with my questions and requests. Be warned the Wifi is a little dodgy. It goes in and out a bit and can be very slow. But once again it does work. Staff are more than happy to print out any documents you may need in paper form.

Breakfasts are very simple but adequate. Good selection of cereal, bread and fruit to get you started on the day .

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

for the good things for the hotel:
* Amazing Location , Beside the Colosseum , 2 mins walk , and 2 min walk to the metro station , 5 mins to the bus station . so everything is just there !
Its very silent are without the extreme noise from the city .
* For the Hotel itself , very nice staff , very cooperative , etc
* Restaurant was not that impressive , very simplistic basic breakfast which was pretty satisfying as value for the money [yogurts , cheese , bread , juice , some dessert pie ] . I just wished they should add any kind of vegetables with the food (tomatoes , lettuce , cucumbers , anything ) and any fruit but there was none .

And now for the Bad Thing !!!! , THE AIR CONDITIONS really have a big problem , Its not only our room , i guess something was wrong with the electricity in the hotel as 4 rooms suddenly had problems with their air conditions,,, we were in august and had no solution but to open the window , the next day the got someone to fix it .

So as my conclusion : Good Hotel for the Winter ! Below Average for the Summer !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiraSallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Small, no frills, European style hotel that is a good value in a great location. Friendly and quick check in/out and a nice breakfast included. The room was an adequate size, spotless, and air conditioning was terrific. No complaints at all...would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank john127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#173 of 1,261 in Rome
570 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#112 of 1,261 in Rome
1,098 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,261 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#273 of 1,261 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#94 of 1,261 in Rome
665 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#93 of 1,261 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Address: Via Frangipane 34, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
#245 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Hotel
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing