We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Ranked #73 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Romantic get away with my partner and this was the perfect base!
Far out enough that you arent ripped off, but close enough to walk everywhere (bar Vatican City, we walked it but it was a long walk)

Before we even flew out the staff were very helpful with organising taxis from the airport for us. Our flight was 45 mins late and the driver still waited.

The staff were brilliant, gave us a map and marked the best places to go, they also have us a voucher for a nice restaurant round the corner.

Our suite was lovely. The view was incredible (see pics) Very spacious and very clean.

Only one thing let this place down, it may be minor to many but it was a big deal to us. The bed was 2 singles pushed together. In Rome many people are on a romantic getaway....especially when they book a suite and Prosecco (very reasonably priced and very yummy by the way!) on arival, but we had 2 singled pushed together and the gap inbetween kept opening up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    177
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
239
186
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spend two weeks at Velabro and the experience was fantastic. It’s a perfect apartment-like room that would fit perfect for couples or family vacation. One of the best things about Velabro is the location, away from crowded and expensive historical centre but just a walk from most important attractions. If you like to walk, you will be 2 minutes from Bocca della Verità, 5 min from Circo Massimo, 10 min from Piazza Veneza, 15 min from Collosseo or 20 from Fontana di Trevi by foot. Included breakfast is fair and the mini-kitchen will encourage anyone with good cooking skills to prepare your own pasta in-room...No drawbacks except that Internet is not included and is a bit overpriced, but it works fine even though

Room Tip: Despite all rooms are equipped with sound proof windows its likely that higher floors can be less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaVrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a lovely little apartment hotel.
Room was great, location was fantastic. Wonderful little pub just up the road.
Only disappointment was the breakfast, they let themselves down a little here, but there are plenty of cafes around if you want to go elsewhere.
So easy to get to everywhere..
Tip - take the shortcut over the hill by the Forum to get into town. lovely walk .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seawooluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family would rate this the best hotel experience we enjoyed while traveling through Rome, Florence & Venice. The location is stellar with beautiful views and easy walking distance to colosseum, forum, dining, etc. It was helpful to have a combination living room & bedroom, and the bathroom was a nice size & clean. The room was suppose to sleep four, but there was one large king bed & a very small sleeper sofa in the living room. We ended up getting a second room so the teenagers could spread out. The breakfast served each morning was a treat for everyone but the staff. My family definitely abused the coffee' privileges! The front desk staff was extremely helpful & pleasant. There is so much to explore in Rome, and this location is a tremendous bonus!

Room Tip: The living room & bedroom combo was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

These serviced apartments are right in the heart of Rome, a short walk to all the major attractions that this beautiful city has to offer. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bathroom was a delight. We stayed 5 nights, during which my teenage son managed to lose his iPod. The front desk staff were only too happy to contact the places we had visited to see if it had been found. They took considerable time to do this and I really appreciated their efforts on our behalf. breakfast was a little disappointing as by 0930 one morning (breakfast runs from 0730 through to 1100) they had run out of eggs, but apart from that we managed to fill up every day. It's proximity to Anima Mundi (very cool bar/restaurant) was one of the big attractions for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Clean room, design furniture, comfy bed and a great bathroom. Large balcony and a great view over the rooftops of Rome. Great breakfast, staff was making coffé of your choice. The location is great, and frontdesk staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The pictures of the hotel are very deceiving; according to the photos, the hotel looks very urban and modern, and just plain cool, however what I saw when we got there it was definitely not that. Our room was unfortunately a big disappointment, the walls were white and completely bare of any art work, there were no decorative accents anywhere, and there were stains on both the walls and carpeting. The beds were horrible, the bed in the master bedroom was ridiculously hard, and the pull-out couch/roll-away beds were so uncomfortable I had to put the couch cushions under the mattress in order to sleep. It's one saving grace was that it was within decent walking distance from the colosseum and forum, however the exact location of the hotel is weird, and no cars can drive up to the front of it, so you have to walk up an incline on a cobble stone street carrying your suitcases. I feel for the price and the rating that this hotel has it did not meet my expectations. This was one of five hotels I stayed in and it was by far the worst, they didn't even have free wifi (10 euro for 24 hours)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens and the ancient ruins (room 45 had a good one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#151 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Rome Glam Hotel
Rome Glam Hotel
#42 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Al Velabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Property: Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Address: Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#71 Family Hotel in Rome
#100 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Palazzo Al Velabro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Palazzo Al Velabro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Hotel Rome
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing