We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour of our trip, by far”

Understanding Rome Tours
Ranked #224 of 787 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private tours of Rome taking the Eternal City at your pace, and focusing on what interests you. Proud to be licensed as a guide by the Province of Rome, I organize tailor-made private and small group tours of the city and environs. I've lived in Rome for 12 years, am a naturalized Roman, and love exploring the city's multiple layers; the only way to understand Rome. Understanding Rome is recommended by the New York Times, the Daily Telegraph, the Rough Guide to Rome, the Sydney Sun Herald, and Conde Nast Traveller's Rome App.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour of our trip, by far”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I made our first trip to Rome in November. We stayed 9 days and toured many, many sites. Our favorite tour was the Vatican and Agnes made was a big contributing factor. We not only learned alot but we were able to focus on the most important and most interesting aspects of the Vatican. Plus we learned so much history from Agnes. There wasn't a question we asked that Agnes couldn't answer. In addition, Agnes gave us recommendations for restaurants near our hotel and other sites we should be sure to tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelo_b86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes C, Owner at Understanding Rome Tours, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks Angelo, it's was great meeting you and Cindy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for Agnes”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just returned from an amazing weekend in Rome at the end of October. Agnes was our guide for both Saturday and Sunday morning. She made the Vatican, the Colosseum and the Forum come alive for our children in a way that I could not have imagined possible. The children are quite a wide age group (12, 10 and 5) yet she pitched the information at exactly the right level with a fabulous mix of stories, enthusiasm, patience for endless questions and even an ipad. We had not one moan from anyone and they have retained so much of what she told them. Could not have gone better. Would highly recommend her. It was also clear that the depth of her knowledge goes way way beyond a family friendly tour too - so if I came back without the kids - I would book her in an instant too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes C, Owner at Understanding Rome Tours, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you Caroline! It was super meeting you all, and the children were a delight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The Best Choice During our Rome Trip”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our family, parents of twin boys aged 10, spent 5 day in Rome recently.
We couldn't have chosen a better tour guide than Agnes Crawford and Understanding Rome.
Agnes is warm, witty, thoroughly engaging, but most importantly her depth of knowledge and sheer love of her subject matter is amply evident.
We were lucky to book Agnes for both Ancient Rome and the Vatican tour and they were the highlight of a trip filled with highlights.
The way Agnes engaged with our sons can be summed in a comment, from one of them, at the end of our first tour .. 'Mum, I want to be a teacher just like Agnes'.
Agnes was able to keep two very active boys interested from the start to the finish, and they wanted to keep learning at the end of each tour.
For our family, but especially our sons, to have such a perfect experience in Rome, was mainly down to Agnes.............thank you so much.
We have already, and will continue, to recommend Agnes and Understanding Rome to our friends and family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes C, Owner at Understanding Rome Tours, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks Sue! My very best to you all, Connor and Liam were stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Morning”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Agnes was a great guide through the history of Rome. We love having her explain things that aren't in the guide books. There was a group of four and Agnes was very knowledgable and made the tour interesting with her insight into the history and the buildings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanellC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes C, Owner at Understanding Rome Tours, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks so much Janell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fascinating and fun walk through history”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Agnes Crawford walked us thru centuries of history in a way we had not experienced before, even though each of us (5 adults) had been to Rome several times before. She told us Rome’s comprehensive story in an informative but enjoyable, even witty, manner, then showed and described pagan, religious architecture, art, and social aspects thru the ruins while we explored the Forum and Coloseum in detail. With so much to see, she covered all the highlights, making sure all our questions were answered, and also catered to our specific areas of interest. The time passed quickly as we lived thru a huge part of past and present civilizations. I most highly recommend her tours and hope to take more if and when I’m lucky enough to return to Rome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes C, Owner at Understanding Rome Tours, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time Cecilia, it was great to meet you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Understanding Rome Tours also viewed

 

Been to Understanding Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing