We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAUNTED & HORRIBLE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Ranked #73 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HAUNTED & HORRIBLE HOTEL”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The appartment was full of Dust. Curtains were white but with the dust they had turned into grey and torned. Dont want to descirbe the kitchen. We were two people in the room and they would always keep towels for One .
When i SPOKE to the cleaning staff to clean the dust , she was so Blunt and arrogant. Receptionist wasn't either so cooperative with my hubby.
Breakfast is very poor - just cheese no fruits no salad for what you pay .
Being in Italy , they dont even serve italian food.

Most of the taxi driver's aren't even aware of the street .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libonatim, Direttore at Residence Palazzo Al Velabro, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
The Residence Palazzo al Velabro is located in front of the 'Arch of Giano overlooking Piazza Bocca della Verità
You can accept all the criticism but about position … it’s hard!
We apologise that the stay of our guests did not live up to their expectations.
When this happens, the blame is always ours.
I apologize especially if our staff was not kindly with you because it is always our strong point.
We would like our guests can feel at home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    178
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
240
190
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

it was a very good hotel, in the middle of Rome.
the room was large and in very good shape.
but a fewe reminders for the staf of the hotel, they should refrech every day the soap and the bar. and the breakfast should be more.
but for the rest I will recomend this hotel.


Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Good location, good bed, nice lobby area.

Breakfast just about ok.

Very uninviting room, worn carpet in bedroom, kitchen unappealing, bathroom grubby, windows filthy, curtains torn, sofa grubby and uncomfortable. Expensive internet at €9.50 per day for 256k download speed (per device!!) - needless to say, didn't partake.

Photos from other travellers show decent rooms so looks like we drew the short straw. This was the only accommodation during our trip of Italy which didn't meet our expectations, and it fell a long way short. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mach42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libonatim, Direttore at Residence Palazzo Al Velabro, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Our residence was completely renovated in 2008, as regards the common areas (lobby, breakfast room, fitness room) has two types of apartments: economy and standards. The economy are apartments that we have not yet restored and have furniture certainly not recent though all in perfect condition of functionality.
We know the difference that exists between our two types of apartments and it is for this reason that the economy apartment costs at least 25% less than the standard.
But the service and absolutely the same in terms of cleanliness, breakfast, amenities, linens.
We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed the stay.
I hope you’ll came again and it will be my personal care to make sure that you can change your mind about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is an outstanding property in a nice part of Rome. Walter and the other concierges are delightful. Good gym and breakfast. Wi-Fi charges are high, but we were told that was being changed this year.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed 8 nights in May 2013, travelled from NZ so very tired on arrival. Apartment was spacious, we had a separate double bedroom, apartment was quiet at night, and we were joined by our adult son a few days later from UK, who slept on the couch (double bed size). Apartment cleaned and new towels provided daily. Breakfast was cold buffet, cereal, pastries, fruit (don't expect hot bacon and eggs - continental breakfast is healthier!). Located within walking distance of great eateries just across the bridge, and surrounded by Roman architecture - perfect position. Has iron, kettle, fridge, two tv's with Sky (if you have time to even watch) and very clean. Lift, and also a small gym if you have any energy left. We walked to the Colosseum, The Forum, The Vatican, but buses are available. Beware that you can't buy the ticket on the bus, go to the local newsagent/tobacco stand. They last 90 minutes and cost 1.50 Euro. Metro is just as easy and cheap. Laundry service available (cost per item).

We are now in Naples in a four star hotel - room is small. Now we really appreciate the Palazzo al Velabro even more.

Beware though that there is a daily Rome hotel tax of 2 Euro charged per person per night, plus wi-fi was 9 Euro here (per 24 hours) or 45 Euro for 7 days.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We had the extreme pleasure of staying at Palazzo Al Velabro earlier this year, and cannot
say enough about the kind hospitality we were shown. The view from our room was one
of the best in Rome, the breakfast delicious, and Niccolo and Walter at the front desk could not
do enough for us. We will be back.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We enjoyed our 5 night stay during our visit to Rome. The suite was quiet with updated bathroom. We ate breakfast once during our stay, the price was $12 euros each. Then we visited a nearby grocery and utilized the small kitchen area with supplied utensils to prepare breakfast each day. Easy walking distance to the Colosseum.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#159 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Rome Glam Hotel
Rome Glam Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Al Velabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Property: Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Address: Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#71 Family Hotel in Rome
#100 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Palazzo Al Velabro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Palazzo Al Velabro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Hotel Rome
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing