We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget travel”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Ranked #129 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget travel”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at this small little hotel in May 2013 so this review has been long overdue, but its better late than never.

Location: The hotel itself is kind of hidden in the alley way so it is a little hard to locate but my friend and I didn't really have in issue in trying locate it. It's close to a little fast food restaurant called Lasagnam, so once you see that you are going the right way. It is close to the Termini train station; I wouldn't suggest walking if you have a lof of luggage, but if you don't mind the walk it takes about 15 minutes from what I remember. I thought the location was great because it was so close to the colosseum and walking distance to everything else like Trevi Fountain and Pantheon. We pretty much walked everywhere we went.

Room: The room itself was pretty small. The room we stayed in had a queen and one bathroom. It's pretty standard, nothing really fancy, but then again I consider this a budget hotel so I wasn't expecting much. It had plenty of closet space which was great. I wouldn't suggest this hotel if you are really tall because it is a pretty tight squeeze.

Service: It was great! No complaints at all. The man that worked in the breakfast room every morning was such a sweet guy. He made us coffee every morning which was delicious!

Breakfast: I was really yummy. There were eggs and bacon every morning. Different kinds of juices and pastries. You must try their croissants; the most delicious croissants I've ever had in my life and can't find anything here in CA that comes close to it.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for anything fancy or extravagant. It has everything you need and location is great. If I were ever to come back to Rome I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    276
    73
    25
    4
See reviews for
111
273
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We staid in this hotel last weekend of November. Basic hotel but clean and great location. Walking distance to anything ... restaurants, pubs, "gelaterias". Colosseum is on the corner of the street.
The hotel does not have a restaurant so you can only have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went in Late October. Stafff, awesome, helpful. Walk 20 minutes to Spanish Steps, 15 to Trevi Fountain, and 15 to Pantheon. The Colesseum is literally around the corner, Forum also. Clean rooms, quaint. Nice breakfast spread. Lots of retaurants etc within 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: They have a barista in the morning to create your perfect cup of Joe. Hotel is in an alley of sorts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've had the pleasure of visiting Rome twice this year and decided to go with Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri recently. I booked a single room which was very small but did the job, you're only there to sleep really. The breakfast was basic but good and the staff were fantastic.
The hotel is incredibly close to both a metro stop and the colloseum. As central you can get at an affordable price.
Recommend getting a taxi there as if it is your first trip, you will have difficulty finding it. the Taxi will drop you off at the end of the alley but just keep walking and you will find it.
There is also a beautiful little garden at the top of the hotel where you can sit and read and watch the sun set!

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Over all this hotel is great. It's about two blocks from the Colosseum, and near a place where you can buy the Roma Pass. My room had a balcony and was facing a quiet side street. The hotel was very clean, and had a nice basic breakfast. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only tiny drawbacks were that one of the light fixtures next to the bed was missing its cover and was just a bare lightbulb and that the lights in the room at night were very dim and not great for reading. But the room was extremely clean and had a large bathroom with both tub and shower. So it's not super posh but for the price you can't beat the location and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Went by train so like others had a problem with finding it but local were extremely helpful, tip exit station turn right walk until you see steps going up in wall and a arch next to tourists information centre go though arch walk straight ahead and hotel on left.
Rooms small old decoration but does the job, roof a life saver, hair dryer hopeless otherwise great stop.
Nice restaurant outside across road family run.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cavalieri for a week - recommend you take a taxi as it is very difficult to find, tucked away down a quiet side street. Pleasant staff, room slightly on the small side with no view so a little dark however very clean with daily maid service. If you're on the large side you'll have trouble with the shower-compact to say the least! Breakfast pretty basic but enough to get you started for the day ahead. Worth taking the stairs up to the roof terrace, not a great view but nice spot to relax after a busy day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,258 in Rome
561 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,258 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#210 of 1,258 in Rome
213 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#78 of 1,258 in Rome
662 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#101 of 1,258 in Rome
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Address: Via Frangipane 34, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
#245 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Hotel
Fori Imperiali Cavalieri Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing